We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous family holiday.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of North Pennine Escapes

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Consett
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
North Pennine Escapes
Save
You added North Pennine Escapes to your Saves list
Summerfield Farm, Consett DH8 9BH, England (Formerly Hadrian and Derwent Country Escapes)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 9 Consett B&B and Inns
Northern Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous family holiday.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Had originally booked to stay for the week at the smaller site and were contacted by the owners to inform us there was a problem with that accommodation and would we mind moving! We had been looking forward to our break and worried that this would be the start of things not being as good as we had hoped for. How wrong we were.
When we first entered our home for the week,'Birchinlee', we could not have been happier, the first impression continued throughout the property by all the family. Very clean, excellently equipped, a real home from home. Our teens enjoyed the wifi and the little one the freedom to run freely in the 'barn' and the outside play area. We all enjoyed the space in the property, and the ability to all comfortably relax in the lounge in the evenings, enjoy breakfast around the table in the mornings, and the quality showers in our bathrooms (ensuite). The vouchers for 'Slaley Hall' were a bonus which enabled us to use the leisure facilities free of charge, and we were warmly welcomed by their staff and provided with towels, nice way to spend a family afternoon.
A great base from which to explore the surrounding area and only 25 minutes to 'Metro centre' which was hard to believe given that it is so secluded and remote from city life.
Would have no hesitation recommending this location and hope to return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
1
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hornsea, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

A very nice place to stay, very clean & tidy with lots of new equipment.
Only one door to get in or out, not too happy about that, but there was a fire certificate.
No area immediately outside the building to sit and relax with a cuppa.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Had a great weekend based at The Meadows for a wedding in Consett. Very nice accommodation and plenty of space for our group of seven. The kitchen is well layed out and perfectly adequate for meal times for a large group.
Wifi would have been a benefit.
We all enjoyed our stay and agreed to use The Meadows again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We stayed for.a week as a pre Christmas break. We booked The Heathers which sleeps 5 . There were only 4 of us so we had plenty of room to relax in the comfortable, well designed, well furnished cottage. The ground floor level is open plan with a well equipped kitchen, dining area and comfortable sitting area. There is also a downstairs cloakroom, handy for walking gear etc. Upstairs, the bedrooms are very spacious and comfortable. We slept like logs! Although the weather was pretty cold, we were extremely warm and cosy inside The Heathers. We missed wi-Fi connection and had to venture out to the barn on site. Mobile phone signal is non existent so you do feel quite remote. A bonus to our stay was the free access to the leisure facilities at the Slaley Hall Hotel which we used a number of times during the week. We would certainly return to the Ruffside cottages, perhaps in the spring or summer months when we could really explore the area but even for a cosy, relaxing, winter retreat, the cottage is ideal . Would recommend you try it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We have stayed at the Ruffside Cottages three times over the last 3 years, last visit Oct 2012. The last two times were in Bracken End. They are the most beautifully modern cottages with very comfy beds. A play fort has been added to the outdoor play area which went down very well with our 8 and 9 yr olds (it's not on the picture). There is Wifi in the indoor play room and all the cottages have a Wii (take your own batteries incase they are running low in the cottage). I would highly recomend you visit here as most people who go end up going back, you only have to read the visitors book in the cottage to find that out.

Room Tip: Lots of different size cottages for you to choose from.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

I stayed here in Nov 2011 as part of a 10 person party , we had 2 cottages - The Heathers and Bracken end at the Ruffside site. What can I say , they were both amazing , spotless with all the mod cons you could wish for , bedrooms were stylish and comfortable , nice touch with the wooden beams and LCD tv , we even had an ensuite which was immaculate !
The games barn is really handy and plenty of space outside for relaxing / kicking a ball around etc and there are built in BBQ's (bit cold in Nov ! ). Surrounding area is beautifull and the cottages come with free passes to Slaley Hall about 1 mile away , swimming / sauna / gym etc all top class and free to guests of the cottages.Mark and Kate were really helpfull on site and couldn't do enough for you.
I'm going back with 12 of us in May bank holiday and I can not wait !! Keep up the good work !!!!!

Room Tip: Bracken End has a lovely en suite and living room window has a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dorking
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

Had never been to the north east before. Went summer of 2011, stayed in these cottages, they are huge and the cleanest we have ever experienced. All luxury and a great price too. Couldn't believe it, knew from the moment we got there how great the holiday was going to be. So many things to do and see. Scenery is amazing, a great part of the counrty. Lovely places to go and eat. Durham City beuatiful, hall hill farm great for kids, also some lovely towns in and around the area and all within decent driving distance. There is also a great games barn (beside the cottages) that has snooker, table football, air hockey, a wii (they're in the houses anyway) a free dvd and book library. A very spacious play area besdie the games barn as well so when the weather is good, a great place to reast and play for all. You are well looked after at these cottages and we cannot recommend it strongly enough. Staff are always around to help out as well, not that this was required much. Going back again later this year (2012). Can't wait.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to North Pennine Escapes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Pennine Escapes

Address: Summerfield Farm, Consett DH8 9BH, England (Formerly Hadrian and Derwent Country Escapes)
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Consett
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Consett
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer 10 recently renovated barn conversions split over two sites for self catering holidays. The cottages vary in size sleeping from 2 to 10 people and have fully equipped kitchens, flat screen TVs and wii consoles. Guests have use of leisure facilities at Slaley Hall. Each site has an outside play area and gamesbarn equipped with toys, games, DVD/book library and table games. All cottages rated 4-star gold by visit Britain. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
North Pennine Escapes Consett, United Kingdom

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage North Pennine Escapes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.