We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“been before and will come again!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bee Cottage Farm Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Bee Cottage Farm Guest House to your Saves list
Bee Cottage Farm Guest House
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Castleside, Consett DH8 9HW, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
3 course evening meal £20
Ranked #4 of 9 Consett B&B and Inns
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“been before and will come again!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

very easy to find from CTC as you must pass thru a gate with a Bee Cottage direction on it. Furthermore its marked on the official CTC map. There is secure storage for bikes. David was welcoming as usual The rooms were spotless and well supplied with everything you would expect. The dinner was tasty and there was friendly chat from David and Irene. There was a good library of DVDs which some of us watched. I headed for bed which was comfortable and slept well. Breakfast was on time and all freshly prepared. Would definitely recommend this as a place to stay for any CTCers!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    20
    7
    6
    5
See reviews for
7
20
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stayed here for 1 night over the first May Bank holiday 2013 during a C2C run. Initially had run scheduled for the Easter weekend but postponed due to the severe weather after some invaluable advice from David on the local conditions! (Massive thanks to David for this!!!) Thankfully the second attempt was rewarded with some glorious weather at a really nice spot. Both David and Irene were extremely nice and helpful, with some great local homecooked food. Would recommend this to anyone.
Pete

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cowbridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Poor sign posting to the cottage resulting in 2 of our group losing their way.Not the warmest of welcomes on arrival, having cycled 10 hours - We were chastised for being late for dinner ! The accommodation was adequate if a little dusty,and not worth 4* rating . However we had great hot showers and the evening meal was good home cooked food. However our hosts could not stretch to a cooked breakfast by 7.30 the next morning, as it seemed to be too much preparation for that time of day !!
It's great that Irene and David feel that they can cater for large groups on their way through via C2C, but perhaps they should simplify their menu to accommodate, staggered arrivals , which is inevitable !!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Spent two days at Bee Cottage, with seven friends. We got stuck negotiating sheet ice as we tried to get there in the middle of the night and David immediately came out in his land rover to ferry us to the cottage! Food was excellent - all homemade - I had Carrot & Swede Soup, Green Vegetable Bake and Plum and Apple Crumble & Custard. For breakfast I chose the vegetarian option - very nice - and the conservatory dining room has beautiful panoramic views. The large enclosed garden is a haven and food feast for a large variety of birds. The rooms were clean and comfortable with lovely views too. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stranraer, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

Okay, we booked in the middle of winter,to accommodate our small dog with us, the weather was cold very wet and gloomy. The accommodation itself was fairly clean but goodness the room was cold. Irene and David did explain the heating controls,but really it needed to be put on well before our arrival. A further gripe was the fact that the bathroom window did not have a blind. When I walked past outside one could see through the window quite clearly.
The lounge and dining area were also for too cold for my liking.
The food on the other hand was good "home from home"cooking. We could not fault both the evening dinner or the breakfast.
There are problems with timings, getting chastised, a, when we arrived later than our expected time, b, too early for dinner, and c, being too early for breakfast on our last day.
We would perhaps stay here again, but only in the warmer months.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We booked in the cottage for one night, we were told to arrive 3pm onwards. we arrived 3.03pm to find the owners out and the workmen who did not know how long they should be. 15 mins later they arrived very apologetic, the rooms are very nicely done, but it didn't feel right for the B & B. it felt like it was trying to be a hotel something it wasn't! our room was OK, we agree with a previous post we also had black mould in our shower area. the room was cold, they said the heating was on, but after 2 hours we realised they had turned the radiators off in the room and that is why we were cold ( they should check before letting the room out). The owners were trying to be too friendly to the point of being too much in your face. Our meal was OK, but certainly NOT worth £20 for 3 courses. The B & B had a smell assume it was coming from the kitchen, the kitchen door was a stable door with the top door open all the time, it was very dated and did not look that clean. Also cats were in the kitchen level with the work surfaces!! Their star rating should be re assessed. Whilst we were eating we ended up eating the whole meal with the owner and chef talking to us all the time, it felt very uneasy. We bought drinks to go with our meal one coke was ordered and was given a can from a multipack which says on it not for resale and was charged £1.50. Breakfast could have been better and did not reflect what was on the menu. The fresh fruit was past its best. We ended up paying over £100 for one nights B & B. very poor quality.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Friendly, accommodating proprietors, good wholesome food, quiet location. Best porridge I have had in a long time. Stunning sunrise and lots of wildlife around. C2C route only 400 meters away. Secure storage for bikes is available. I would call again !.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bee Cottage Farm Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bee Cottage Farm Guest House

Address: Castleside, Consett DH8 9HW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Consett
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Consett
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bee Cottage Farm Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
100 year old farmhouse with ground floor annexe where pets are welcome.In an AONB on the edge of the Durham Dales. Very peaceful with stunning views. Relaxed and friendly atmosphere. All rooms en suite with TV and WiFi. Home cooked meals and licensed to sell alcohol. 1 field from C2C cycle route and well placed for visiting Durham, Newcastle, Beamish, Hadrians Wall and Northumberland for Alnwick Castle and Lindisfarne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Bee Cottage Farm Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bee Cottage Farm Guest House Consett, United Kingdom

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bee Cottage Farm Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.