We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top class” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ringwood Hall Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Ringwood Hall Hotel to your Saves list
Ringwood Hall Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ringwood Road | Near Chesterfield, Brimington, Chesterfield S431DQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Brimington
Belton, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Top class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

I booked the ring wood from a recommendation from a work colleague who stays regularly. I had no idea how grand the hotel was, as normally I.m a hilton or holiday inn client.
My room was spotless with a lovely chandelier hanging in the room. I ate in the bar as was late arriving and wanted to eat quickly.
The food was lovely and the chap behind bar was very helpful and friendly. A real credit to the hotel.
All of the staff I came face to face with we're very friendly and smiled, even the cleaner.
I now plan as a result of my stay to take my wife away there as so nice.
Would highly recommend
Thanks

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RonaCosh, General Manager at Ringwood Hall Hotel, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
As you are aware from reading our many Trip Advisor reviews we receive much praise for the hotel for its quality as a wedding venue.

Therefore it makes a pleasant change to receive such a delightful reveiw from one of our many corporate clients and we would like to offer our thanks to you for taking the trouble to do that.

Delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that it is going to encourage you to return regularly. Our aim with our business clients is, quite simply, to provide comfortable first class reasonably priced accommodation and refreshments but with a friendly and personable welcome at all times.

Thank you for your observation that this is just what you received and for your charming recommendation.

We look forward to welcoming you back with your wife and suggest that you chat with the reception team as you make the reservation to ensure that your alloacted room suits all your requirements perfectly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    311
    115
    40
    16
    14
See reviews for
125
180
17
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Leicester
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

David and I would like the thank everyone involved in the planning & execution of the celebratio n of our Sons wedding there on 1/6/13 from the bottom of our hearts.
The day couldn't have been any more perfect. The celebration was held outdoors in the beautiful gardens ,wedding breakfast and the evening party in the marquee. The marquee was exquisite, it took my breathaway when I saw how it was decorated. Staff could not do enough for eveyone, they were polite , helpful and very professional. The food tasted wonderful, the hog roast was to die for.
We were all made to feel special whilst there. The rooms were of a very hgh standard, cleanliness wise and presentation superb.
Despite there being 2 other weddings there on the same day there was an abundance of staff & plenty of car parking . At no point did we feel on top of each other, plenty of space for everyone.
Thank you for best day ever.

Room Tip: The building has no lift but has ground floor rooms. Our room was at the rear and was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RonaCosh, General Manager at Ringwood Hall Hotel, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Thank you for your amazing review, it was a pleasure to read.

Nestling in the garden with a parkland outlook, the Garden Pavilion, licensed for civil marriages and celebration ceremonies, presents the ideal romantic location for couples to exchange their vows.

Immediately adjacent is our beautiful Summer Garden Marquee which, as you describe it, is exquisite and quite honestly breathtaking.

Delighted that you had such a wonderful day and that you found everything to be to such high professional standard.

Thank you for your observations that even though we were conducting more than one ceremony and wedding celebration on the day that you were unaware of this other activity, and that due to our extensive gardens and parklands there is always space for everyone.

We look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derby
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

I cannot thank John and his fabulous team of dedicated and committed staff enough for giving us the perfect day for my daughters wedding 31.5.13. From the initial planning which started over 18 minths ago to the last drink at 1.00am this morning I honestly could not fault the venue.

The hotel looked pristine, having had a lick of paint and loads of work in the extensive grounds. From the second we arrived everything was smooth as a well oiled machine. We were greeted as old friends and were lucky enough to have the whole venue exclusively (they can cater for up to 4 weddings on any day). We were again, lucky with the weather and were able to start the festivities in the lovely patio area. We had canapes and pims before sitting down 86 people for a fantastic afternoon tea (highly recommended) Everyone was served with speed and courtesy and , again, I cannot fault the professionalism of the staff led by the charismatic and charming John who acted as our MC for the day.
The evening was rounded off with a sumptuous buffet and we reluctantly retired to our wonderful room (125, Bakewell Suite) where a huge bed and first class facilities waited for us.

