We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"superb Service, Great Staff"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Healey Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Healey Hotel to your Saves list
Healey Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Towngate Road, Batley WF17 7HR, England (Formerly Alder House Hotel Batley)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Free room upgrade
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Batley
Wakefield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“"superb Service, Great Staff"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

Thank you to emma the wedding coordinator and staff at alder house hotel for making our day so special, we had a wonderful time which we won't forget. The food and full service was excellent, all our guests said how perfect it was. you made us feel so special and you gave us a quality service. lots of love from george and sarah.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    42
    25
    14
    38
See reviews for
24
57
8
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dronfield
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

We only stayed one night but we found the hotel clean and comfortable. Our room was slightly odd in that the wash basin was in the bedroom and the toilet/shower area was small. However, it was clean, the beds were comfortable and everything worked.
The breakfast was excellent and the waitress was helpfulness itself. Nothing was too much trouble, she seemed to enjoy her job and even found time to tell us about the history of the building. Shame that the entrance is at the back because the grounds at the front are very pleasant.
Can't imagine why some people have said it is poor and dirty because it certainly was not when we stayed.

Room Tip: Bedroom needs refurbishing but we were told this is planned for the near future. However it was cle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

I was recognised & greeted as a hotel guest immediately right at the front desk reception on my first step walking into the hotel. The hotel's check-in & check-out services were speedy & efficient. The hotel is nicely refurbished, specialy i like the hotel bar and restaurant. The design is one of a kind, very cozy & unique. The hotel room is of good size, clean & well-equipped; I particularly enjoyed the good food and breakfast lot! The excellent free wi-fi internet service in the hotel must be mentioned! All hotel staff including front desk receptionist rebecca, Brains Hearle Chef & restaurant staff were polite & helpful. The location is excellent -- yet on a quiet street but very very close to all networking towns. The Leeds centre is so close which takes you about 15-min drive to get there, the restaurant is extravagant for a single & romantic for a couple! I really enjoyed my stay in this hotel & i have booked executive suite with the hotel on my departure for september. look farword to seeing all staff again in september.

Room Tip: The new wing of hotel has very comfirtable executive suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bridgend wales
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

Stayed at the alder house hotel with family in July. Hotel was fine, could do with a bit of updating in some parts but room was clean and we had a good night sleep. The staff were very accommodating and were always polite and friendly but it seemed that there was lack of management in the hotel and some staff showed lack of training so service was often very slow.
I would probably stay here again as it was a convenient location, but if you are wanting to get out and about quickly you may want to warn them so you arent delayed.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

We had the great misfortune to stay at this appalling, badly run, filthy and truly disturbing hotel.

We arrived at 11am and as we were off to a football match the staff said we could either pay to check in early or leave our bags which would be kept securely in a locked room. We decided to leave our bags and as we left were a little disturbed that the police arrived to deal with a break in in the carpark.

When we tried to check in later that evening we were greeted by the assistant manager, Kay, who has what can only be described as a rudimentary understanding of the English language.

He was unable to find our bags, as the 'locked' office had been left open and had no room booking for us. He then asked us to pay for a room in advance on credit card, but as the hotel does not have card facilities, he wanted to ring a friend at another hotel and give him our card details. We refused to do so.

We then played a game of 'find the bags' which consisted of Kay taking us on a tour of the hotel with a selection of keys trying to find out bags. He eventually found our bags in a twin room with somebody elses luggage. At this point, we thought we could at least get some sleep.

However, we were then shown to our room which had an unmade bed, complete with hairy, dirty sheets, a faulty light fitting that gave small electric shocks and a toilet in which the previous guest had left us a thoughtful gift!!

At this point, I went back to reception to see the manager. Kay advised the manager left some time ago and had only stayed a week. Kay couldn't quite grasp that as there was no manager, his proudly displayed job title of assitant manager was a little inaccurate.

Kay also advised that the day reception had only been with the hotel for a week, as the previous reception staff had all walked out.

Whilst waiting for Kay to find another room, two local girls entered the hotel, proceeded straight to the bar where they stole various alcoholic drinks before walking straight back out of the hotel, only stopping to ask us to promise not to say anything. Little did the girls know, that they had had a lucky escape as moments later the police arrived (one of 3 overnight police visits) looking for rooms for people who had lost their council housing.

We finally got into our room, and whilst the sheets were torn, they were at least clean and matched the torn wallpaper and torn chair. I'd like to think this was some form of design however it wasn't to our taste!

During the night we were awoken twice more by the aformentioned police visits as well as the random shouts of arguing rehoused families and the sounds of Zoe and Chloe clearly enjoying themselves with, we think, a few men!!

Having had one or two hours sleep we decided to check out, however in keeping with the rest of the service, there was nobody available to speak to or check us out.

All in all the very worst overnight experience we have encountered anywhere within the UK.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2011

I stayed in this hotel whilst attending a meeting in leeds the staff could not do enough for me i found the rooms clean and beds comfortable the food in the restaurant was excellent infact the second chef mark cooked me a curry that was excellent. The staff really try to go the extra mile in this hotel and everyone tries their best to make all the guests welcome and i found the staff excellentr and very helpfull . i feel some of the other reviews carried out by some people are grossly unfair and i suggest these people get a life. My experience of this hotel was excellent and i would reccomend this hotel to all, GO and try it youll be glad you did WELL DONE TO ALL THE STAFF THAT LOOKED AFTER ME THEY WERE EXCELLENT

Room Tip: ask for a room overlooking the gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2011

Stayed at this hotel as we were visiting family for a celebration, I wish we had pitched a tent !

The hotel looks like Fawlty Towers and the Asian lads did not have a clue. (Although they seem to be the only ones there) The grounds are beautiful and it seem the money is spent out there. The breakfast was greasy and looked like a truckers cafe style - thrown on ! Don't worry about the noise coming from the Kitchen we heard everything the chef had to say... sorry shout about !

We spoke to the new manager Dave Glendon who seemed to know what he was doing and treated us very well. He explained that the hotel was undergoing many changes and that many changes were to the rooms, service and products. . . Good luck to him !

Whilst at the reception I witnessed a young man checking in with 3 small children, although I was not "earwigging" I overheard that they were from the emergency housing and that the hotel has many such people staying, I understand they need somewhere but I felt uncomfortable.

I have never before been to a hotel where I am asked to pay BEFORE I get the keys and also some Indian chap asked if we could pay by cash. . . very unusual.

Unfortunately I would NOT recommend this hotel to anyone until the new manager gets the changes done including the terrible TV's - Antiques Road-show eat your heart out !

From booking to checkout I had trouble understanding the receptionist boys. Beautiful location extremely poor hotel.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else !
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Healey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Healey Hotel

Address: Towngate Road, Batley WF17 7HR, England (Formerly Alder House Hotel Batley)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Batley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Batley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Healey Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This historic Hotel is just minutes from the town of Batley, and a short driving distance to local beauty spots, including Bronte Country, Summer Wine Country, Yorkshire’s Skopos Motor Museum, Howley Hall Golf Club, and Bagshaw Museum, to name a few. Guests can also visit surrounding cities including Dewsbury at 1 mile, Brighouse at 2 miles, Cleckheaton at 2 miles, Osset at 2 miles and Leeds, Wakefield, Huddersfield, Halifax, and Bradford that are only 5 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, LateRooms, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Healey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alder Hotel Healey Lane

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Healey Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.