We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place for young or old!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of West Lodge Rural Centre

West Lodge Rural Centre
Back Lane, Desborough, Kettering NN14 2SH, England
+44 1536 760552
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 2 Attractions in Desborough
Type: Farms, Ranch & Farm
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We are an open, working farm with play areas, acres of beautiful walks, a large variety of farm animals including pigs, sheep, cows. Activities on offer include free barrel rides, piglet racing, cuddle corner petting sessions with the smaller animals. We also run pony rides and tractor tours of the farm at a small extra cost. Lots of picnic areas and a large family restaurant.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Perfect place for young or old!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

As a family we love this place. Our daughter is now 10 and we have been coming for many years. Even had a birthday party here. Totally recommended, food fabulous, fresh and hot. Loads to choose from. The kiddies packed lunches are a delight. All staff are perfect all the time, lovely walks, our favourite being the witches house walk, scary tractor rides at Halloween, do exactly what they should... even to the adults! Barrel ride still reduces us all into fits of laughter.... and that is just trying to get in it! Gift shop is amazing, little eyes, and big eyes light up with wonderment. All the animals seem happy and content. Have been involved in piglet racing, that can still make us laugh when we think about it! All in all, a brilliant place to go, very good value for money, everything is well thought out. You simply must go there!!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    16
    6
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Extremely good value!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

Visited with a 2 year old and a 4 year old. Extremely good value and loads to do - the pig race and barrel train were both higlights for our kids. We spent 6 hours here and both kids cried when we had to leave. Higly recommended!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fab little place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Plenty of things to do and see at this place without it being too big for the little ones! Everything all close by and lots of activated planned. My little girl loved feeding all the goats and rabbits and the barrel ride was a real winner!!
Restaurant looked lovely!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northamptonshire
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great day out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Visited this farm with my grandson and what a great place for young children. He loved the fact that we could get close to the animals and feed them and the play areas were well thought out with plenty of farm themed play items. We couldn't unfortunately follow the nature trail as it involved steps and we are not able to carry the buggy which was a shame. The restaurant was very child friendly and the food tasty and quite reasonable for this type of place. All in all a very enjoyable day out and Weill certainly be back.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
43 attraction reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
“Better than Sacrewell, not as good as Stoneleigh”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

It's okay but you can't get close to most of the animals. There were tons of poultry, not many lambs (in a field) and no piglets although there were some very sweet kid goats. In "cuddle corner" you can't touch animals yourself but have to wait for a member of staff at the allotted times - but we only learned this after trying to pick up a guinea pig. Some signs maybe?

Good hand washing facilities and the barrel ride was great fun - a caravan of cut-out barrels for you to sit in behind a small tractor which makes a couple of speedy circuits of the farmyard.

All in all, fine if you've got young children, but Stoneleigh in Mountsorrel is more charming, accessible - and cheaper!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed West Lodge Rural Centre also viewed

Kettering, Northamptonshire
Kettering, Northamptonshire
 
Kettering, Northamptonshire
Kettering, Northamptonshire
 

Been to West Lodge Rural Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage West Lodge Rural Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.