We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great accommodation, great service, great food.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St Elizabeth's House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added St Elizabeth's House to your Saves list
St Elizabeth's House
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Longbrook Street | Plympton St Maurice, Plympton, Plymouth PL7 1NJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Plympton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, England
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Great accommodation, great service, great food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

I have stayed at St Elizabeth's House twice while on business in the area, and both times have been hugely impressed with this small boutique hotel.

The building is Georgian - a spacious, high-ceilinged house with plenty of room and bright, airy rooms. I stayed in the Palmer room on both occasions. The decor is tasteful - a blend of period features (old radiators, panelling, sash windows etc) and decent furniture with a Farrow-and-Ball paint job. The Palmer is spacious - those high ceilings again and a big bay window. The bathroom is equally large - big sink, freestanding bath and a cavernous, walk-in wet room with big raindrop head shower. Pleasingly, an issue with a dodgy valve and low water pressure was fixed for my return trip. There's free wi-fi in the hotel, and my room had a big flatscreen tv, fridge/mini bar, hairdryer, safe and tea and coffee making facilities. Think there might have been a trouser press too, but I've never used one :). My one tiny quibble (and here everyone's preference is different) is that the bed is a bit soft.

Elsewhere in the hotel, the communal spaces are equally pleasing - a big bar with low lighting and comfy seats, 1920s/30s posters on the walls, unobtrusive music, Doom Bar ale on tap and a lovely terrace area out the back. Also plenty of car parking.

The real jewel in the crown however is the restaurant. I'm incredibly picky and usually prepared to be underwhelmed, but boy can this chef cook. A big range of excellent dishes on the reasonably-priced a la carte menu didn't disappoint - tonight for example a mushroom amuse bouche, seared scallops in a fish veloute with mushrooms and a pan-fried chicken breast wrapped in parma ham on a rich risotto, accompanied by unadulterated vegetables. Delicious. Last night was sirloin steak - one of the juiciest, most flavourful and well-cooked steaks I've had in a while. Service is friendly, attentive, but never over the top, and there are lots of nice touches like a jug of iced tap water with orange and lemon as standard. Quite right too, but the small things make a difference.

Overall, I am really really impressed with this hotel - a great experience. If it wasn't for the stupendously long trip to get here, I'm sure I'd come more often. Great value for money (hotel and restaurant) and highly recommended.

Room Tip: Palmer was lovely - very roomy. Some traffic noise (fairly minor).
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    51
    13
    9
    1
See reviews for
83
81
6
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Devon
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Came to this by accident ,but very glad I did . They specialise in weddings here, the setting is fantastic . Lovely house , the rooms are great with a lovely mattresses For a great nights sleep.
The bathrooms are well laid out but the one we stayed in could do with a larger sink as restricted me shaving . Also an extra shelf for laying out your toiletries wouldn't go amiss. The bar area is very impressive, and a great garden & patio area to sit out with lovely lawns with tree areas for shade. Great for wedding photos . Ample parking also.
The food here was great & the service all day was faultless and very attentive.
The only problem we did encounter was going back on a Sunday for a light snack . We phone to check this was ok as they were fully booked for Sunday lunch. After arriving when arranged we were then told we could not eat as the chef had gone home . This was shortly after 3pm ,yet the menu stats food is served between 12-4pm. So very disappointed.

Room Tip: They were all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

We held our Wedding Celebration dinner in the Beatrice Room last Friday. Everything was absolutely excellent from the decor to the service to the food! I cannot praise them enough and would recommend this venue extremely highly.

Some guests stayed at the hotel and they were fulsome in their praise of the bedrooms and the breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

We had one night here last Friday night on our way down to Newquay. It was in a lovely setting and a very impressive driveway. All the staff at the hotel were attentive and very pleasant and very efficient and friendly. We had the Sir Christopher Wren room overlooking the gardens at the back with a lovely view. Lovely bathroom with a large shower and a roll top bath. We had the three course dinner in the evening which was definitely Michelin star quality. AfterwRds we went a walk around the village. It was hot and beautifully served in a most welcoming dining area overlooking the gardens. Breakfast to was excellent we were very impressed. If down there again we would definitely use it again.

Room Tip: Sir Christopher Wren room was lovely but I would imagine any of the rooms overlooking the gardens wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skawina, Poland
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

Nice little hotel, impressive bar area and nice function rooms. Stayed in the Elizabeth suite with its huge bathroom with sunken jacuzzi bath. Room was nice although I felt that the style of the wooden furniture and settees was a bit dated and not in the period sense. Breakfast was good although everything on the buffet was not put out till approx 0720 rather than the 0700 start time.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Myself and I partner stayed here for a week in July and we were not disappointed, the hotel is beautiful inside and out, it's set within lovely grounds set back in the small town of plympton. Our room was beautiful we had a lovely view over the gardens and the bathroom wow! Had a gorgeous freestanding slipper type bath and separate shower which was generously sized. Was very clean and everything was perfect. The bed was so comfy and would recommend a stay here highly! We did not eat in the restaurant so cannot comment on food. The service from staff was very high and we were well looked after, when returning from an afternoon out to find our power had gone this was resolved within minutes and we received an apology, very good service. They also gave us a local taxi number who we used all week and they were very reliable and friendly! Definitely recommend a stay here it is a beautiful place

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Arriving in London after a long overnight flight from Canada (4 hours late) we were on our way to St. Ives but wanted to break up the long train trip to re-charge our batteries. St. Elizabeth's House fit the bill nicely being just outside Plymouth in a very quiet area. An unexpected bonus was an excellent dining room. The bar is a lovely place for a drink before going in for dinner. Very glad we stopped in.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to St Elizabeth's House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Elizabeth's House

Address: Longbrook Street | Plympton St Maurice, Plympton, Plymouth PL7 1NJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plymouth > Plympton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Plympton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — St Elizabeth's House 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St Elizabeth's House in South Devon is a celebration of luxury, style and service. This Devon hotel combines contemporary, state-of-the-art features whilst retaining the Georgian manor's traditional charm. Situated in the historic village of Plympton St Maurice and surrounded by 9 acres of sweeping lawns and beautifully landscaped gardens, St Elizabeth's House offers an idyllic retreat from the stresses of busy lives. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your St Elizabeth's House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Elizabeth`s House Hotel Plympton
St Elizabeth's House Plympton, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St Elizabeth's House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.