We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Pleasing Meal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel van Dyk

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Clowne
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel van Dyk
Save
You added Hotel van Dyk to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Worksop Road | Clowne, Clowne, Chesterfield S43 4TD , England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Clowne
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very Pleasing Meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

I visited Hotel Van Dyk on Wednesday evening for something to eat with my partner, again i was blown away with how great the service was and how good the food was, we were seated very quickly on arrival even though it was busy, very attentive staff showed us to our seat and immediately asked us if we wanted a drink, the menu's were brought over swiftly which we appreciated as their is nothing worse than having to sit and wait for someone to bring you a menu. The food arrived in good time which we were delighted about due to how busy it was, and it tasted great, great value for money and well presented, its not our first time eating at Hotel Van Dyk, it certainly will not be the last time, we had a great meal...highly recommended

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GailEyreHotelVandyk, Owner at Hotel van Dyk, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave your lovely review your compliments will be passed on to the kitchen and the staff, we are pleased that you enjoyed your experience with us and are looking forward to welcoming you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    25
    29
    17
    25
See reviews for
85
51
3
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Worksop, Notts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

My friend booked the Take That tribute night (18th Jan) for her 40th birthday back in October last year, paying £432 for 16 tickets for family and friends. We were all looking forward to the event and had a mini bus booked to take us and drop off later at several places throughout Worksop, Carlton in Lindrick and Retford. Prior to 2pm on the day snow started to fall locally and fairly heavily and this continued all night. On ringing Van Dyks to check if the event would still be on their response was that as the roads were ok near them so yes it would be. The roads (both estates and main roads) locally were becoming quite hazardous after a couple of hours snowfall and the mini bus driver phoned to say he would not advise travel as he did not feel the roads were safe. Up until this point we had hoped to make the evening and celebrate with our friend. However a professional driver making a judgment based upon our safety and abilty to return home in one piece at 11.30pm with continued snow, enabled us to decide we should not attend. Our friend informed Van Dyks of our decision not to travel.

After several conversations with Van Dyks regarding swapping to an alternative night (we suggested this Friday's Abba night) their response was that we can pay an extra £15 per person (an additional £240!) for the privilege of this and that this is all they will offer, take it or leave it! Clearly they don't think they have had enough of our money for the last 3 months and totally disregard the fact they would have also made a large profit on 16 people's bar takings on this subsequent night!

Clearly Van Dyks do not have any regard for the safety of it's customers and are completely lacking in customer service skills. We are collectively appalled by their attitude and despite many of us frequenting there previously, none shall be returning or recommending to friends and family.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GailEyreHotelVandyk, Owner at Hotel van Dyk, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
We hold tribute nights and events on a regular basis at our hotel and understand that guests cancel for various reasons. If the act arrives to perform, then obviously the event will go ahead. Food is prepared and meats are slow cooked all day, this is why all guests are advised at the time of booking that all monies are non refundable and non transferrable.
When you rang to cancel it was around 5.30pm on the day of the event, you were advised that the act had been called and he was arriving from York as planned to perform, you asked if you could be transferred to abba the following week and that you understood our terms and conditions had been explained to you on booking but was there something that we could do for your party. My offer of £15 per person to attend the abba event was offered to each of you,this event should have been £30 per person.
If you had booked tickets to a concert or for a flight etc and you were unable to attend, your money would also be lost, so when your taxi firm refused to collect and return your party that night maybe your argument should have been with them and not us, our event still went ahead,all other parties attended and taxi firms still collected and dropped off guests on time because all roads were clear enough.