I came down for a quite stroll arond the grounds at 7.00am to find the whole place had been completely cleaned and set up for a very good breakfast. Almost miraculous!

I may sound like a salesman for this hotel ut I honestly do not think you can get a better venue for a wedding in Derbyshire. Contact me directly if you have any queries.

Room Tip: Rooms can be some way from the main reception. If it is a quiet night you want ask for a room away f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RonaCosh, General Manager at Ringwood Hall Hotel, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Wow, what an amazing review.

We are so thrilled that you had a fabulous day and that every arrangement that was undertaken on your behalf provided you with a day that exceeded your expectations.

The setting at Ringwood Hall lends itself so well to informal and relaxed wedding celebrations with the extensive garden terraces the perfect location for pimms and canapes.

We were thrilled to read your description of Ringwood Hall as the best wedding venue in Derbyshire and can only thank you profusely for that observation.

Good advice to guests making reservations with us. Whilst often busy with wedding parties which can be quite excitable and therefore noisy, make your reservations direct with the hotel than just online and then you can discuss your requirements to be allocated in our quieter rooms away from the banqueting suites.

Thank you for your fabulous review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We had 2 nights here and were delighted with the room and restaurant. The hotel is set in beautiful gardens and they obviously do good business in weddings. There was a wedding in progress when we arrived and apart from the groom setting off the fire alarm at 3am we couldn't fault this place.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RonaCosh, General Manager at Ringwood Hall Hotel, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review and delighted that you had such a pleasant and enjoyable stay with us.

Sorry that your sleep was disturbed by the groom accidentally setting off the fire alarm. Poor chap was very embarrassed about it all.

We are very fortunate to have such a beautiful setting and our continued restoration of the Victorian Gardens provided us with the most wonderful of settings. We are proud to be a winner of several East Midlands in Bloom awards.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

On the 7th April, i made my way to the Ringwood Hall Hotel to sign away the rest of my life by getting married to my beautiful Fiancée. We chose Ringwood Hall around 12-18 months in advance. We were taking in by the awesome surroundings, a beaut of an entrance and lovely interior.
After meeting up with staff on the few initial occasions such as Rona, John and so many others I can't remember at the moment. We booked without hesitation and each leg of the journey from this to the day in question was smooth, easy and most of all, stress free.
What we paid for the wedding... well, let me just say you hear of ridiculous fees and transactions taking place for one day. For my wife and I, it was money well spent and second thoughts were generally not given. Its like paying Tesco Value price for Tesco Finest range.
I don't think we could have planned the day any better than it went. Thanks to Lyndon and his team of perfectionists, it was an incredible day that went as quickly as it took me to write this (actual quick). The Coach House was a nigh on perfect room for our Family and Friends, it was decorated in a classy fashion and everything looked in place.
The Gatehouse was a brilliant choice of Suite and it was spotless when we arrived back from a long day. Good sleep for the very few hours we got.
We are planning on coming up for our anniversary for a meal but up until then, I will recommend this place to anyone and everyone looking for an overnight getaway, a weekend around the Peak District or the best day of your goddam life. Thank you Ringwood.

Room Tip: Depends on if you are there for a wedding or not - if you're not, then ask for a room away from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RonaCosh, General Manager at Ringwood Hall Hotel, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Wow, what an amazing review and thank you so much for taking the time to write it.

Delighted that your wedding day was so wonderful and that everything from beginning to end, from arrival at your first showround to retiring on your wedding night, exceeded your expectations.

We feel that not only do we provide a stunning setting with excellent facilities but we look to offer our bridal couples little added extras that go a long way towards keeping within the budget.

Our packages are designed to cover as much detail of the "Big Day" as possible. Chair and table dressings make such a difference and can soon start to escalate costs. Your Spring Package had lots of little "extras" too. So glad that you had such an amazing day.....just what we plan for !!

