We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing Meal ;-( May 2013” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Punch Bowl Inn

The Punch Bowl Inn
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Punch Bowl Inn to your Saves list
The Punch Bowl Inn
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   Edmundbyers, Consett DH8 9NL, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 9 Consett B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Disappointing Meal ;-( May 2013”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Been to the punch bowl many times, as a couple & for large family gatherings & its also always been really really good. However my husband & I went there for a midweek evening meal & I'm afraid to say I could have done better at home very disappointing. We won't be going back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris B, Owner at The Punch Bowl Inn, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Very concerned to read of your disappointment. We take pride in trying to provide the best we can at all times but I find it really difficult to correct a problem after the guest has left without passing comment at the time. If comment had been made then I feel certain that we could have gone at least some way to make up for that disappointment.
Having visited 'many times before' and always having enjoyed those occasions I find it sad that we are not allowed any perceived mistake.
Again, if there is a problem, surely it is better to report it at the time so that we are at least given the opportunity to put it right.
I would hope that a one off disappointment should not be an indication of a no return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    18
    4
    3
    3
See reviews for
19
26
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
wirral
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here while cycling the c2c, which is well positioned for that route
Chris and moira can not help you enough
Dinner and breakfast where wonderful and the rooms are quiet and a good standard
Will stay again

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The pub was warm and welcoming and the food was good...however we were disappointed by the size of the portions. The pub favours a nouvelle cuisine approach to food which put too much emphasis on presentation rather than decent portions. After a day walking, we were very hungry and we came out of the pub thinking we could eat the same again.

We had the chicken korma which was very tasty followed by desert. The apple crumble was tiny and the cheesecake portion very small.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hexham
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

Don't go here whatever you do- it's getting far too popular and I don't want it to get too crowded.
Lovely to find a choice of vegetarian food- and so tasty too.
Mum was raving about her 6h pot roast beef practically melting under her knife as she cut it.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whickham Tyne and Wear
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

A lovely village with an even better one( Blanchland) nearby and close proximity to the Durham Dales and Hadrians Wall this pub is visited by our group in many different situations. Firstly the ale which is all local is always well kept,In summer there is a pleasant beer garden, the cakes and coffee surpass most cake and coffee shops, and the food is a good standard Couple these points with the proximity of Derwent Reservoir and this place is a winner WE have never stayed here as it is less than an hours drive from home but we have heard good reports

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

Well what can I say about the punch bowl It's a great place to stay, this is my second vist and it won't be my last the staff and management are so friendly and helpful, you are made so welcome you don't won't to leave. The food is of a high standard and is sourced locally and the portions sizes are good, they have at least 3 real ales on the go to plus the normal beers/lagers. But the warm welcome of the open fire is lovely after a long hike around the north pennines. So check the punch bowl about. JD

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

Me and my husband went for dinner here and when we walked in the staff were friendly and welcoming we sat down and looked at the menu and selected our meals . I liked the fact they had 2 soup options so we picked broccoli and Stilton which was lovely very filing but nice x we then got our main meals which were lovely too no fault at all . My husband had a HOMEMADE panacotta which was tasty but thought it was bought in as it was really thick and we have never had it this texture before so I was ?? That . Overall really nice and we will go back x

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Punch Bowl Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Punch Bowl Inn

Address: Edmundbyers, Consett DH8 9NL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Consett
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Consett
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Punch Bowl Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your The Punch Bowl Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Punch Bowl Inn Consett, United Kingdom

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Punch Bowl Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.