We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best ever venue for a wedding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ringwood Hall Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Ringwood Hall Hotel to your Saves list
Ringwood Hall Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ringwood Road | Near Chesterfield, Brimington, Chesterfield S431DQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Brimington
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“best ever venue for a wedding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

We have just held our daughter's wedding at Ringwood Hall Hotel and it was perfect!! The venue is beautiful and is decorated to a high standard, the food was delicious and served piping hot, the organisation was second to none, with Rhona our wedding planner covering every aspect for us, over the past year. The MC, John made the day run perfectly leaving us to enjoy the whole day without worrying about timings or anything. All our guests have told us what a superb day they had and our daughter and her new husband had the best day ever. The bedrooms were spotless, extremely comfortable and top class and breakfast was amazing. I honestly just could not find fault with anything so all I can say is thankyou thankyou thankyou!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: we stayed in the Baslow suite, which had a King Size bed, large seating area, plenty of hanging spac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RonaCosh, General Manager at Ringwood Hall Hotel, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave this fabulous review.

Your appreciation of all the facilities and the high standard to which we aspire is gratefully received. It really was our pleasure to liaise with you through to and on the day.

Quite simply, our intention is to make sure that the plans towards the day, and events on the day are worry free and clearly we achieved that.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on future occasions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    311
    115
    40
    16
    14
See reviews for
125
180
17
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Londonderry UK
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Had all the family there for a weekend celebration so booked 3 rooms in the Garden Wing - the rooms were really clean & comfortable with plenty of space. The staff were all very friendly, nothing too much trouble and we were well looked after especially by Debbie & John (quite a character). We had private dining and on the Sat night I was concerned beforehand, with 2 weddings in the hotel, that we would have trouble getting service. No such problem, we had brilliant service - full marks. The reception area and stairs / corridors to the rooms initially are quite quirky in terms of decoration, don't let it put you off! The hotel also has a lovely leisure centre, again really clean. The gardens are really lovely, very well kept - and this was November!
The Ringwood Hall is well situated for accessibility to all the major attractions in the area such as Chatsworth etc etc.
The only disappointing aspect of our time at the hotel was that there was quite a variability in the food quality. some of us would have a really good course while other had a disappointing (in comparison) course. None of the food was bad, just some dishes not up to the same as standard as others. All in all I would not hesitate to book again if we were coming back to the area

Room Tip: The Garden Wing rooms are great in size and standard, well away from the road. No lift in the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RonaCosh, General Manager at Ringwood Hall Hotel, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Delighted that you had a great time when you gathered the family for a weekend celebration.

Good to read that you had such brilliant service and that, as always, the team at Ringwood made you welcome and ensured that throughout your stay you received first class service.

Come back and see us in the summer when the gardens are stunning and we`ll ensure that every single meal you have is first class also.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

We had our wedding at Ringwood hall yesterday. It was an amazing day made so much more special by a fantastic venue and wonderful staff. From the moment we booked over a year ago the staff and co ordinators at Ringwood could not have been more helpful and acvomadating as we planned our big day. Nothing was too much trouble and every effort was made throughout to make us feel truly special. On the day the courtious and attentive staff were fantastic with all our guests and the co ordinators took every measure to ensure the whole thing ran perfectly to ensure we had nothing to worry about. All that we were left to do was to enjoy a memorable day. Thank you so much to Rhona, John and the team. Highly reccomended!

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RonaCosh, General Manager at Ringwood Hall Hotel, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Congratulations to you both and trusting that you have returned from a wonderful honeymoon.

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave such a lovely review following your wedding celebrations held with us in mid November.

Our intention quite simply, is to provide our couples with a wedding experience to exceed their expectations and I am delighted that we did just that.

It was a real pleasure to liaise with you throughout all the planning, and to read that on the day John your MC, and his team ensured that everything ran to perfection.

We look forward to welcoming you back and do not forget to check with us for special rates for first anniversary returns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, Lancashire
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Just come back from a wonderful two night stay at this first rate hotel which certainly deserves its 4 star rating. The hotel is well appointed with beautiful rooms in top condition. The pool, sauna and steam room have been recently refurbished to a high standard. This hotel offers a very good restaurant and excellent value, we stayed on a Peak District break, dinner, bed and breakfast rate. Most of all the staff were lovely, well trained, friendly and efficient, this all added up to a great stay.

Room Tip: The hotel has extensive grounds so if you want a room with a view of the gardens mention this on boo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RonaCosh, General Manager at Ringwood Hall Hotel, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Wonderful review thank you, and delighted that you had such a great time when you stayed with us.

We are very fortunate in that the owners are constantly providing us with refurbishment and therefore the hotel remains very well appointed throughout.

We have some excellent value prices which I was pleased to see you mention, and sitting on the gateway to the Peak District, our leisure breaks offer the opportunity for taking in the special attractions featured throughout area.

Whilst we have 30 acres of gardens and parklands only the rooms in the garden wing overlook this, so if its a view you are looking for, good advice is to discuss your requirements at length with the receptionist when you are making your plans.

Unlike most hotels in the area we do enjoy the benefit of a well equipped Health & Fitness Club which has recently been refurbished to a high standard and provides all our guests staying overnight with complimentary membership.

