We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Olde Coach House

Save Saved
You added The Olde Coach House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Olde Coach House
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Main Street, Ashby Saint Ledgers CV23 8UN, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Free room upgrade
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

We had a wonderful stay here - it was brief as we were just passing through but the room was lovely - staff friendly and the food brilliant - would love to go back soon for a longer stay. excellent value for money.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    46
    33
    12
    7
    5
See reviews for
19
42
3
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

We stayed overnight on a Saturday night. Our room was very large with a big comfy bed. The bathroom was fine (shower but no bath, didn't bother me). It looks as if it has been recently renovated and the decor was pleasant. Breakfast (full english) was excellent. The village of Ashby St Ledgers is very pretty and the OCH fits the bills as a traditional looking pub/guesthouse.

On the negative side, OCH could be a lot better with a few small changes. We were greeted by one of the staff who, while efficient, was hardly welcoming or friendly. In order to access the rooms after hours or without going through the pub, you have to go via the alley containing the bins: not very pleasant or picturesque! Also, the doors to the storerooms were left open which again didn't look very tidy or organised.

All in all, a pleasant stay but somewhere which could become a really great B&B with a few minor changes. I would stay again, and might recommend it, but with several caveats.

Room Tip: Room 5 is large and the bed is very comfy! no bath, just a shower tho.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northants
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011 via mobile

We have visited The OCH for dinner a number of times but popped in for a casual lunch with family today. Full menu available as well as sandwiches. Enjoyed one of their popular grazing boards, (whitebait, smoked Salmon, mackerel, Thai fish cake, fresh bread, salad & dips), local ham, eggs & chips, as well as delicious baguettes accompanied by home made wedges & salad. Prompt & friendly service, good beer, well priced, contemporary setting. Thoroughly recommended

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

We were advised to try this pub by the hotel staff.
Had a very good meal and drink here, served by friendly staff and nothing too much trouble.
The early bird was very good value, wished we had found this pub on the first night of our stayin daventry.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2011 via mobile

Found room of poor quality not even a chair in the room.
Bathroom needs updating dispensers near sink need cleaning or better still remove and sink could do with a doze of bleach,very poor shower took ages to warm up, was advised about this but the wait was ridiculous.
Food poor I was pleased l stool to a curry, I watched some of the meals being handed out, and I would have been very upset if I'd payed the prices for some thing I wouldn't have enjoyed.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCH2011, Manager at The Olde Coach House, responded to this review, November 15, 2011
Thank you for your comments - you'll be pleased to hear that all of our bathrooms have now received a mini make-over! They have been freshly painted, all unused dispensers removed & a booster pump has been fitted to the hot water tank.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2011

Let's get this in some perspective, I'm basing this on one lunchtime visit, a visit that has prompted me to leave some honest feedback.... A beautiful village, a quaint village pub renovatd to a high standard and very comfortable; go today, or any other sunny day and you'll agree. We were there with four adults and two young kids. Having travelled from London and Derbyshire using the Old Coach House as half way point for a spot of lunch, we were all hungry. We eventually got drinks with only one person at the bar to about eight customers waiting, sat and perused what has to be said was a good menu. On odering we asked whether we could have a simple cheese sandwich for one of the kids, off menu, how easy can a bread, butter and cheese be? It was flatly refused by the waiter, one of three that served us. We didn't push it, it was just odd; how nice it would have been for a "no problem." On getting the bill with service included, central London prices for OK food, we split it on two cards and then had the bill presented back to us and told that we were 'short of the service charge amount' - we weren't, what a cheek! The waitress then fetched her manager who then asked us what the problem was? Hilarious, we'd paid for the food with the service charge - up till that point we didn't have a problem. In a nutshell, great location, geat looking pub - OK food, lacking quality service, atmosphere and for godsake peeps that work there, SMILE! Shame.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2011

This is further to my earlier review regarding our visit in January. Unfortunately I left my favourite scarf in the restaurant and I have to report that The Olde Coach House were very kind and sent it on to me. I really appreciate this and shall definitely make another visit next time we take or collect our daughter to Sheffield Uni.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Olde Coach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Olde Coach House

Address: Main Street, Ashby Saint Ledgers CV23 8UN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Ashby Saint Ledgers
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Ashby Saint Ledgers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Olde Coach House 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Good News in January 2014 we have been awarded AA 4 stars for our accommodation standard and a AA Dining award for the quality of our food. The Olde Coach House is set in the beautiful village of Ashby St Ledgers which was mentioned in the Domesday Book of 1086.In addition to our existing 4 bedrooms we are also home to 11 individually designed boutique bedrooms all with the facilities you expect from a top hotel, but located in the converted stables of this country inn.The rooms include designer bathrooms with rain showers, heated towel rails,bathrobes,32" flat screen TVs, ipod charger, direct dial telephones, pillow menu,comfy new beds with cosy duvets and FREE WIFI.OCH also boasts a charming rustic Bar with flagstone floors, low beams and open fires, a contemporary Restaurant and fantastic garden and courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, T4B, Priceline, Agoda and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your The Olde Coach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Olde Coach House Hotel Ashby Saint Ledgers

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Olde Coach House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.