We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful for a special weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lugger Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Lugger Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Lugger Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Portloe TR2 5RD, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Portloe
Exeter, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful for a special weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

This was our second visit here - the first had been just one night, this time we managed a weekend. The location is exquisite, so close to the sea in a tiny cove. The rooms are of a very high standard, with thoughtful touches such as hot chocolate and marshmallows for bedtime and fresh milk in the fridge, which is very highly valued by us. Having a little patio to go out to is lovely too, even in February. The lounge is a great place to relax before/after dinner and a good place to enjoy company.
My only comment would be a request to vary the evening menu a little more if possible.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard H, General Manager at The Lugger Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
We are so pleased you enjoyed your weekend with us. The patios are a great place to enjoy the surrounding scenery. Many thanks for posting and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    217
    103
    46
    53
    20
See reviews for
24
324
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We had a long weekend at the Luggar last week, we had a fantastic time and would agree with comments stating this could be the most romantic place. We stayed in the boathouse, had amazing views and loved the special touches of shortbread, turn down service, hot chocolates in the room and cake on the afternoons in the room.
We found ourselves unwinding as soon as we checked in!
Dinner in the restaurant on valentine's night was lovely, food was very good and the atmosphere was relaxed and intimate.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard H, General Manager at The Lugger Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments. The Lugger really is the place to relax and unwind and a special place to enjoy a Valentine's break in the romantic setting of Portloe. Many thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Austell, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We were greeted on our arrival by the manager/maitre d' and shown to a small seating area with a roaring fire; lovely on a dark winter's evening. Our cosiness soon evaporated though when he was taking our orders and my friend asked whether the fish could be served without the mussel broth, to which he answered that she would just get a piece of fish on its own. When she asked whether the chef could possibly add a few simple vegetables and potatoes the answer was a very curt "No" - not "I'll ask the chef" or "sorry madam we can't do this"! I was taken aback and thought he was rude, so when I asked whether the first course could be served without the parmesan I was not surprised to hear another "No". When we were taken to our table I was not happy to see that my chair seat was stained. It was a Saturday evening and the restaurant was empty except for us, although six people arrived later.
At least the waiter was friendly and we all enjoyed our first courses which were beautifully presented. The venison main however was disappointing as there were only two tiny pieces of meat and it was lukewarm. There was a dessertspoon of a thin tasteless purée, also a beetroot gratin and that was very tasty. The vegetable side dish was small and, being just green beans and some greens, uninspiring. We did wonder at this point why the manager had said earlier that the fish could not be served with just some vegetables instead of the broth...... The desserts were delicious but when the cheese menu arrived we asked the manager about one of the cheeses, he said he didn't know it as someone else had put the selection together (as if this would be of any interest to us). We waited in vain to hear him say that he would go and find out. Clearly, he had never heard of customer service. Throughout our time there we had to endure some pretty inappropriate pop music with screeching female vocals, spoiling the ambience.
Considering that this is not a cheap restaurant, the experience was disappointing and we won't be giving it a second chance, it's too expensive for that! Why would we anyway when there are plenty of venues in Cornwall giving much better service, value for money and ambience?

Room Tip: We only visited the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard H, General Manager at The Lugger Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Please accept our sincere apologies for the disappointment you experienced on your visit to The Lugger. We always strive to exceed our guests' expectations however it would appear on this occassion we have failed to achieve that. It is our wish that you would consider visiting again in the future, so we may have the opportunity of demonstrating our usual high standards of service and customer care. Thank you for taking the time to post.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

I was surprised to find such a good quality hotel in such a tiny village but the Lugger is just great. Lovely rooms, fantastic food and an amazing view from some aspects. Book the cottage if you can - a perfect little self-contained residence right on the side of the cliffs.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard H, General Manager at The Lugger Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Many thanks for posting your lovely feedback. As you say, the Cottage is a wonderful place to escape from it all, we are so pleased you enjoyed the experience. Thanks again for taking the time to post and see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Axminster, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

My husband and I stayed here on a stormy January Sunday-Monday for a relaxing break. On arrival we were very pleased to be informed that we had been upgraded to a better room (the hotel was quiet on that evening), and we were able to check in early as the room was ready before the stated time. We were shown to our room and I think it may have been the best room in the hotel, very well appointed with amazing views directly over the cove.

