We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent short stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Connemara Coast Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Connemara Coast Hotel to your Saves list
Connemara Coast Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Spiddal Road | Furbo, Furbo, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Furbo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dublin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent short stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

There for one night when visiting for Irish college met by very friendly and helpful reception staff.
Had been upgraded to lovely room with views of stunning coastline. Ate in bar that evening & had excellent breakfast next morning. Would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    111
    51
    25
    18
See reviews for
85
153
10
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

The Connemara Coast Hotel is truly charming! The setting near the water is lovely although the property is a bit out of town. The hotel is tastefully decorated and it has a very welcoming feel. Our room was very spacious and nicely appointed. Our one complaint about the room was that the in-room safe was not secured to the closet shelf. The hotel has a very nice pub on-site with excellent food. The breakfast buffet was limited (hot items were ordered from the menu). Overall, the service was first class.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

As part of our Royal Irish Manors Tour, we stayed at Connemara Coast Hotel for a terrific waterfront resort.
All the staff were extremely accommodating and friendly, and made our stay a treat.
We would highly recommend a stay here while visiting the Galway area

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
banbridge
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights mid April and what a wonderful hotel. Staff, location and food are second to none. However whilst our room was cosy, clean and comfortable it could do with some attention to detail to bring it in line with the very high standard of the communal areas of the hotel. Scenery unreal and the hotel is located in a very quiet area. Spotlessly clean and the leisure facilities and pool area are excellent. A laze in the hot tub overlooking the ocean is pure heaven. Hope to return soon.

Room Tip: Rooms on South Side are quieter but a good bit further away from reception/dining room/swimming pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Elmo
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

This is a really lovely hotel with a beautiful location and vista. Room was very comfortable and food in the pub was delicious. The only drawback, to anyone who has trouble with stairs, is that there are no elevators. i would definitely stay here, again.

Room Tip: Bring your own washcloths. Lovely view of Galway Bay ans especially convenient to Aran Islands Ferr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

We came here after a visit to Dublin, so it was nice to have the quiet location on the water. If you want to be in Galway., it's better to be in town. It was a good location for a day trip to Connemara. The common areas were very nice. Room was good,a little inconvenient to have to take luggage up a big set of stairs. Breakfast could use a little more variety.
We really enjoyed our meals in the pub, good food!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, Michigan
Top Contributor
235 reviews 235 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

My husband and I were on a tour of Ireland in April of 2014 and stayed at this hotel for two nights. We were in an executive suite room #325 which faced west and had a beautiful view of the sunset. The room was large and had a large window with a sitting area in front of the window facing west and we watched the sunset - just beautiful - we ordered room service and the Caesar salad is delicious - it has cherry tomatoes in it, bacon lardons, parmesan cheese and crutons - my husband had chicken breast Connemara style which was very good. The room had a coffee pot in it. This hotel has a swimming pool with lap lanes and an exercise room. My husband had a massage here which was quite relaxing. We ate two breakfast at this hotel and the food was good. One evening we ate dinner in the dining room and we both ordered Cod with lemon butter and it came with mixed vegetable and we had apple crumble for dessert. The food was delicious. The staff was courteous and helpful and every evening a staff member brings an information sheet to your room indicating the activities and temperature for the following day. This hotel is about 8 miles from downtown Galway.

Room Tip: a room facing west with an unobstructed view so you can watch the sunset
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Connemara Coast Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Connemara Coast Hotel

Address: Spiddal Road | Furbo, Furbo, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Furbo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Furbo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Connemara Coast Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Connemara Coast Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Connemara Coast
Connemara Coast Galway
Connemara Coast Hotel Ireland/Furbo, County Galway

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Connemara Coast Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.