were clear.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We waited an hour for our main courses to arrive, checking three times with embarrased staff who said they were on their way. ten minutes later, still no sign of the food so we gave it up as a bad job and were surprised to still be charged in full for the extra drinks we had ordered whilst waiting - not even a slight gesture of goodwill, just complete surprise that we would not wait any longer. It used to be a good dining experience.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GailEyreHotelVandyk, Owner at Hotel van Dyk, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Waiting an hour for food to arrive is not acceptable, expecting £50 worth of free drinks is also not acceptable, you were told on arrival that we were busy and that you may have to wait longer than normal due to this, your party were happy to wait if you could order straight away so this is what happened.I am sorry that you were unhappy with the wait but as you were advised on arrival and agreed to wait I feel it is a little unfair to make a complaint.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

We had our wedding reception at Hotel Van Dyk on the 27th October. It was fantastic, the food was lovely all the guests commented on how nice it was. The room looked beautiful and everything went like clockwork. The wedding coordinators Angela and Natalie are brilliant and take care of every last detail, nothing was too much trouble. Thanks for making our day so special.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GailEyreHotelVandyk, Owner at Hotel van Dyk, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review.I am so pleased that your day was perfect for you both, thank you for choosing hotel van dyk and on behalf of my family and our team would like to wish you both every happiness and good health for your future life together.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012 via mobile

Took the staff from work for an evening at the hotel, great night, really busy, but the service and friendly staff made our night, did everything we asked of them...and the food...as good as ever

Thanks van dyks...hope YOU all have a great xmas

Stayed December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GailEyreHotelVandyk, Owner at Hotel van Dyk, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you for choosing hotel van dyk for your Xmas meal, I am pleased to hear that you all had a great time and that my team helped to make your night more enjoyable, I will pass your compliments on to everyone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Paid £45 back in June forthis - later saw that we should have had a fiver discount for booking early -this was not offered at the time of booking nor when we enquirer on the night - closer to the night tickets were reduced to £35 and again this was not offered - meal turned out to be carvery which was whisked away after serving offering no chance for seconds - bar prices ridiculous but at least you didn't have to queue:) Rod was entertaining but overall an expensive disappointing night out.


Be wary of similar tribute events.

Stayed December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GailEyreHotelVandyk, Owner at Hotel van Dyk, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
The £5 discount for booking early was for tables of 6 or more, as you were a table of 4 this offer did not apply to your booking.
All our Showtime events are advertised and each one explains if a carvery or plated meal is included, You are always welcome to more food if you would like this, we clear the carvery station away once everyone has been served and they are satisfied,then we clear away plates and serve desserts,for future reference we do offer some events that have 2/3 course meals included instead of carvery, check our website for each event detail.
I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your evening out as this is not what we want.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

We live near too this hotel and the restaurants are very good, the brasserie serves excellent foods at reasonable prices, the presentation is very good . We've eaten here on several occasions and have never been disappointed with the quality, taste, service or value of the food. Because we live with a 5 miles radius of this hotel we have tried other local restaurants/pub too eat at and none mare better than the van dyk. The room is relaxing, classy and room, whatever time of day we have visited we have never been rushed/hurried with our food, we've been able too relax and enjoy the food in excellent surroundings

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GailEyreHotelVandyk, Owner at Hotel van Dyk, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you for your positive comments about our hotel and the food, I am pleased to hear that you enjoy your regular visits,we all look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel van Dyk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel van Dyk

Address: Worksop Road | Clowne, Clowne, Chesterfield S43 4TD , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Chesterfield > Clowne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Clowne
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel van Dyk 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Van Dyk is an outstanding example of a grade II listed building,it is family owned and managed and the impressive facade and opulent interior, provides an elegant atmosphere, for the ultimate dining experience within Albert's grill room or the Bowden Restaurant. The 15 individually designed ensuite bedrooms compliment the hotel perfectly, for any guests wishing to stay within Chesterfield area.Located near to the M1 and A1 motorways,the hotel provides the ideal location for casual or eligant dining,evening live entertainment show's as well as Small business meeting's and lunches, whilst also offering tailor made packages for Weddings, Private Parties and festive Celebrations. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Van Dyk Hotel
Van Dyk Chesterfield
Hotel Van Dyk Clowne, Chesterfield, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel van Dyk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.