The manager showing us around was very attentive and a real professional.

We dined in the restaurant which is beautifully decorated. Before moving through to our table, we were given some complimentary olives to enjoy in front of the fire in the sitting room. Always a nice touch.

Food and drink were lovely,very well presented - not the most mindblowing cuisine we've had in similar standard restaurants but still a real treat, I'd definitely recommend. I'd have given it a 9/10.

One thing to note is that if you require the seafood platter (crab, lobster etc) you need to inform them 24 hours in advance. This was not an issue for us as we opted for the other seasonal dishes on the menu, which included fresh fish. I thought this was reassuring, as it means they get in their shellfish to order (no frozen stuff here!)

On our return to our room after dinner we were pleasantly surprised to discover our towels had been changed, two hot chocolates delivered, and hot water bottles had been placed under the duvet - lovely touches!

Breakfast was delicious and a good choice on offer, again with the great sea views. I ordered a hard boiled egg and got a soft boiled egg (which I can't currently eat due to pregnancy) - I pointed this out to our attendant who immediately rectified the matter and we were again very pleasantly surprised to see a credit had been added to our bill on check out as a goodwill gesture, even though it really hadn't been an issue or a problem at all.

This is clearly a hotel that goes the extra mile to make sure customers are 100% happy all of the time, I would not hesitate to recommend - really lovely stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard H, General Manager at The Lugger Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to post your comments, it's lovely to read how much you enjoyed your stay. Thanks again and hopefully we will see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

lovely hotal.amazing position right on the sea. the only hotel there in a cove. very relaxing..good food ....and freindly. food all locally sourced and very well presented. try and have a cocktail on the sea balcony area pre dinner ...lovely and so peaceful.everything was enjoyable on this 3 day break .from the tea on arrival to the checking out

Room Tip: go for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard H, General Manager at The Lugger Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thank you for posting your lovely feedback following your stay. It's great to read how relaxing you found the Hotel and the beautiful surroundings. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wadebridge, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

A group of us celebrated my birthday recently with dinner and an overnight stay at The Lugger. I wanted a 6 course taster menu, representing all of my favourite Cornish ingredients with matched wines to each course. Just to make things a bit trickier my wife is a strict vegetarian!

We met with Richard, the GM and Jonny the Chef before hand to make sure they could cater for our needs and they bent over backwards to make sure everything was perfect. During the 2 weeks leading up to the weekend, we changed the menu, timings and final numbers all of which was dealt with professionally and with good humour. The food was faultless, the service friendly and professional.
The rooms were clean and comfortable, with an excellent turndown service. We were just as fussy with our breakfast, which was all perfectly cooked to order.
I can't wait for another birthday to go again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard H, General Manager at The Lugger Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thank you for your great comments. We are so pleased you enjoyed your birthday celebrations with us, it was a lovely evening. Thanks once again and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Lugger Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lugger Hotel

Address: Portloe TR2 5RD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Roseland Peninsula > Portloe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Portloe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Lugger Hotel 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lugger is nestled at the foot of a valley with picturesque cove and tiny harbour. Portloe is part of the beautiful Roseland Peninsula, surrounded by cliffs and headlands which form part of the Cornish Coastal Footpath. The Lugger sits right at the water’s edge in the very heart of the village and has been recently transformed following a major renovation programme. All the public rooms have been refurbished and greatly improved to offer comfort and functionality in the truly unique setting of this historic harbour. Luxurious touches throughout have helped the hotel to gain multiple awards, The Lugger has been named ‘Best Seaside Hotel’ by The Sunday Times, has featured on the Condé Naste Travellers ‘Hot List’ and also features in the Mr and Mrs Smith and Hip Hotels guidebooks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Agoda, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The Lugger Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lugger Hotel Portloe
The Lugger Hotel Portloe, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lugger Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.