We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Villa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Villa to your Saves list
The Villa
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Moss Side Lane, Wrea Green PR4 2PE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Wrea Green B&B and Inns
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Overnight stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

We booked two rooms for just one night here on the night of the June floods. Warm welcome and two vert comfortable rooms. Unfortunately as we were meeting our son, we couldn't stay in the lovely bar, have a meal from the atempting menu and a few drinks from the bar. We did have a suoerb breakfast the following morning though. Staff were friendly, especially the breakfast waitress. We were sorry to leave and will definately be back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    59
    26
    14
    10
See reviews for
52
57
5
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Blackburn, England
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012 via mobile

We attended a wine matching/ fine dining night here and added bed and breakfast for a total of £150 for two. It was great value, we had a really enjoyable night, the setting is beautiful, the rooms pleasant if not super-luxurious, the service was consistently good, and the quality of the breakfast superb. Value packages are only value if the quality of all the components is consistently good, which in this case it was. We'll go again for sure.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

If I had read the reviews before we booked, I would most likely have stayed somewhere else. We were here for four nights and on three of them there were wedding parties staying over. The first two were smaller, judging by the numbr of people at breakfast, and did not have too much of an impact - just the odd banging of doors and talking in the corridors late at night (though, as a light sleeper, it did mean that I only had one night where my sleep was not interrupted). However, on our last night (the night of the third wedding) we were woken at 3.00 am by screaming, shouting, doors being slammed etc. As a result, we had a truly crap night's sleep and, if I had known which guests had been so rude and selfish, I would quite happily have emptied my breakfast over their heads the next morning.

Call me old-fashioned but I actually like to be able to sleep at a hotel and I'm afraid that peace and quiet cannot be guaranteed because of the hotel's layout. There is no separate "wing" where wedding guests can be kept separate so, if there is a wedding going on, it is almost inevitable that you will end up near or next to someone who is attending. If you are a night owl / party animal then great, you may not mind or be around to hear the night-time noise but if you are Joe Average and turn the lights out between 11.00 pm and midnight, then prepare to be woken up at some point.

I found our stay really disappointing as I had presumed from its lovely, rural setting that this would be a relaxing stay. It was a shame because the hotel was good in many respects and I'm sure that it is a lovely wedding venue. Unless I could book and know that there were no weddings taking place, I will not be coming back.

Room Tip: Don't bother asking for a quiet room, you won't get one if there's a wedding party!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

We stayed here for one night mid week at a rate of £110 which was considerably higher than all the other local hotels. Perhaps that price led us to expect something a little better than average. Having looked at the website it looked as though it offered something a bit special and more luxurious than most. On arrival we approached the hotel up the drive and one must say, it is a lovely setting and the outside is well supplied with tables and chairs for taking a drink etc in the open air with a lovely view of the meadows. However that was probably the best part. When we checked in with a charming girl on reception we were first given the keys to room 20. We walked up the stairs and it was apparent immediately that cleaning and maintenance were not of the first order. On entering the room we were dreadfully disappointed - very shabby, poorly maintained and even the hotel literature and notices were crumpled and stained! The mirrors were smeary and the bathroom less than spotless. After a few minutes we decided that we were not prepared to be fobbed off with such a poor room and my husband returned to reception and spoke to the girl on duty. The manager came out of his back office and rather charmlessly produced the keys to a better upgraded room. After inspection we decided to move to this room but although it was in a different class from the first it fell very far short in facilities of what one would expect. Firstly the good things.....spacious, nice linen, cleaner, good lighting and mirrors, and good bathroom with separate shower and nice toiletries and bathtowels. However there were a number of negatives..... dated furniture, which, though old, really fell into the shabby category rather than antique, wifi reception did not reach the room so one had to stalk the corridors looking for a signal, no safe, no fridge, strange smell in bathroom (which also fell down somewhat on its cleaning standards), no laundry service, no trouser press or ironing facilities, These are all things one should be able to expect in a hotel of these aspirations. As is so much of a wedding venue how would a bride manage in the room we had?
Breakfast - we had a cooked breakfast which was fine. However we would normally have chosen from a selection of cold meats and cheeses if there had been one. The toast was presented flat on the plate, no toast rack, so it went soggy very quickly. Despite this the restaurant staff were very pleasant and charming and made up for those deficiencies!
Location is lovely but they need to pay some attention to other matters.

Room Tip: Don't be fobbed off with second best - if it is not good say so and get them to move you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Just returned from a wedding held at the Villa in Wrea Green. A 19th Century country house in pleasant grounds and a rural setting near to the Lancashire coast at Royal Lytham St. Annes. The rooms were comfortable ( L'occitan products and good towels) and the staff were helpful , well manned and unobtrusive . Considering the hotel was catering for 60+ staying guests , over 100+ at the reception meal and far more for the evening bash, whilst still running a very busy restaurant , the food was excellent. Breakfasts were particularly good and well cooked.The grounds of the hotel are attractive and the coast is about 5 miles away. For anyone seeking a break away , a adding or a golfing weekend this would be an ideal spot. We didn't eat in the restaurant as our party was catered for by the wedding but the restaurant was full on each day we were there. ( there is both a la carte and set meal options (£22.50 for 3 courses). By wine by the bottle at the bar as it cheaper by far than by the glass. Wedding guests paid £80and £90 per night . That the hotel was booked solidly with weddings for months to come speaks volumes for the place.Well worth a visit , nuptials or not!

Room Tip: For those who sleep light and have good hearing avoid a bedroom overlooking the sheep! they make a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool Lancashire
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

Attended my Nieces Wedding on the 1st June. What a wonderful day the staff were very attentive and the Wedding Meal in the Marquee was superb.also the buffet in the the evening and the setting is wonderful too. Many of the wedding party stayed over and all enjoyed the wonderful Breakfast the following morning. You wont be disappointed if you chose the Villa for your Wedding Venue or any Celebration for that matter.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

Part of a May wedding party we chose to overnight at the hotel. The location is lovely on the outskirts of a quinntisentially ideal English village green, down to the cricket square and duck pond.The staff were friendly and efficient, with one exception, who was old enough to know better, when I queried my room rate it being 10% more than shown on a leaflet received from the happy couple, some time earlier, the response was at best terse. On the plus side the room was well equipped and comfortable, the wedding breakfast and the breakfast the following morning were both very good. The staff are clearly well drilled and the flow of movement from using the marquee as a wedding venue to setting it up for the meal and disco was seamless. The venue had 8 consecutive weddings in 8 days and no wonder. Bar staff were very efficient and choice of drinks good.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villa W, Manager at The Villa, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
I'm glad you had such a great time at the wedding reception. I am sorry the rate was not as quoted by the bride and groom to you. I cant say if this was a mistake on our part or theirs but we do write the rates on the letter for them to then give out. I do hope that it didnt over shadow the day and that you will come back and visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Villa

Address: Moss Side Lane, Wrea Green PR4 2PE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Wrea Green
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Wrea Green
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Villa 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Villa Hotel Wrea Green
The Villa Wrea Green, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Villa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.