We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wow what a Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Falcon Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Falcon Hotel to your Saves list
Falcon Hotel
Castle Ashby, Northampton NN7 1LF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Castle Ashby
Wakefield, United Kingdom
1 review
“wow what a Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

just got back from stay at the Falcon Hotel , excellent food, excellent staff, excellent place .
Cant wait to go back , the ambience is wonderful & wished we had stayed longer.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Owner at Falcon Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2011
We are really please that you enjoyed your recent stay at our hotel. At Old English Inns we really value every one of our customer’s comments. Thank you for taking the time to post your comment and we look forward to welcoming you back to Old English Inns in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    14
    7
    8
    5
See reviews for
8
42
4
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Somerset
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

having just come from one of the other old english pubs / inns further up the country and found it to be lacking in many ways, I was kind of dreading what this place would be like. Neednt have worried at all. for starters where the place was located was gorgeous, the building itself was covered in wisteria and looked really pretty and countrified. On arrival we ordered tea for two and sat out on the patio out the back of the pub, just soaking up the surroundings and relaxing in the shade, though we could have sat in the sun had we wished. the garden was quite a nice size but it did have a marquee set up in it as the place is used quite a lot for wedding do's. there was room though for kids to run around happily, and for people to sit down away from it.
our room was in one of the old stone cottages a few metres along the road, but it was lovely there too. there was a garden for the cottages and a couple of picnic tables there as well. the room was small, but again it was different to the run of the mill places like travelodge for example. however, all the facilities were there, and it was lovely and quiet there too
Stayed here for two nights but found the choices of food for the evening meals wasnt the sort of thing I liked, so only had one evening meal with them, but the breakfasts were great. their evening menu was most definitely not the same as other old english inns / pubs, very upmarket in comparison. Still, we were well looked after and had a very relaxing time there. Castle Ashby House is literally on the doorstep too.
overall I would stay again but wouldn't stay for an evening meal in the restaurant. the food itself was cooked well, but i simply didn't like what was available.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Owner at Falcon Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2011
Thank you for taking time to review your recent stay at our hotel.
We do value all comments good and bad and take great pride in offering the best possible experience for all our guests.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Falcon or one of other Old English Inns very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Earls Barton, Northampton
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

Just to echo what my mum (Shelagh H) said....I highly recommend The Falcon. We've had some brilliant dinners here before and now we can add our wonderful wedding to the list too. Everything was just perfect, I cannot fault anything. Matt made us all feel as though he actually cared about our wedding, not just that we were one of a thousand couples who get married there (which we felt from other venues when we were looking).
I might be biased because it was my wedding but it was absolutely wonderful and a lot of that was down the fantastic service and food.
Thank you all so much for facilitating a very magical day.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Owner at Falcon Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2011
Thank you for your feed back on your recent stay at our Old English Inn. We value all your comments, and take them on board to offer the best service and value. We look forward to welcoming you back to one of our Old English Inns in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

Visited this week, stayed two nights. Very quaint and old fashioned building but very clean bedrooms and bathrooms with everything you needed to hand. Staff very friendly and helpful. Ate in the restaurant both nights and couldn't fault the food. This is not "pub grub", this is gourmet dining. Breakfast was also amazing. Would definitely recommend and are already planning to visit again next year. Thank you.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Owner at Falcon Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2011
Thank you for your feed back on your recent stay at our Old English Inn. We value all your comments, and take them on board to offer the best service and value. We look forward to welcoming you back to one of our Old English Inns in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

First class service and food, nothing was too much trouble for the staff. Matt Sanders did a great job organizing the day for us, everything ran smoothly. Everyone praised the quality of the food and all said what a wonderful time they had. The chef got the food out on time, piping hot and no one had to wait - splendid. The staff made sure the day went exactly as we had hoped it would. Chris you run a great ship - or should I say hotel.

Room Tip: We took up all the rooms for the night of the wedding, I stayed the 2 previous nights and what I saw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Owner at Falcon Hotel, responded to this review, September 28, 2011
Thank you for your feed back on your recent stay at our Old English Inn. We value all your comments, and take them on board to offer the best service and value. We look forward to welcoming you back to one of our Old English Inns in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

Visited last week for 3 days. Great place, good food and very friendly and helpful staff.
Thanks again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Owner at Falcon Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2011
Thank you for your feed back on your recent stay at our Old English Inn. We value all your comments, and take them on board to offer the best service and value. We look forward to welcoming you back to one of our Old English Inns in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

I have stayed at the Falcon on several occasions over the past couple of years when on business trips to the area.I have always found the accommodation very comfortable and the breakfast is always excellent.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Owner at Falcon Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2011
Thank you for your feed back on your recent stay at our Old English Inn. We value all your comments, and take them on board to offer the best service and value. We look forward to welcoming you back to one of our Old English Inns in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Falcon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falcon Hotel

Address: Castle Ashby, Northampton NN7 1LF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Northampton > Castle Ashby
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Castle Ashby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Falcon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Falcon Hotel Northampton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Falcon Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.