We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lugger Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Lugger Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Lugger Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Lugger Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Portloe TR2 5RD, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Portloe
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lugger Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Fantastic place. The location is very nice the food is excellent, the service is 5 stars.
Just 2 down points, there is no mobile signal at all in the hotel and in the radious of at least a mile from the hotel but wi-fi is available in the hotel. Ladies, please take your own hair dryer because the rooms don't have any(at least my room 205, didn't).I do recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: ask for a room with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard H, General Manager at The Lugger Hotel, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Many thanks for posting your review, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay. We do place hair dryers in all the rooms, so will check as to why this one was missing. Thanks once again and see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    216
    103
    46
    53
    20
See reviews for
24
323
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Henlow, Beds
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We stayed for three nights over a long weekend and I have to say the whole experience was a 'breath of fresh air'! The location of the hotel was amazing and we couldn't fault the service and the way we were made to feel welcome from the moment we arrived. We checked in just after 12:00 and the room was ready for us, the little extras they left in the room were also very welcome in the evenings whilst we were having dinner, I won't spoil the surprise though!

I would definitely recommend this hotel if you're in need of chilling out and enjoying the breath taking views and coastal walks that are available.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard H, General Manager at The Lugger Hotel, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Thank you for your great comments, it's lovely to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us, hopefully we will see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Stayed at the Lugger for two nights 15th-16th March 2013, the stay was I have to say almost without fault, upon arrival the greeting was very pleasant and welcoming, the room was of a high standard you would expect at a hotel like the lugger well decorated and co ordinated, good bathroom and a reasonable amount of space, the breakfast was well cooked and presented very nice with a good menu choice. I think the Lugger has made a difference because of the small things they take time about that make a difference, hot chocolate drinks delivered to your bedroom each eveneing at no extra charge, hot water bottles put in your bedroom whilst you had dinner, the small plate of cake and biscuits left in your room and the leaving pack of water and fruit to help you on your journey! well done the Lugger. The only fault I could find was the evening menue did not cater for all taste and should have reflected the client base at the time ( may be a small marketing error) however I would suggest you are losing trade through this as I witnessed at least 6 other people staying at the Lugger eating thier evening meals in an establishment no far way.The last comment I would make is about the location of the Lugger, this location is as it says on the tin - "Perfect" if you want peace and quite then vist Portloe, The perfection of Portloe is that there is nothing else there except its natuaral beauty.

Room Tip: The hotel has 22 rooms but are located in different parts of the cove, so be sure to establish where...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard H, General Manager at The Lugger Hotel, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
It's great to read your lovely comments, thank you for taking the time to post. We do take on board all guest feedback so we can continually monitor our procedures and performance. Thanks again for posting and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

First went to this boutique hotel about five years ago. First visit back last weekend and stayed for a couple of nights. The hotel is in a great location overlooking the sea. Portloe is very quiet so maybe not for some but if you have a generally hectic life most of the time then this is a place to consider coming to for some much needed luxury, relaxation and exercise. The hotel is well designed and the staff are very friendly. Our superior room had a great view of the sea and was well stocked. The restaurant is well designed and the food is presented to a high standard. There is also a Spa that we didn't use which seems popular.The only slight negative in my view is that parts of the exterior of the hotel could do with another coat of paint. To be fair I should imagine that the hotel have this planned when the weather improves. Overall a very enjoyable stay. Will return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard H, General Manager at The Lugger Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
We are so pleased you made a return visit to The Lugger and read how much you enjoyed your stay. It sounds as though you felt thoroughly relaxed after your stay which The Lugger and the village is wonderful for. Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We took the "romantic weekend special", glad we picked last week as the week before they had a howling gale.
We were greated by the GM and Russell showed us to our room, a classic room in the building outside to the rear of the hotel. Very nice, and clean, a little in need of some extra attention in as much as the laundry bags were left in the little sitting room area for that whole day and were not removed until the following aftertnoon, so the sitting room was not usable. Having said that the little touches make this a lovely little place, the hot water bottles in the bed (one each), the hot chocolate sachets and the marshmallows, the sweety jar, tea and coffee, a fridge with fresh milk and water, when we left we were given a bag with 2 bottles of water and 2 apples, which I thought was nice.
The service we found to be very friendly, the waiting staff were pleasant enough and accommodating, the breakfast was not to my taste but it was plentiful and the choices were good. We also ate in the restaurant at night, the food was noveau and it changed slightly on both nights. We had the lemon sole on the Saturday night which was very good.
I would recommend this hotel for a treat, its very popular as it was full I think on the Saturday night, there is nothing else in the village except one pub, no shops at all to wonder and look at after dinner. We drove to St Mawes and Mevagissy which were nice, having the sunshine helped as it would be restricting if it had rained.
All in all a lovely weekend away in Portloe and a big thanks to the staff for making our stay so pleasant.

Room Tip: We were in room 304 which is in the annexe, quiet and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard H, General Manager at The Lugger Hotel, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Many thanks for posting your lovely comments, we are delighted you enjoyed your weekend at The Lugger, it is the perfect spot for a relaxing, romantic getaway. Thanks again for posting and hopefully we will see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

This was our second visit here - the first had been just one night, this time we managed a weekend. The location is exquisite, so close to the sea in a tiny cove. The rooms are of a very high standard, with thoughtful touches such as hot chocolate and marshmallows for bedtime and fresh milk in the fridge, which is very highly valued by us. Having a little patio to go out to is lovely too, even in February. The lounge is a great place to relax before/after dinner and a good place to enjoy company.
My only comment would be a request to vary the evening menu a little more if possible.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard H, General Manager at The Lugger Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
We are so pleased you enjoyed your weekend with us. The patios are a great place to enjoy the surrounding scenery. Many thanks for posting and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We had a long weekend at the Luggar last week, we had a fantastic time and would agree with comments stating this could be the most romantic place. We stayed in the boathouse, had amazing views and loved the special touches of shortbread, turn down service, hot chocolates in the room and cake on the afternoons in the room.
We found ourselves unwinding as soon as we checked in!
Dinner in the restaurant on valentine's night was lovely, food was very good and the atmosphere was relaxed and intimate.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard H, General Manager at The Lugger Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments. The Lugger really is the place to relax and unwind and a special place to enjoy a Valentine's break in the romantic setting of Portloe. Many thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Lugger Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lugger Hotel

Address: Portloe TR2 5RD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Roseland Peninsula > Portloe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Portloe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Lugger Hotel 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lugger is nestled at the foot of a valley with picturesque cove and tiny harbour. Portloe is part of the beautiful Roseland Peninsula, surrounded by cliffs and headlands which form part of the Cornish Coastal Footpath. The Lugger sits right at the water’s edge in the very heart of the village and has been recently transformed following a major renovation programme. All the public rooms have been refurbished and greatly improved to offer comfort and functionality in the truly unique setting of this historic harbour. Luxurious touches throughout have helped the hotel to gain multiple awards, The Lugger has been named ‘Best Seaside Hotel’ by The Sunday Times, has featured on the Condé Naste Travellers ‘Hot List’ and also features in the Mr and Mrs Smith and Hip Hotels guidebooks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The Lugger Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lugger Hotel Portloe
The Lugger Hotel Portloe, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lugger Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.