We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good atmosphere, friendly staff, nice beer & food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Royal Exchange

The Royal Exchange
Gloucester Road, Hartpury, Gloucester, England
+44 1452 700273
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 restaurants in Hartpury
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating, Scenic view
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: Country pub serving real ale, cider and perry. Home cooked, local, seasonal food. Large beer garden, terrace and covered deck with views over the Malverns.
UK
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good atmosphere, friendly staff, nice beer & food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Recently under new management with a nice refurb tidying it up but keeping the original features. Good traditional pub food all freshly made and from very local farms. Really nice beer on tap (HPA). Lovely garden with lots of space and nice views. Child friendly, very friendly staff and good service. Will be returning.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShellyChamberlayne77, Owner at The Royal Exchange, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Many thanks for the review you left on TripAdvisor. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your visit to us and hope that your next experience with us will be just as positive!
With kindest regards
Michelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    24
    19
    4
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We have visited this pub numerous times, and overall it has been a good experience. We have had food in the evening in the garden, with it's amazing views, and it was fabulous, though not much for a vegetarian on the menu, the staff were happy to amend items from the menu to suit.
We have also visited on a Sunday lunchtime when the pub has put on a BBQ option, and again the food was lovely.
The garden is lovely, a paved patio area with an amazing view, a large wooden 'gazebo' with fairy lights and heaters, and a large grassed garden with tables, with plenty of room for children. The garden in enclosed, with a gate, so children are kept away from the car park and main road.
The inside of the pub is newly decorated and clean.
The down side is that in the winter, young regulars take root around the bar, making it difficult to get served and the bar staff although friendly make no attempt to ask people to move away from the bar which is very off putting. There also seems to be a bit of an issue with staffing levels, on occasion as more than once we have been told, early evening, that the kitchen can't take any more orders, when last call for food is advertised as 9pm.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShellyChamberlayne77, Owner at The Royal Exchange, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Many thanks for the review you left on TripAdvisor and I am pleased that, on the whole, your experiences when visiting us have been positive ones.

We have recently updated our menu and there some more vegetarian options as well as always featuring vegetarian specials.

If dining with us, we do offer table service for drinks and if you have not been offered this, please do ask your server.

I was surprised to hear that you have been turned away for food although this could have been to do with space in the kitchen rather than staffing - our current kitchen for the size of establishment (including the outside area) is tiny! When busy, this makes it very difficult for the kitchen team. We are in the process of building an extension which will greatly enhance the size of our kitchen and should mean that you no longer get turned away for food. It should be ready December time.

We hope you visit us again soon and thank you for your feedback.

With kindest regards
Michelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hereford
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“great pub!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

excellent menu. great prices. very helpful staff and a lovely refurbishment!! brilliant for lunch :)

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShellyChamberlayne77, Owner at The Royal Exchange, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for the lovely feedback you left for us on TripAdvisor! We've just changed the lunch menu for the autumn so do visit us again and see what we may be able to tempt you with!
With kindest regards
Michelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Brilliant Lunch time venue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Experienced brilliant evening dinner here recently, so tried lunch time for a group of 9 friends. Fantastic service, staff smiles all round, excellent quality pub type lunch menu, beer battered cod delicious, even provided smoked salmon salad & chips which wasn't on the menu! Average main meal cost just £7...amazing value! Don't drive by, stop & enjoy the scenic views & the high quality of service & food.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShellyChamberlayne77, Owner at The Royal Exchange, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Many thanks for the feedback you left on TripAdvisor. We are very pleased that you have enjoyed your dining experiences with us. We have recently updated our daytime and evening menus so do visit us again and see what we can tempt you with! And instead of the scenic views, you can enjoy the roaring log fire (when it gets cold enough!)
With kindest regards
Michelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Fabulous food, shame about the loud, drunken locals”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

A large group of friends had a lovely meal here last night. The food was very good, tasty and reasonably priced. However, the service was slow and we were amazed that the bar staff continued to serve exceptionally loud, very drunk people. They were not aggressive drunks but the language was very colourful. Not the place for children.
The views are beautiful here and I would suggest coming to eat early to enjoy the views and food before the locals start to get too rowdy.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShellyChamberlayne77, Owner at The Royal Exchange, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Many thanks for the review you left on TripAdvisor. We were very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your meal with us although are disappointed to hear that the service was slow. we have de this back to our waiting team as it is below the high standard we would expect. we are in the process of building an extension at the pub which will extend the restaurant area and provide dedicated facilities for those dining with us. This should be ready in December.
We hope to see you again soon.
With kindest regards
Michelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Royal Exchange also viewed

Norton, Gloucester
Gloucester, Cotswolds
 
Gloucester, Cotswolds
Gloucester, Cotswolds
 

Been to The Royal Exchange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Royal Exchange, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.