We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ship Inn

The Ship Inn
Portloe TR2 5RA, England
01872 501356
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 2 Restaurants in Portloe
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
falmouth
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Our party of six girls arrived at the pub just after 8.30pm on Friday night and were made very welcome as we asked if food was still available. The pub was busy with a lovely jolly atmosphere. The food was excellent (delicious homemade puds) and service excellent. We even took part in the pub quiz, great fun!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    53
    14
    14
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
South Cerney, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Friendly owners/staff and good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Called in when staying locally and by 1830 it was starting to full up - this was a Tuesday evening! Just got a table and the food was worth waiting for - however, friendly people make an evening and it made a nice meal a nice experience.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edenbridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Warm welcome, great food and beer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed at The Ship Inn for two nights and ate there both nights too. It clearly has a lot of local clientele, but it's not to the exclusion of others, and helps to create a good atmosphere. We were made to feel very welcome by all of the people working there. There were very tasty, pretty imaginative vegetarian options for the evening meals, and the desserts were worth a special mention (my husband, being an expert consumer of desserts, was most impressed!). Also worth a mention is the real ale - we were in Cornwall for ten days in total and the Dartmoor Ale was the biggest hit of all those that hubby sampled.
It gets very busy. They had kindly reserved a table for us on the Thursday, and we were wise to do the same on the Friday.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Lovely supper”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Delicious food, friendly staff, great atmosphere. We arrived late, without a booking, on a busy Friday evening but were found a table and thoroughly enjoyed our supper.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winchester
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great food and warm welcome - recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Arrived Friday when very busy and were still
given a very warm welcome, enjoyed a lovely meal and so returned again Sunday for an excellent roast beef dinner all freshly prepared and superb home made chocolate brownie pudding . Excellent value and I will be visiting again this week for sure. If you like real ale I can also vouch for the beer which is very well kept. Great pub !
Many thanks
Nick Pullen and family [Winchester Hampshire ]

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ship Inn also viewed

Portloe, Roseland Peninsula
Veryan, Roseland Peninsula
 
Portscatho, Roseland Peninsula
Portscatho, Roseland Peninsula
 

Been to The Ship Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ship Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.