We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Pub, nice location !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dog & Bear Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Dog & Bear Hotel to your Saves list
Dog & Bear Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Square, Lenham ME17 2PG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Lenham
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Leiston,Suffolk,UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good Pub, nice location !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stayed overnight, after my wifes' school reunion - The evening meal was very good and full English breakfast, first class. Very comfortable in a nicely appointed room. Staff very friendly and helpful, and beer excellent (Shepherd & Neame). The village itself is superb, really 'picture postcard' - especially the fine Church.
One very small fault - the Bathroom/Toilet door catch needs attention as it will not stay closed !
(Room 18)

Room Tip: Try to book a room away from the rear car park, as early departures tend to disturb !
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    57
    30
    3
    0
See reviews for
23
68
9
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Castleford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We stayed in the hotel for a friends wedding. It was an excellent location. The room was huge, there were four of us staying in it and there was a big double bed plus four single beds and still plenty of room for all of us to move around. The shower was good, warm and powerful enough. The floors of the room were uneven but thats what you'd expect from an old building and it didn't cause any problems. The breakfast was at a good time, there was a lot of choice and it was all very nice. You could hear the noice from the pub in our room but as we were staying out late it did not matter. Overall i would say this is an excellent hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed here for one night, friendly welcome, lovely clean spacious cosy room. Ate in the restaurant good pub meal. Breakfast was excellent. Only comment would be the waitress needs show a she can smile and interact with the customers a bit more ..So easy to reciify ... Thank you for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

It's not clear on arrival that the car park and reception are at the rear, so I marched into the pub case in hand, only to be redirected. I think this should be highlighted when the booking is made.
We had a superior room which had a very comfy super super kingsize bed which could have slept three ( but unfortunately just the two of us). The room also had 2 other beds in it so guess it was actually the family room. The bathroom was dark and windowless and the shower over the bath would be great for a child or midget, but I had to crouch under it to get my hair wet. Didn't try the restaurant but Breakfast good. Service from staff was very good in all departments.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We stayed two nights in room 14, which is a bit small and cramped and walls are thin. Plus point: room has blinds as well as curtains, which improves sleep quality on summer mornings.

Area for improvement:
Toilet seat totally unacceptable (too small and lid and seat won't stay up).
Would be great if directions for car-park are made clear when booking.
I would have shared this with staff if there would have been somebody available at check-out.

Breakfast was okay although our friends were told they were too late when they ordered cooked breakfast at 9.30 sharp.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Our stay in Dog & Bear hotel was as expected , nice friendly staff and helpfull .
English breakfast , ok.
Clean rooms , bar with locals amusing and friendly , restaurant was a little poor .
The country side as we wished !

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Interesting village - pretty yet unspoilt. Lovely hotel with very efficient young woman who booked us in and seemed to be everywhere all at once, ensuring our stay was a success. Waiting staff were pleasant. Comfortable room with lots of old world charm. Good food. Highly recommended. Excellent stopping off point on way to or from Eurotunnel.

Room Tip: Ask to go into the main part of the hotel if you like old world charm rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dog & Bear Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dog & Bear Hotel

Address: The Square, Lenham ME17 2PG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Lenham
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Lenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Dog & Bear Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Dog & Bear Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dog And Bear Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dog & Bear Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.