We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Glenlo Abbey Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Glenlo Abbey Hotel to your Saves list
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bushypark | on the N59 to Clifden, Bushypark, Galway, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bushypark
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Killarney, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful Visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

This was a great hotel full of charm and nice people, not people being nice, but genuinely nice people. The restaurant is full of charecter and had a good variety. The Maitre d was very helpful even beyind the resturant.Galway is a good place to visit.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisAustinDublin, Manager at Glenlo Abbey Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Carl C,

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit to Glenlo Abbey. We are very lucky to have such a genuinely nice team here. The River Room is such a beautiful dining room be it for early morning breakkfast overlooking Lough Corrib and Maam in the distance or twilight dinner watching the lights on the Mayo shores twinkling. I will pass on your nice comments to our Maitre D' personally.

Kind regards

Chris Austin
Regional Operations Manager, Tifco Hotels Ltd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

703 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    435
    141
    68
    39
    20
See reviews for
103
381
12
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

My family stayed at Glenlo Abbey for two nights last week. The hotel's common areas are beautiful - the rooms are smaller, but very charming. But nothing could beat the amazing staff. Sandra and Maura were among the friendliest people we encountered during our trip. They took a lot of time talking with us about where to go, where to eat, what to see, and seemed to genuinely care about our experience. They were like having two best friends along with you for advice. I would return to Glenlo Abbey just to see them again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisAustinDublin, Manager at Glenlo Abbey Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Maryann M,

What a lovely review! I am delighted to hear that you and your family enjoyed your time here with us. I do know that Sandra and Maura would also be very happy to see you back again here in Glenlo!

Kind regards

Chris Austin
Regional Operations Manager, Tifco Hotels Ltd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful facilities! We enjoyed our stay here! Loved that locals frequent the bar here and didn't seem put out by tourists joining them! Maura was incredibly friendly and helpful as we checked in and received advice for activities in the area!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisAustinDublin, Manager at Glenlo Abbey Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Lynnae R,

We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay here with us and your time with some of our neighbours! The Oak Cellar Bar, been a 270 year old stone vaulted cellar lends itself to a most cosy and intimate ambience endearing it to both locals and visitors alike. I will pass on your kind words to Maura and the team.

Kind regards

Chris Austin
Regional operations Manager, Tifco Hotels Ltd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

One of the most amazing hotels I have stayed at. Customer service is amazing will definitely recommend it to anyone :) stayed there for a wedding... Beautiful arrangements amazing time with amazing staff

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisAustinDublin, Manager at Glenlo Abbey Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Shaleenjas,

Thank you for your lovely review! We are delighted that you enjoyed the wedding. Glenlo is such a unique venue for such a magical occasion given the historical nature of the house, the location and the grounds. A wedding in Glenlo is almost as much fun for the team here as it is for the guests as we do tend to get very much involved in the celebrations! From the moment we greet the bride and groom right through to the party post mortems the following morning at breakfast!

Thank you again for your kind words Shaleenjas!

Kind regards

Chris Austin
Regional Operations Manager, Tifco Hotels Ltd.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keysville, Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

My daughter and I recently stayed at Glenlo Abbey for two nights. What a charming and warm hotel! While the room had a few very minor faults, the service was incomparable. In the morning we were treated to a beautifully laid, complimentary coffee and tea service delivered to our room. One evening we attended a program by the delightful employee Maura on outstanding scenic drives. She gave us detailed maps, and her talk led us to beautiful out of the way places in Galway and saved us on driving time in traveling to our next destination in Ireland. She also offered valuable tips on driving, the local culture on Connemara, etc. She was a great speaker, remembered names so well, and was so professional, too.

After leaving, I realized that I had left a favorite sweater. I telephoned the hotel to inform them. The sweater was found and quickly mailed to me.

The views in the River Room are extraordinary. Everyone I met there agreed that Glenlo Abbey exuded old fashioned charm. This Irish Historic Hotel is ideally located very convenient to the city of Galway, but it is quiet and restful, and guests are treated so well and made to feel so comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisAustinDublin, Manager at Glenlo Abbey Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Margaretann218,

What a lovely review and thank you for your kind comments! We would agree that Glenlo is a most charming historic house. When passing through the door you cann't but think of those in whose footsteps you are walking in over the centuries who have also been welcomed to Glenlo. This makes for quite a warm and welcoming ambience setting the tone for your whole stay. I will pass on your nice words to Maura and the entire team whom I am sure will find them most encouraging.

