We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Attentive service and good value food.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Miners Arms

The Miners Arms
Hemerdon Village, Plympton, Plymouth PL7 5BU, England
+44 1752 336040
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 11 Restaurants in Plympton
Price range: $23 - $30
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Reservations
Plymouth
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Attentive service and good value food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We booked the Miners for a family meal on a Saturday night. The restaurant is in a large conservatory to the rear of the cosy 'olde worlde' village pub. It was a lovely sunny evening (one of the rare ones we've had recently) and the views over the countryside were lovely.

The restaurant was full but the service was efficient with the waiting staff checking on the table at intervals without prompting. The only time the 'wheels came off' the service was when we reached our dessert course because they had run out of menus (the restaurant was at capacity with at least 2 large parties) and our desserts were also a little slow in arriving because of this.

All of the food we ordered was well cooked and presented. The cheeseboard to share was enormous offering a good variety of cheeses and is still a family talking point! The only minor gripe was the size of the portions of the sea bass meal chosen by two of our party, who were left feeling hungry after it (we didn't order starters). However the huge cheeseboard did remedy this. The fish and chips were amazing, as was the creamy seafood linguine.

We had coffees and brandies in the cosy pub, which rounded off a lovely evening.

All in all a good evening and had the desserts not been late in arrving, would have been a 'five star' experience. We will definitely be returning.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    45
    32
    18
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Lovely lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I was taken to lunch at the Miners Arms on Good Friday after a long walk feeling very cold and tired. I was completely revived after eating delicious homemade soup and hot ciabatta bread. The restaurant is lovely with great views and nicely tucked away from the road. I will definitely visit again soon.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Disappointing all round”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

A group of us went Easter Sunday eve for a meal and a few drinks. Overall the food was terribly disappointing, they had ran out of steak, fish and duck and only had one ham left........not a great start. Two out of the three puddings we sent back and had to insist that they be removed from the bill. No offer of a complimentary drink for the inconvenience of the limited menu or the puddings. When we went into the bar after the meal, the bar had run out of some beers! Overall a very disappointing evening.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great food, great atmosphere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

The food was absolutely amazing and it was a very friendly place. Cannot recommend highly enough. Landlord's not so hot on his general knowledge though.... ;)

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Nice place to dine and socialise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We were invited to the Miners Arms by our Son and his new partner to meet her parents, therefore an important occasion. This very attractive building set a little way outside of Plympton has the facility to sit quietly and hear oneself talk, so ideal for being introduced to new people.

The bar allows you to arrive before a meal and have a drink, and the wood burning stove with its sofas near by at this time of year is so cosy. If one was dining early there are some spectacular views out from the dining area, and in warmer weather a beautiful dining patio or scattered seating in the grounds if only wanting a drink.

Six of us dined a three course meal which covered different choices. I can only review what i ate, which was home made soup, fillet steak and creme brulee. All of which were of a good standard, presented well and despite the resturant being very busy at efficient and acceptable timin for each course..

Everyones meals looked good, apparently tasted good, and for us the evening was a success.

If one was to pick a negative it was our choice in our first bottle of Rose, which in hindsight we should have not drunk. Our second choice in Rose made up for it though. You win some you loose some, wines can prove difficult. Glad i chose the second bottle!

Do try the Miners Arms, it is worth the drive and i know we have been before for lunches and we will definately return.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Miners Arms also viewed

Plympton, Plymouth
Plympton, Plymouth
 

Been to The Miners Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Miners Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.