We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lugger Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Lugger Hotel to your Saves list
The Lugger Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Portloe TR2 5RD, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Portloe
Wolverhampton
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A little gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

We found this hotel via The Times reviews; great choice! We wanted to experience some different types of hotel than we normally choose, so I thought this looked perfect. When I rang to book, they couldn't accommodate us in the better rooms in the hotel, but suggested a small cottage that was situated a very short distance from the main hotel (Cliff Cottage, room 401).
Not too sure what to expect when we arrived, on stepping into the cottage we were instantly charmed! This is a very quaint, but charming cottage; one up, one down, ideal as a romantic getaway! It sits on the side of the tiny harbour, amongst other small cottages. It has a tiny seating area outside the front door, where we sat and had our afternoon cuppa.
The main hotel is also charming. The staff very pleasant and helpful. The evening meals are of a good standard, nicely presented - a fine dining experience. The breakfast was very good, great service and very well cooked. The only food available at lunch time are sandwiches, which were ok, but I think most people go out for the day, so it isn't really a problem.
We will definatley return to this cottage!
If I have to be 'picky', I'd say the kitchen missed some little necessities; tea towels/hand towel, a little washing up liquid (there is a dishwasher, but no tablets) but we managed ok, and the evening staff cleaned up.
My biggest 'winge' (which isn't their fault!) is that at dawn, the local fishermen set out from the harbour in their fishing boat (loud motor!) and shout to each other!! So don't expect an uninterrupted lie in!!

Room Tip: Room 401 - the cottage is delightful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard H, General Manager at The Lugger Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Many thanks for posting your review, Middle Cottage is indeed a little gem and we're so pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay.

We don't stock the kitchen with utensils and cleaning products as our Housekeeping Team will take care of that and also the cottage is sold on a package basis, as an extension of the hotel, so meals are taken in the restaurant, however should any future guests require items, let us know.

We are currently in the process of renovating another cottage and for future guests wishing to experience the delights of Portloe, self catering, Hideaway will be available from August 2014.

Watching the fishing boats go out in the morning is generally a "must watch" for guests during their stay, so apologies on their behalf if the fishermen disturbed your lie in.

Thanks again for posting, we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    123
    50
    55
    20
See reviews for
26
368
3
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Staffs
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Lovely stay with my daughter who was down to visit Falmouth Uni. Stayed in room 104, upstairs in the Boathouse- quiet and clean. Lovely touches a real gerbera in the bathroom bathrobes, biscuits and ginger bread and fruit and bed turndown in the evening together with hot choc and marshmallow, an evening funny and the next days weather forecast. Staff lovely and given a bottle of water and sweets for journey home.
Fabulous relaxing stay- lovely walk to Carne- only 4 miles but feels much more as very hilly-allow longer than you think!

Room Tip: There are two routes in to Portloe- don't drive through Veryan unless you are very confident in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard H, General Manager at The Lugger Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments, we are delighted you and your daughter enjoyed your stay, it was lovely to meet you both.

The cliff walks, whilst the views are stunning, can be quite challenging, but rewarding when you get to the end!

Thanks for posting and hopefully we'll see you again soon?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

This is an excellent hotel with nice food and accommodation, the rooms aren't huge but are meant to be like a typical net loft room. The hotel is right on the cove next to the boat launch and it is very pretty. A lovely getaway hotel and the Ship Inn is 100 yards up the road with friendly bar staff.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard H, General Manager at The Lugger Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
The Lugger and Portloe are truly a romantic spot! Thank you for posting your review and see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Portloe is a sleepy little village right on the coast, perfect for walking. The hotel room was small but all facilities were good, bath and powerful shower, nice toiletries. Magazines in the room and hot chocolate with marshmallows at bed time were nice touches. Breakfast was excellent, cooked to order.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard H, General Manager at The Lugger Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Many thanks for posting your review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

The Lugger Hotel in Portloe is quite an amazing find, tucked away in a tiny fishing cove,
this boutique hotel offers service which ranks among the finest we have ever experienced, the staff definitely make every guest feel welcome, and go to extreme lengths to ensure the visit is enjoyable.
After a wonderful , comfortable and quiet, nights sleep we woke early to the sound of the fishermen launching their boats in the little cove outside our window.
This is a very special place ,hard to find, but well worth the effort away from the hustle of the modern world.
A place to relax and unwind, "there is no mobile phone reception here" !!!

Room Tip: the rooms are small and beautifully fitted out , with well equipped bathrooms ensuite. but access t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard H, General Manager at The Lugger Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
The Lugger Team and I are delighted to read your lovely comments following your recent stay with us, thank you. We are so pleased you and your party enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Thank you for posting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Palm Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Service was fantastic. Dinner was fantastic and considering how nice the place was, it was priced reasonably. The full breakfast is terrific and far too generous. Very comfortable rooms. This place is very out of the way and if you aren't used to driving on English lanes than have someone bring you. Very romantic spot.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard H, General Manager at The Lugger Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Thank you for posting your great review, it's lovely to read how much you enjoyed your stay.

You are right, The Lugger is set in probably one of the most romantic of spots on The Roseland Peninsula!

Many thanks again and hopefully we will see you again next time you are in the UK.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Me and my wife stayed here for 2 nights bed and breakfast. The location is great, beautiful views. We stayed in the boat house across from the main building, the room was very nice. Only downside is you can hear everything going on upstairs including toilet breaks.
Food was fantastic and the staff were all great. Would probably return but not in the boat house.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lugger Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lugger Hotel

Address: Portloe TR2 5RD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Roseland Peninsula > Portloe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Portloe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lugger Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lugger is nestled at the foot of a valley with picturesque cove and tiny harbour. Portloe is part of the beautiful Roseland Peninsula, surrounded by cliffs and headlands which form part of the Cornish Coastal Footpath. The Lugger sits right at the water’s edge in the very heart of the village and has been recently transformed following a major renovation programme. All the public rooms have been refurbished and greatly improved to offer comfort and functionality in the truly unique setting of this historic harbour. Luxurious touches throughout have helped the hotel to gain multiple awards, The Lugger has been named ‘Best Seaside Hotel’ by The Sunday Times, has featured on the Condé Naste Travellers ‘Hot List’ and also features in the Mr and Mrs Smith and Hip Hotels guidebooks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Lugger Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lugger Hotel Portloe
The Lugger Hotel Portloe, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lugger Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.