We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible experience” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Red Lion Hotel

Red Lion Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Red Lion Hotel to your Saves list
Red Lion Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   78-80 Watling Street, Radlett WD7 7NP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Radlett
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Terrible experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

No parking for hotel guests as it was all given out to a company having meeting. Staff very poorly trained and advised over the phone that they had services they did not in fact provide such as room service. Apathetic employees with no interest in guests. The only way we managed to elicit a half hearted attempt to resolve the effect their poor treatment had on our stay was to threaten to check out. At tha point we were offered a free starter from the bar menu. Never again!

Stayed April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark_and_Kayleigh, Manager at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear guest,

Whilst we always appreciate constructive feedback, this review (your 1st review having been removed due to violating Tripadvisor guidelines) is outdated. As outlined in a personal response to you, Kayleigh & I are the new managers here at The Red Lion & the team that you encountered on you quick visit some months back are no longer employed here. Our service, food & accommodation offers are drastically improved and should you re-visit we are sure you would agree that the current standards & team that are in place are very far removed from that which you encountered several months ago.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    18
    9
    1
    2
See reviews for
13
21
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

We've just returned from a weekend stay ( 2nd in 2 years) at the Red Lion in Radlett. The rooms were fine, comfortable, clean, and welcoming. Bathrooms, though, were titchy. You had to watch which way you were moving to avoid bumping into things! We only had breakfasts here, so can't comment on food in main restaurant. However, the breakfast area was short-staffed - only 1 server, who was also responsible for washing up. Cereal bowls that were on buffet table were dirty, and on 2nd morning we had to ask several times for bowls to be put out, sugar for table. There were no teaspoons put out, and the choice of cold breakfast was a bit sad. However, the server was trying his best to accommodate, but needed some additional help desperately.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark_and_Kayleigh, Manager at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you for providing us with this feedback, we greatly appreciate it. Breakfast can be a busy period and we do usually have 2 members of staff to see to our guests. Unfortunately on this particular morning one staff member was ill and as you can imagine finding a replacement at 8am is quite an issue, which, on this occassion we were unable to find. Our front of house team are never responsible for the washing up as you state - a kitchen assistant is always on hand for this duty. In an effort to revitalise our cold selection we have instructed Chef to provide additional items such a continental' ham & cheese platter, muffins, croissants and glasses of granola with yoghurt and fruit compote. We are sure our selection is now more varied and compliments our hot choices well. Once again many thanks for helping us to improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skopje, Republic of Macedonia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Stayed here for one night as a base reasonably close to Luton Airport. Friendly and efficient service, good facilities in room (although small), comfy bed, with a characterful bathroom; Quiet and discreet, slightly shabby chic style, Car parking available. Colourful locals enriched the atmosphere of the public areas - we happened upon a pirates theme fancy dress party! We ate in the restaurant, and had a lovely meal, but we were the only ones so it lacked atmosphere, although looking out of the window nearby restaurants seemed packed.

Owing to its location near the M1 and main line station into London, the Red Lion would be an excellent choice for people coming from the North of England and wanting a reasonable value option of visiting central london (half an hour by train). Maybe a marketing opportunting for the hotel to think about?

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark_and_Kayleigh, Manager at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review. We are happy you enjoyed your stay, your meal and our array of 'colourful' locals, they can certainly be fun! Our dining room is a 'work in progress' and will soon be refurbished; currently the vast majority of our guests and visitors use the bar and adjoining areas to dine, however this will certainly change in the next few months with a dedicated dining room menu of local, quality and seasonal fare. As for our marketing, we do advertise our hotel to a varied area, including the north and are located on several 3rd party sites, indeed our proximity to London and many local attractions such as Warner Bros Studios (Harry Potter) places us in a very strong locale - your comments are very much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bagillt
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

just spent two nights here, with my wife and 12 year old son. the staff were very helpful and polite at all times, all areas of the place are spotless, food and drinks were of great quality, although not of a price i'm used to where we live, nevertheless very,very good value. great for travel into London as the station was almost directly opposite (staff helpful there too), great parking facility, great breakfast, room was more than adequate,comfortable beds, free wi-fi, excellent location for harry potter warner bros studio), which is why we were here, a nice town to stay in with numerous shops and additional restaurants - but we didn't use them. hotel location very easy to find too. will definitely return, maybe to sit by the log fire.......

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark_and_Kayleigh, Manager at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Thank you so much for writing such a lovely review of The Red Lion. We're happy you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Pros: Very LARGE comfortable bed, and great power shower! Very good selection of breakfasts. Great staff. Cons:Some confusion over price when booking for 2 rooms but sorted out easily. Cheaper if you book in advance but all in all we got a great 'Last Minute' deal on the £130 Rack Rate .

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark_and_Kayleigh, Manager at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
hank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We're very happy you enjoyed your stay at The Red Lion and hopet welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridport, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Pros: Very comfortable bed, and great power shower! Very good selection of breakfasts. Great staff.

Cons: Very creaky floorboards in bedroom 6! Some confusion over price for room but sorted out easily. Cheaper if you book in advance or have a party of guests staying apparently (as we were).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

Cant complain! Great location for travellers from the north heading to london . We had two clean rooms slept well as so quiet, enjoyed log fire and lovely evening menu . The station a short walk and was only 20mins to st pancras cost £20 for 4 adults in total with unlimited travel around city ' a bargain! . Hotel although a pub too catered for residents and we experienced good service at all times . Would recommend and we will be back. Thank you red lion at radlett

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel

Address: 78-80 Watling Street, Radlett WD7 7NP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Radlett
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Radlett
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Lion, situated in beautiful Radlett Village, Hertfordshire is a 13 bedroom coaching inn for the 21st century.With 13 individually appointed, en suite modern rooms & complimentary Wi-Fi throughout, our rooms offer a home from home to travellers, whether on business or for leisure.Situated just 2 minutes from Radlett train station, London St Pancras & the underground are a short 25 minute journey making The Red Lion the ideal base to explore Hertfordshire, the capital & the beautiful surrounding area.You can always be assured a warm welcome & a great stay and room rates include a lovely breakfast from our continental buffet or a hot dish from our a la carte breakfast menu.Our dining options include our modern contemporary dining room, our popular bar areas & when the weather permits, alfresco on our terrace.With varied dishes to suit all palates, our kitchen team have created a seasonal, modern & traditional blend of meals which represent great quality & value.We look forward to welcoming you to The Red Lion, Radlett. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Red Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Hotel Radlett, Hertfordshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Lion Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.