We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, accomodation, service, breakfast, real ales, wines.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The King's Arms

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The King's Arms to your Saves list
The King's Arms
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   The Street, Didmarton GL9 1DT, England (Formerly Kings Arms Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Didmarton B&B and Inns
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good food, accomodation, service, breakfast, real ales, wines.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Broke our journey about halfway from North Shropshire to Dartmouth & stayed here for one night both going and returning home. The staff were very friendly and helpful & we really enjoyed both stays. The food was excellent at lunch, dinner & breakfast. The real ale was very good as was the wine list. We will use this Inn again.

Room Tip: We had a room in the outbuilding on our first stay and in the main building on our return. Both very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    20
    10
    9
    3
See reviews for
8
28
4
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
bath
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

The Kings Arms is what you would expect from a typical Cotswold pub with some atmosphere, the weather was sunny so many were eating in very pleasant gardens but we eat in the restaurant. A good range of real ales & reasonably priced wines, Sunday lunch menu offered locally sourced produce & was genuinely home cooked & the selection certainly suited the three of us. Presentation was excellent although vegetables were already served on plates, quantities may be on the small side for a ravenous teenager but for us oldies it was fine, we much prefer quality to quantity. Service was attentive & friendly.
Discretionary 10% service charge added to the bill, does this convey the right message for people who like to tip when service deserves recognition.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I was almost put off booking at the Kings Arms following some of the reviews I had read on TripAdvisor, but I'm so glad I gave it a go anyway. Yes, the décor is quite dark in the bar and restaurant; that's part of the charm. Yes, some of my roast potatoes were a little hard when we ate at 8.30 on Sunday evening, but the beef was cooked to perfection and the veg was varied and plentiful. I would recommend everything we ate, including the meat terrine to start and the chocolate brownie and ice cream. It's also worth mentioning that the advertised dinner time finished at approx. 8pm on a Sunday but we were still enjoying our meal and wine at 10pm without being rushed in the slightest. I was impressed by the service we received throughout our stay from everyone we encountered, which was friendly yet professional. As well as raving about the evening meal the breakfast was definitely worth getting up for, as some others have mentioned.

Our room (Haystack) was well presented, clean and tidy. It was a little dark in the morning but once we'd opened the blind we didn't have a problem.

The only reason I haven't given 5 stars is because of the few niggles I've mentioned, but none of these would stop me visiting again given the chance, and I would gladly recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Leamington Spa, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

My first ever negative review on Tripadvisor, bank holiday Monday and I had my concerns when we saw only about three tables occupied for lunch. Ordered rare roast beef with roast parsnips and vegetables, when it arrived it was the smallest two thin slices about 3 inch diameter of well done beef resting on a bought Yorkshire, hard re-heated roast potatoes, a teaspoon of gravy and rock hard vegetables. No Parsnips on plate and it was number two ingrediant. Gravy was brown tasteless water. Asked for it to be replaced as beef so well cooked and was supposed to be rare, pretty much got the same again back, the WORST Sunday roast I have ever been served, you would get better at Weatherspoons! And it cost over £14 !!!. Another member of our party (3) had roast pigeon with beetroot and red currant sauce, pigeon you could hardly cut, like tough liver, oh and no beet root and no red current sauce, served instead with the weak brown water that came with the beef. This place must be seriously going out of business's rapidly. Forget gastro pub ! We said on way out to each other we should have chosen fish and chips, but then saw a waitress brining some out, it looked terrible. NEVER again. One of the worst dining experiences ever.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Didmarton hotels

Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We have not visited since it has been taken over as it had started to go serriously down hill. First impressions on walking in were good. The decor and greeting were absolutely fine, couldn't really comment on the atmosphere as there were not many people eating, but it certainly appeared to be good.
The menu was very disappointing, not a particularly large selection, and almost pub grub! The food was served quickly and the staff were very nice.
They did however forget to bring the veg and had to wait forever for the potatoes, so they have a long way to go to impress, someone in the kitchen has caused the King’s head to loose our business!
As it was our first visit since being under new management it was a case of you don't get a second chance to make a first impression, so I would not be going again.Service is KING and I find there are lots of other places trying harder on the service element.

Whilst I did find the menu disappointing, the quality was OK but nothing special. Would I recommend it? Not really, there are better place to eat and it wasn’t cheap either. Shame really as it had potential!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitchurch
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

You could drive streight past this lovely Inn because it has such an understated image from the road. But don't pop into the car park, wander into the pub/restaurant which has undergone a huge redecoration in recent weeks. A delightful bar nicely higgley piggely style which is welcoming, then through to another beyond beyond which is a very elegant but informal style restaurant. Good range of beers and an excellent short wine list but you can splurge out by picking from the Cellar Choice. I did'nt. Menu reasonably priced and suitable for a bar snack or something more ambitious. We enjoyed a great starter of Sea Bream on a Crab/potato mash, a Risotto both delicious followed by a Rib Eye and a Sole with Aspargus. both lovely. New Chef Landlord Richard treated us to a tasting dish of desserts. Lovely Jubbley!

Popped over to see the new self catering cottages with comfy bedrooms, smart bathrooms and sitting rooms with small kitchens. Very Nice to use as a bae for sightseeing.

Good luck to the new team.

Room Tip: Need to decide if you are going to self cater or book the restaurnat although they will serve you di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

Myself and a work colleague stayed at the kings arms for 2 nights and were thoroughly impressed. The rooms were lovely, spotlessly clean and had great tea and coffee making facility's. the staff were all very helpful and friendly, the couple who I presume we're the owners were really nice people and couldn't do enough to help us. The food was excellent, lovely local produce cooked to a high standard with a great deal on Mondays where you can get 2 steaks and a bottle of wine for £25... The choice at breakfast was great and they even made me a sandwich to take away as I wasn't feeling hungry first thing. All in all great hotel in a lovely location I would Reccomend it to anyone for business or pleasure.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The King's Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The King's Arms

Address: The Street, Didmarton GL9 1DT, England (Formerly Kings Arms Inn)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Didmarton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Didmarton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The King's Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The King's Arms is a cosy country inn nestled deep within the stunning Cotswold countryside. Combining modern comfort with rustic elegance, each of our cottage-style bed and breakfast rooms have their own individual character. Named after the prize-winning hounds from the nearby Beaufort Hunt, each room includes sumptuous features such as king-size four poster beds, ivory sheepskin rugs and luxurious Feather and Black mattresses and duvets which altogether ensure a relaxing and comfortable night's slumber. Two spacious self-catering cottages are ideal for families and larger parties looking for their own private Cotswolds hideaway. Our restaurant is renowned for using the freshest locally sourced produce.Fresh daily specials are handwritten on the restaurant blackboard and are cleverly complimented with an imaginative selection of lighter snacks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The King's Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Arms Inn - Didmarton Hotel Didmarton
The King's Arms Didmarton, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The King's Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.