Kind regards

Chris Austin
Group Operations Manager, Tifco Ltd.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

I just came back from a 6 night vacation in Ireland booked through Aer Lingus Vacation Store. Without a doubt, our two nights at Glenlo Abbey were the BEST! Yes, the beds were a little more comfortable at two of the other locations we stayed at, but the detail to attention and service at Glenlo were outstanding. It truly is the people who make you feel like royalty at the Glenlo Abbey! The grounds inside and out are storybook perfection. The woman at the front desk was so helpful and friendly - giving us directions and maps to get into and park in Galway, tips on shopping and dining, and booking a day trip for us to the Cliffs of Moher. The location is great for getting in and out of Galway. For a first time visitor to Ireland, the folks at Glenlo gave me an outstanding perspective on Irish hospitality. It was a wonderful experience staying at the Glenlo Abbey!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisAustinDublin, Manager at Glenlo Abbey Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Holly R,

Thank you so much for your lovely review which we were delighted to read! It is lovely to see that you considered us the best hotel of your trip. Our team here welcome guests as though they were welcoming you to their own home which makes for a very traditional Irish welcome and hospitable experience overall.

Again thank you for sharing your experience and we hope to welcome you back to Glenlo soon!

Kind regards

Chris Austin
Group Operations Manager, Tifco Hotels Ltd.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grapevine, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We spent two nights at Glenlo Abbey Hotel the beginning of April 2013, and this was by far the best hotel during our whole trip! The room was fabulous, and the whole place just made you feel like you were at home.

We was truly impressed with Maura. Loved her! Maura, and I believe the "porters" name was John were what helped make this the most memorable experience. Maura seemed to know everyone's name that was staying there, and gave the best customer service we have ever received at a hotel. She was always willing to spend time to help you figure out the best places to go, and make sure you had everything you needed. One morning she took the time to map out a wonderful route through Connemarra for us. We would highly recommend this as a must stay hotel if you are traveling to Ireland.

Thank you so much Maura and team, we can't say enough about how wonderful you helped make our stay in your hotel.

Terry and Daneen

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisAustinDublin, Manager at Glenlo Abbey Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear missy295,

Wow! What a wonderful review! We are delighted that you felt Glenlo Abbey was the best hotel you stayed in during your trip and that you flet at home with us. Thank you for your kind comments about John and Maura, they will be very happy to hear them.

Kind regards

Chris Austin
Group Operations Manager, Tifco Hotels Ltd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Glenlo Abbey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenlo Abbey Hotel

Address: Bushypark | on the N59 to Clifden, Bushypark, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway > Bushypark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bushypark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Glenlo Abbey Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Galways 5 star luxury Hotel is the ideal resort property for midweek or weekend breaks, weddings, family events, and corporate events. Just two miles/ 4 km from Galway city centre with ample parking and a 138 acre lake side golf estate. The unique 9 hole golf course is a par 72 parkland golf course with rolling hills, lakes and fabulous views of Lough Corrib. The ideal location for exploring Connemara and the West of Ireland - with superb dining options. The Oak Cellar Bar, situated in the main hotel is ideal for casual dining and it has a varied menu, lively atmosphere and cosy surroundings. The River Room Restaurant boasts elegant surroundings and old world charm. Breakfast is served here daily with view overlooking Lough Corrib and the estate. Three opulent and elegant reception rooms, the Ffrench Room, the Kentfield and the Reading Room where guests can enjoy a relaxing drink, our Abbey Signature Afternoon Tea, or take time out to relax and read the newspapers. The award winning Pullman Restaurant aboard the Orient Express in the estate grounds at the Glenlo Abbey Hotel offers a unique dining experience. Converted into a restaurant car maintaining its original character, these historic Pullman train carriages offer two dining rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Glenlo Abbey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenlo Abbey Bushypark
Hotel Glenlo Abbey
Glenlo Abbey Hotel County Galway, Ireland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glenlo Abbey Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.