We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visited 3 times in a week” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ship Inn

The Ship Inn
Portloe TR2 5RA, England
01872 501356
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 2 Restaurants in Portloe
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
UK
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Visited 3 times in a week”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

They say "Tomorrows menu is in the Sea" and so it was. We had three really good meals and it was the first time my wife complained about having too much crab in her crab salad. I had a variety of mains and all were really good. The drinks are a bit pricey tho' but a nice place to eat and make sure you book ahead.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    51
    11
    14
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Napier, New Zealand
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Do not order "fish" pie!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

We can confirm nothing has changed since the last bad review of the fish pie.

Unfortunately we only read the review after going to this pub and ordering this pie. It is really potato pie with a hint of fish. Not a good pie at al. Didn't taste any good and was way overpriced.

Overall very DISAPPOINTING!!! The battered fish was mainly batter. The drinks are the most expensive we have encountered on our walk. Our overall view is - GO SOMEWHERE ELSE. This place is a rip-off!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Dropped in for dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

wife really enjoyed her seafood cocktail and lamb mine was okay but could have den much better - the crab soup was soooo strong it left a taste fr 24 hours and really ruined the main course.
Service was great really friendly. Was busy so you need to book to get a table on the weekend.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Good food and excellent value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Stayed in Port Loe for a few days and this became our "local". Excellent. Try the steak and ale pie.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
834 reviews 834 reviews
491 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 119 cities Reviews in 119 cities
2,555 helpful votes 2,555 helpful votes
“Lovely pub yards from our hotel.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

Another little nugget of joy during an excellent weekend in Portloe. We stayed at the little hotel down by the beach. We walked a good deal and just did some resting. We needed a foil to the hotel's successful but self contained formula and three lubricated hours in the pub were near perfect. Small scale friendly and well run. Laid back although once or twice I did get the impression that one or more of the pub staff seemed slightly guarded as if they thought that any non local was sizing the place up, expecting too much or likely to judge. Whether I read that wrong or not, it didn't matter a jot to me, particularly after the second pint.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ship Inn also viewed

Veryan, Roseland Peninsula
Portloe, Roseland Peninsula
 
Portscatho, Roseland Peninsula
Portscatho, Roseland Peninsula
 

Been to The Ship Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ship Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.