We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh What a night!!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Chilston Park Hotel

Save Saved
You added Chilston Park Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chilston Park Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Boughton Lane | Sandway, Lenham ME17 2BE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Lenham
Ashford, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Oh What a night!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

Having booked an overnight stay for a firends wedding reception we looked forward to our stay. How wrong can one get it! The weather had not been kind and storms had bought power lines down causing the hotel to put in 2 large generators running 24/7 right outside our room - of which we had no warning despite checking in at a quiet time. We only discovered they were still running after the reception ended at approx 2am!!! Still after a sleepless ight we looked forward to a good hearty breakfast - to be honest I have had better quality and service at Bed & Breakfast establishments for less £. Would I go again? NO

Room Tip: If you are staying make sure you have one of the larger rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    223
    117
    67
    47
    15
See reviews for
72
253
4
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

Along with 17 other members of our group we had a most enjoyable pre-Christmas lunch in the Green Room on 7th December. The table was attractively decorated and there were place names with coded dots so that the charming young man who looked after us, knew exactly what each person had ordered (excellent idea). Beforehand we enjoyed a glass of mulled wine in the reception area. The food was mouthwateringly good and the presentation excellent. The bread rolls need a special mention as they were so deliciously light. This was a return visit for us and we were once again delighted with the quality, service and cost.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

Because I am American (my husband is British) many of our guests would come from abroad so we knew we needed a wedding venue that could accommodate all of our guests for a couple of days- there needed to be things to do in the area, good food, good atmosphere and flexibility (all for the right price). We were so lucky to find Chilston Park. From the beginning, they were incredible accommodating for all of my off-the-wall wedding ideas and needs. We arrived early on a Wednesday morning with all of our guests and had clay pigeon shoot, bouquet making and lunch, in the evening we had a dress rehearsal and a thanksgiving themed dress rehearsal dinner. The staff were so accommodating to our needs and the guests, the Chef developed a menu that fit in with the Thanksgiving theme (which all of the Americans really appreciated).

The staff helped us put 'welcome packs' in all the hotel rooms, read through my 17 page manual on how we would be decorating every room and were just overall stars. On the day of the wedding the staff helped the wedding party decorate, they helped organise all of the vendors (and called some to make sure they arrived) and took care of their needs (and took down all of our decorations, and put them all in one location for us for the next day- this was no small feat, it took 20 people to organise all of our decorations which included chairs, mirrors and roman busts). There is no way we would have been able to go off on our honeymoon the next day without the operations team at Chilston.

All of our guests keep commenting on how delicious the food was and how perfect it was for a wedding (we had canapés, the lamb for the breakfast, a buffet for the evening and midnight baps). The bar was brilliant- no one went thirsty, to say the least. We heard the bar staff had to work until the early hours of the morning for some of our guests. The next day the hotel made sure to include a wake up call for all our guests who arrived for a final breakfast all together. We could not ask for anything more.

Because we had rented out Chilston exclusive, it was so nice to have everyone under one roof. Our guests came from long and far to come to our wedding, from all over England, Cardiff, Edinburgh, New York, Chicago, LA, Abu Dhabi and Sydney- so we wanted to make sure that they all got a exceptional English experience- Chilston accomplished just that. We've had many comments from family and friends that those couple days at Chilston were some of the best days of their lives. We would like to thank Tracey and Becky and all of the staff at Chilston for holding such a memorable, out-of-this-world, beautiful, once in a lifetime event for us. We know we were a tough crowd with all of our decorating expectations and having 100 people arrive from all over the world to a manor house in Kent- but we appreciate everything so much, we will never forget it and either will our guests.

Room Tip: All of the rooms were exceptional. Many guests commented on how big and amazing their room was.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentisbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011

our experience was magnificent ,we thoughly enjoyed our our stay and so did our guests. we were taken care off from the time myself and my daughter arrived on the day before her wedding. it was a fantastic day the food was exceptional and the staff went out of thier way to make the day wonderful which it was. the are very friendly and a credit to the hotel.

Room Tip: the cromwell suite is lovely we would recommend it for a family, very spacious and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChilstonParkHotel, General Manager at Chilston Park Hotel, responded to this review, December 8, 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your time and trouble to post a review on tripadvisor. Thank you for the ratings. I am very pleased that we were able to play a small part in making the Wedding day of your daugther special. Thank you also for your compliments about the food. Please be assured that I will share your comments with the team.
Best regards.
Peter Zielke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2011

We attended a game gourmet evening here with wine pairings for each course. The location and setting of the hotel is excellent. The surrounding grounds are extensive. The food, from the evening meal to the breakfast the following morning were excellent.
The staff were very professional and attentive without being invasive and all knew the history of the building.The whole ambience of the hotel was wonderful, and this has to be because of the staff.
The room was beautifully appointed, comfortable and clean.
This was our first time staying with this group, and we will definately return to this hotel as well as trying the others.
Well done to the team and group, keep up these standards.

Room Tip: Either the main building or the converted out buildings are wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rainham, null, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

I can not say how much we enjoyed our stay, it was fantastic. From the moment we arrived to the point of checking out we were very well taken care of.
The evening meal (particularly the pheasant), breakfast, and service were exceptional, and in particular from a member of staff under training.
The regency room was outstanding, very large and with magnificent view of the grounds, superb furnishings and 4 poster bed. Would and certainly will recommend this hotel to anyone desiring a memorable stay in a beautiful period property with excellent customer care.

Room Tip: The 'Regency' room ticked all the boxes
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChilstonParkHotel, General Manager at Chilston Park Hotel, responded to this review, December 8, 2011
Dear Guest,
thank you for your review. Getting an "exceptional" is of course great and I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for recommending the Chilston Park Hotel.
I hope we will have the pleasure welcoming you back soon.
Best wishes,
Peter Zielke
Geenral Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

Stayed overnight at the Chilston and we were very impressed by the locality: a beautiful old manor house in extensive grounds with the appealing atmosphere of a National Trust property which is not. We were attending a wedding and whilst the wedding breakfast could not be faulted, we felt that the staff needed some training in basics: Barman throwing the empty bottles in the bin causing a clatter that disturbed the people's conversation. A tray of sandwiches served without side plates and napkins, coffee and tea served without sugar bowl, Breakfast was of a rather average standard for a 4 star hotel. Bathroom obviously designed by an interior decorator an not by an hotel professional. Overall a lovely place to spend a quiet weekend away from the hassle of life.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chilston Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chilston Park Hotel

Address: Boughton Lane | Sandway, Lenham ME17 2BE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Lenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Lenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chilston Park Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grade 1 listed Chilston Park offers one of the most exclusive hotels in Kent. Set back from tree-lined lanes, the manor house at Chilston Park Hotel in Kent is set in 22 acres of parkland and features a two AA rosette restaurant. One of the most best loved hotels in Kent, over the years Chilston Park has been a home to eminent politicians, writers, Lords and Viscounts. Today it is a classic British country house hotel with plenty of style and charm and one of the most perfect wedding or leisure destinations in Kent. But perhaps the most remarkable aspect of this 4 AA red star hotels in Kent are the antiques and history that surround it. The hotel has many interesting artefacts that date as far back as the 17th century manor house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Chilston Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chilston Park Maidstone
Hotel Chilston Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chilston Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.