We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely helpful staff” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The King's Arms

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The King's Arms to your Saves list
The King's Arms
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   The Street, Didmarton GL9 1DT, England (Formerly Kings Arms Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Didmarton B&B and Inns
Bath, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lovely helpful staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

The first time I have been in since the refurb. Whilst the dark colour is not my cup of tea, it has been done to the highest standard (the ladies' loo in particular is a vast improvement).
The staff were extremely helpful, friendly and knowledgeable about the menu. The food has improved enormously and so, noticeably has the wine list!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sue p, General Manager at The King's Arms, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Your kind comments are so much appreciated,our new team are thrilled and very proud that all their hard work and dedication is rewarded with such a lovely review.
We do hope that you will come and visit us again very soon.
Warmest regards,
Steve,Sue and a very elated team!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    20
    10
    9
    3
See reviews for
8
28
4
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Somerset
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We had been at Westonbirt for an Easter Egg Hunt, and stopped here afterwards for lunch with our two year old and five year old. Food for adults was very good, my partner chose from the fixed priced lunch menu which was good value though I spent a bit more on the full menu. Drinks prices seemed normal for the area except the Prosecco which at £7 a glass seemed a little expensive. We had booked a table and requested a high chair which was waiting for us. The children's menu was good with quality ingredients, while they were waiting they were given some colouring-in sheets and crayons, and we asked for their food to arrive before ours which it did - all in all great food, great service in a warm and friendly Cotswold pub.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sue p, General Manager at The King's Arms, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Many thanks for your kind review,we strive at the Kings Arms to ensure that all our guests have an enjoyable visit ( even the little ones) our chefs buy locally sourced produce and pride themselves on an ever changing seasonal menu.
It is always delight to the whole team when we have a lovely review.
We look forward to welcoming you and your family again very soon.
Warmest regards,
Sue,Steve and all at the KA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kimbolton
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Having stayed here because my usual hotel in the area was full, I will definitely be returning for another stay.

The Kings Arms is a attractive country pub/inn in S Gloucestershire. It is a bit like a Tardis being much bigger on the inside than it appears from the road . Having arrived at the pub quite late the staff were very welcoming and layed on some bar snacks even though the kitchen had closed.

The bar has a good selection of real ales and the restaurant menue looked interesting. The rooms are full of character and quite unusual. There is no fridge in the room but the staff supply a little bottle of fresh milk on arival so that you can make tea and coffee

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sue p, General Manager at The King's Arms, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
We are so glad that you chose to stay with us at he Kings Arms and that you had an enjoyable stay,it is always a huge boost to all the team when all there hard work and dedication is recognised.
We do hope you will stay again when next in the area
Warmest regards
Steve,Sue and all the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

I stayed in the newly refurbished stable the night before my wedding with my mum and 3 bridesmaids. It was beautifully decorated and well equipped inside. It was a comfortable and an enjoyable stay. We ate in the restaurant on the evening and the food along with the service was brilliant. In the morning we went for breakfast which was to a very high standard...even though I couldn't eat much due to the nerves of my wedding day! The landlord/lady were extremely accommodating and saw to our every need.

I would definitely recommend this place!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sue p, General Manager at The King's Arms, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Many many thanks for your wonderful review,we were very honoured to be a small part of your big day and thrilled that you enjoyed your stay.
May we wish you and your husband all the very best for your future life together,and do hope you will come back and visit.
Kind regards,
Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Badminton
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

I would second the really nice, friendly, informed and efficient service that the two waitresses gave us from the start. This counts for a lot. Unfortunately there was an extremely loud and obnoxious table really near us in the restaurant - they were so loud we couldn't hear each other talk over even the short distance of our own table. We knew that to ask them to be quieter would cause more trouble than it's worth and it was obviously difficult for the staff too. The lack of soft furnishings and hard floor in the new decor probably does little to help damp the sound.

An honest appraisable of our meal would be that overall it was great but spoilt a little bit by lack of attention to detail. The bread we were offered at the start, rosemary focaccia, was stale - always a worrying start that seemed to sign a lack of awareness of food quality. But starters were good - smoked salmon, my wife's and my main course were outstanding and the chef accommodated a wish for mashed instead of the richer lyonnaise potatoes. The desert of chocolate brownies and ice cream was fantastic.

To escape the noise of the small main dinning area we sat near the great fire place in the main bar. There's a really nice ambience here in this room. Unfortunately they have a problem with the chimney draft and the whole room was covered in a thick smog of wood smoke, almost enough to make you cough.

I think the new paint is elegant in places, and there is a nice new meeting room upstairs which seems to be well light with a chandelier. I like the blackboard paint on the walls where the menus are written in chalk. But it is dark and there's no let-up from the pigeon grey throughout the whole building - all shade and no light.

So over-all everyone is trying hard and deserves more custom.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tetbury
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

My wife and i stopped at the Kings Arms tonight and the best part of the evening was the young girl from Monmouth behind the bar who was on her second day of employment,and worked really hard to make you feel welcome.
The pub has just been refurbished and they have got it horribly wrong whilst very clean far to dark could not even read the very limited menu, the food was very over priced, and the quality not that good fish and chips £11 plus and a small steak and chips £17.00 plus two drinks over £40.00. We won't be returning.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sue p, General Manager at The King's Arms, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
Our lovely new member of the team was very touched with your very kind comments,a huge boost in her first week!
We are dismayed that your experience at the Kings Arms did not meet your expectations,we strive to ensure that all our guests have an enjoyable visit and are sorry this was not the case in this instance.
We are thrilled with our beautifully refurbished pub and have been thrilled with the positive responses since opening which has also been the response to our food offering.
Warmest wishes,
Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Didmarton hotels

London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We had a very comfortable stay (2 x adults and 3 children). Dinner was good and breakfast was excellent. The Kings Arms is in a great location for exploring the rest of the Cotswolds. We will definitely return in the future.

Room Tip: The cottage is great for a large group
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The King's Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The King's Arms

Address: The Street, Didmarton GL9 1DT, England (Formerly Kings Arms Inn)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Didmarton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Didmarton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The King's Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The King's Arms is a cosy country inn nestled deep within the stunning Cotswold countryside. Combining modern comfort with rustic elegance, each of our cottage-style bed and breakfast rooms have their own individual character. Named after the prize-winning hounds from the nearby Beaufort Hunt, each room includes sumptuous features such as king-size four poster beds, ivory sheepskin rugs and luxurious Feather and Black mattresses and duvets which altogether ensure a relaxing and comfortable night's slumber. Two spacious self-catering cottages are ideal for families and larger parties looking for their own private Cotswolds hideaway. Our restaurant is renowned for using the freshest locally sourced produce.Fresh daily specials are handwritten on the restaurant blackboard and are cleverly complimented with an imaginative selection of lighter snacks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The King's Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Arms Inn - Didmarton Hotel Didmarton
The King's Arms Didmarton, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The King's Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.