We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“70's thro-back - pitch a tent it will be more modern.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Healey Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Healey Hotel to your Saves list
Healey Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Towngate Road, Batley WF17 7HR, England (Formerly Alder House Hotel Batley)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Free room upgrade
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Batley
Harrogate, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“70's thro-back - pitch a tent it will be more modern.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2011

Stayed at this hotel as we were visiting family for a celebration, I wish we had pitched a tent !

The hotel looks like Fawlty Towers and the Asian lads did not have a clue. (Although they seem to be the only ones there) The grounds are beautiful and it seem the money is spent out there. The breakfast was greasy and looked like a truckers cafe style - thrown on ! Don't worry about the noise coming from the Kitchen we heard everything the chef had to say... sorry shout about !

We spoke to the new manager Dave Glendon who seemed to know what he was doing and treated us very well. He explained that the hotel was undergoing many changes and that many changes were to the rooms, service and products. . . Good luck to him !

Whilst at the reception I witnessed a young man checking in with 3 small children, although I was not "earwigging" I overheard that they were from the emergency housing and that the hotel has many such people staying, I understand they need somewhere but I felt uncomfortable.

I have never before been to a hotel where I am asked to pay BEFORE I get the keys and also some Indian chap asked if we could pay by cash. . . very unusual.

Unfortunately I would NOT recommend this hotel to anyone until the new manager gets the changes done including the terrible TV's - Antiques Road-show eat your heart out !

From booking to checkout I had trouble understanding the receptionist boys. Beautiful location extremely poor hotel.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else !
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    42
    25
    14
    38
See reviews for
24
57
8
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cranbrook, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2011

I had read the reviews on here - I even phoned the hotel up to ask them why some reviews were so bad - they persuaded me things had chnaged and so I booked with the provison that if it was bad - I would leave.
The rooms are fine and serviceable and clean.
The hotel very clean and clearly they are redecorating.
Breakfast good - big and quick - tea great.
Staff could not have been more attentive and helpful.
Very quiet location

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2011

Dirty hotel with staff who struggle to speak English, say the hotel manager arguing with a contractor telling him he wouldn't pay his bill.would recommend you keep well clear.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2011

Avoid room 16. This room is beneath the laundry and the washing machines run till 11pm. Not suitable if you need to rest.
apart from the hotel own restaurant, There is no other decent restaurant around.
The evening staff is not very helpful.
the state of the rooms is poor.
on the first floor, the floor is very loose. You can hear a squeaking sound each time someone walk along the corridor.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirfield, West Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2010

Not living far from the hotel I wasn't even aware of it until I was to attend a do there but thought it would be easier to stay over rather than mess around with taxi's.
On checking into the hotel, the staff seemed polite and friendly and we were given an upgrade to the Nightingale Suite which was very comfy with it's four poster bed. The bathroom was quite big too with a bath big enough to fit 2! The room was a little warm but that was sorted once we had turned both radiators off.
Had breakfast there the following morning which you had a choice of, anything cooked was freshly made and didn't take long.
The hotel has plenty space at the front and around the back for car parking too.
I would definately recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2010

I stayed at Alder house hotel in mid november. I arrived half an hour early which seemed to be no problem and was greeted on arrival very politely. I was then shown to my room and given a hand with my luggage. I really liked the room which was very clean and cosy. I decided to have dinner at the hotel and the food was lovely. I really enjoyed my stay as the room was lovely and the price was good compared to other hotels in the area. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I was offered the best of service and couldnt ask for more. I would definately go stay there again and certainly reccomend it to everyone

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2010

Booked over internet because it looked a quality place to stay. It isn't! My wife and I were appalled by the state of the room that we were expected to stay in. Linen had not been changed and the bed was full of hairs! The bath was also full of hairs and there was mould - disgusting! When we drew the managers attention to it we were given another room but this was no better! Carpet was filthy dirty, food debris on floor, surfaces felt tacky and worse of all there was what appeared to be the remains of projectile vomitting on the wall! Was too late to look elsewhere so reluctantly stayed the night! Didn't unpack because place felt so dirty! We decided that given the condition of the room we wouldnt chance breakfast so booked out early next morning and went and found a McDonalds instead!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Healey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Healey Hotel

Address: Towngate Road, Batley WF17 7HR, England (Formerly Alder House Hotel Batley)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Batley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Batley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Healey Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This historic Hotel is just minutes from the town of Batley, and a short driving distance to local beauty spots, including Bronte Country, Summer Wine Country, Yorkshire’s Skopos Motor Museum, Howley Hall Golf Club, and Bagshaw Museum, to name a few. Guests can also visit surrounding cities including Dewsbury at 1 mile, Brighouse at 2 miles, Cleckheaton at 2 miles, Osset at 2 miles and Leeds, Wakefield, Huddersfield, Halifax, and Bradford that are only 5 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, LateRooms, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Healey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alder Hotel Healey Lane

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Healey Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.