Lyndon and his team thoroughly enjoyed looking after you on the day, and together we all wish you both the happiest, healthiest and most prosperous lives together.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your first wedding anniversary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

we stayed 22nd & 23rd May, had 2 rooms in a house apart from the main hotel. 1 was a feature room & the other a superior room - both outstanding. Breakfasts were help yourself, plenty of variety & excellent staff. Tried out the pool/sauna & steam room - very clean, again staff very helpful. 1 negative - you need an overdraft if buying drinks! Shame really, as they have everything else just perfect.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RonaCosh, General Manager at Ringwood Hall Hotel, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave your lovely review.

Once again it is great to see the excellent " people skills" of the team at Ringwood are recognised and that all aspects of the facility from the Health & Fitness Suite through to the accommodation were found to be outstanding.

Interesting observation with regard to the prices for alcohol. I would agree that prices are slightly above those you might see in restaurants and inns though definately lower than our competitors within the area but, we strive to keep our gardens as beautiful as they are and all our facilities in tip top condition and so we have to make a profit to do this.

Hope you understand and that it would not deter you from returning.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleethorpes
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for just one night at a friends wedding. The wedding took place in the hotel and the wedding breakfast and evening event took place in a marquee in the grounds. The hotel itself is located in it's own large grounds. All the staff we had dealings with during the whole day and the next morning were very pleasant and attentive.There were 3 weddings taking place at the hotel on the same day and there weren't any clashes, issues or conflicts etc which takes some organising and skill. Everything was made a lot better by the fact that the weather was really hot and sunny on both days which showed off the vast grounds in their best light. The room we had was large and the bed very comfortable and everywhere very clean and tidy. The bath was in the corner of the bedroom in the room we had. The car park was large and spacious but needed to be with 3 weddings taking place but enough space to cope. We didn't notice any noise but we were at the front of the building and the events were all in the rear areas. There was a health suite but we didn't use it. Free WiFi was available but again we didn't use it. Breakfast was really good and everything well cooked and presented. I didn't notice a lift in the hotel - not an issue for us but may be worth asking if difficulty in climbing stairs etc. Drink prices were slightly above average. We very much enjoyed our stay and would return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RonaCosh, General Manager at Ringwood Hall Hotel, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave this lovely review. Delighted that you had such a wonderful time when you stayed at the hote attending a wedding, and that you found the team to be welcoming, friendly and attentive.

Our Garden Marquee is a fabulous facility and I am sure that you enjoyed the setting that it provides.

Set in a secluded private garden area overlooking parkland with a view down to the lake, the marquee is accessed by a private road. Adjacent is a secret garden enchantingly lit at night by festoon lighting. Little wonder that our Marquee is being described as the best marquee facility for miles around. I am glad that you agree.

Whilst we are a venue that conducts more than one wedding on any one day, it is great to see your observation that the organisation is such that one does not compromise the space of another. That said with 30 acres of gardens and parklands that should never really become an issue.

Delighted that you enjoyed the food at all times and that overall your stay was so enjoyable that you would return and we hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ringwood Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ringwood Hall Hotel

Address: Ringwood Road | Near Chesterfield, Brimington, Chesterfield S431DQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Chesterfield > Brimington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Brimington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ringwood Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ringwood Hall Hotel is a beautiful Georgian grade 11 listed Manor House set in 29 acres of award winning grounds. The hotel is easily accessed from junctions 29 & 30 of the M1, with free parking for over 150 vehicles. The hotel is set at the gateway to the magnificent Peak District National Park, while Chatsworth House, Bolsover Castle, Hardwick Hall and the many varied attractions of the Peak District are within easy travel. Ringwood Hall Hotel offers 74 en-suite bedrooms including three apartments, several four posters and ten feature rooms which have king or queen sized beds, power showers or corner baths, while all overnight guests enjoy complimentary membership to our Health & Fitness Club with indoor pool, sauna, steamroom and well equipped gymnasium. The hotel has a unique Victorian kitchen garden where herbs and vegetables grown are used in the food served in our Coach House Dining Room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ringwood Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ringwood Hall Chesterfield
Hotel Ringwood Hall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ringwood Hall Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.