We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

My partner and I stayed here last week for just 1 night while visiting the area.Its a lovely building and full of interesting features and small sitting areas and bars . You will not find any bland chain characteristics here. All the service we received was helpful and accommodating. We were offered help with cases on arrival as the room was said to be a distance away. Room 214 is probably the furthest from reception than anywhere I have ever stayed previously - along winding corridors , up and down several flights of stairs , twisting routes . All clearly marked but quite a trek, it got quite amusing in the end. We ended up back on the ground floor overlooking pretty grounds with plenty of outdoor seating although the weather was too poor to take advantage of this.
Our room and bathroom were spotless and the bed vast and very comfortable. I took advantage of the leisure facilities and swam in the large pool completely alone for almost an hour. The changing facilities there were also spotless.
We had an evening meal in the large restaurant. Although the choice and standard of food was wonderful, it was spoilt a bit by us being the only diners in a huge room with 2 waiting staff just for us.We felt a little self conscious and the meal was over very quickly as we had undivided attention. This isn't a criticism but just puzzling as to why we were the only guests eating. There was a Murder Mystery evening in another area which was well attended but we were not disturbed at all by that.We didn't sample the breakfast so I cannot comment on that.
My only suggestion would be some leaflets about local places of interest in reception would be helpful. I had to ask and the booklet I was given was very limited.

Room Tip: If you have mobility problems, please tell them as some rooms are a vast distance from reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RonaCosh, General Manager at Ringwood Hall Hotel, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Thank you for your delightful review following your recent stay with us.

As a privately owned hotel we endeavour to maintain a friendly individual approach to attending to the needs of our guests, and I am delighted that you clearly enjoyed the ambience that it created.

Excellent advice given to guests looking to stay at Ringwood in the future. Discuss your requirements with the receptionist with regard to the type and style of accommodation that you are looking to reserve. We have many types of rooms both inside the main old house, and also in the courtyard areas surrounding the garden. Guests with limited mobility will definitely not be wanting to stay in our garden wing rooms, as we have no lift, and there are several changes of elevation in order to access these rooms. These rooms however have lovely views of the garden.

Delighted that you clearly enjoyed your stay from the moment you arrived to the moment you left, and you can be certain that we will look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

I don't normally do things like this, However after traveling around a lot and staying in lots of beautiful hotels that are 5* i thought i would share my views about this hotel.

I had booked this evening for my sister in-laws 40th birthday there was 17 of us and every one of us couldn't believe what fantastic value for money this was.

The hotel was beautiful, clean and the food was lovely, every member of staff from the bar boy's to the cleaners were ever so nice, polite and helpful.

I will be coming back to this hotel and can't wait.

Thank you

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RonaCosh, General Manager at Ringwood Hall Hotel, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave your lovely review following your recent stay at Ringwood Hall to attend one of our murder mystery dinner evenings.

Delighted that you had such a wonderful time, enjoying all aspects of the evening.

Our 2014 calendar of special events features a whole range of evening entertainment, with special reduced accommodation rates available. It is as you indicate, very good value to stay overnight and have the opportunity to enjoy all our lovely facilities for longer.

Our team here at Ringwood Hall look forward to welcoming you, your family and friends on many future occasions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We were thrilled to win a raffle for a nights stay in The Ringwood Hall Hotel as its only an hour away from us and we thought it would be a great place to return to if we liked it. When I booked to make a reservation I was informed that the hotel was noisy and I probably wouldn't want to stay there anyway?! I asked for a room that might be less noisy and after an awkward silence and a few huffs and puffs I was told that yes I could have another room - but it was very small and oh, we wouldn't be allowed to use the leisure facilities (pool etc)

The lady I spoke to actively talked us out of reserving a room until it got so embarrassing I just said that we would leave it.

Its a shame, because we would have visited, spent money in the restaurant and the bar and potentially recommended it to others and returned again. As it stands, I won't be staying or eating at this place - ever!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RonaCosh, General Manager at Ringwood Hall Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
It was with great concern that I read your review and I am at a loss to understand how the outcome of your call could have been so inappropriate.

I am currently trying to ascertain the details as to who you spoke with and, of course, wish to resolve the matter as quickly and as efficiently as possible.

I would acknowledge that the Health and Fitness Suite has been closed for the last 2 weeks for a complete refurbishment and therefore I assume the confusion as to the availability of the pool for use has arisen from this. ALL GUESTS resident at the hotel have complimentary membership of our extensive facilities at all times.

Unfortunately the anonymity of your review does not give me the opportunity of contacting you direct but if you could email me your details at your convenience to rdavies@ringwoodhallhotel.com it would be my absolute pleasure to address the matter as a matter of priority and urgency.

I hope to look forward to hearing from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ringwood Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ringwood Hall Hotel

Address: Ringwood Road | Near Chesterfield, Brimington, Chesterfield S431DQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Chesterfield > Brimington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Brimington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ringwood Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ringwood Hall Hotel is a beautiful Georgian grade 11 listed Manor House set in 29 acres of award winning grounds. The hotel is easily accessed from junctions 29 & 30 of the M1, with free parking for over 150 vehicles. The hotel is set at the gateway to the magnificent Peak District National Park, while Chatsworth House, Bolsover Castle, Hardwick Hall and the many varied attractions of the Peak District are within easy travel. Ringwood Hall Hotel offers 74 en-suite bedrooms including three apartments, several four posters and ten feature rooms which have king or queen sized beds, power showers or corner baths, while all overnight guests enjoy complimentary membership to our Health & Fitness Club with indoor pool, sauna, steamroom and well equipped gymnasium. The hotel has a unique Victorian kitchen garden where herbs and vegetables grown are used in the food served in our Coach House Dining Room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Ringwood Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ringwood Hall Chesterfield
Hotel Ringwood Hall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ringwood Hall Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.