We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express, Ramsgate - Minster

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express, Ramsgate - Minster to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express, Ramsgate - Minster
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Tothill Street, Minster, Ramsgate CT12 4AU, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Minster
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Stayed one night,booked on net,only paid£54 .very clean friendly staff,only a buffet breakfast but good enough for price,wouldn't want to pay full price.good location for travelling round Kent coastal areas

Room Tip: Sorry ,no pool or fitness centre,couldn't cancel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMKIA, Manager at Holiday Inn Express, Ramsgate - Minster, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave feed back.
I will share this with the team
D Otteson GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    138
    65
    17
    18
See reviews for
83
138
16
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Cookie081
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

This was our second visit to the hotel which is very typical of the Holiday Inn Express brand, very clean and comfortable rooms and very helpful staff.
I guess my real complaint about Holiday Inn Express' is why the Housekeeping staff don't check that everything is in working order after each guest checks out - the manager had to try and get the air conditioning working by using a swipe card as the switch was broken (I used a pair of scissors) and even then it wasn't that satisfactory and the hair dryer didn't work either although we were able to borrow one from Reception.
The breakfast bar was well supplied during our stay but who decided that sausages were a better option than bacon?
The real plus point is that there is now a restaurant over the road and the 'Golden Arches' too!

Room Tip: If you want a room for 3 people always telephone direct to ICH Group as often they have rooms not ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMKIA, Manager at Holiday Inn Express, Ramsgate - Minster, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave feed back. I'm sorry we do not serve bacon.
I will share this with the team
D Otteson GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I stayed here on 31st August as a place to sleep after a friend's birthday party, so it really was just a place to rest my head. That said, I did spend a few hours in the room before the party.

Apart from a rather stained carpet, the room seemed clean and I was pleasantly surprised at its size. The bed was comfy and the labelled 'soft' and 'hard' pillows was a nice touch. The staff I spoke to were helpful.

A few minor details let things down, though, and prevented me from awarding 4 stars. Even if the breakfast is 'free' (included, surely?), the omission of bacon in a cooked breakfast is unforgiveable! While the scrambled eggs, sausages and beans were nice enough, the lack of bacon meant that the cooked breakfast I had been looking forward to was a disappointment.

To me, the other unforgiveable omission was the lack of Radio 4 among the Radio channels! Radio 1-3 were all there, so why not 4?

It may seem picky, but attenion to details like that makes all he difference!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMKIA, Manager at Holiday Inn Express, Ramsgate - Minster, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave feed back.
I will share this with the team
D Otteson GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B.O.Sea
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed at the Holiday Inn May 2013 on our way to Italy,ideal for a nights stopover as we were catching the ferry at Dover the next morning to Calais which was about 20 minutes drive away.The hotel room was very clean which was on the ground floor,there is a road near the hotel but could not hear it.The evening meal was good,breakfast was o`k plentiful,did lack bacon but the bangers were o`k good variety cereals toast jams.Overall we enjoyed our stay

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMKIA, Manager at Holiday Inn Express, Ramsgate - Minster, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for leaving this kind review. I will share it with the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Asked for a non-smoking room. As soon as I left the lift was hit by a strong unpleasant smell of stale cigarette smoke, which only intensified on entering the corridor to my room, hence the smoke had penetrated the room when the door opened and closed. A non smoking room policy is impossible to maintain with this regime.

Breakfast - Cutlery found to be dirty at breakfast – I also observed the tables being cleared and ‘cleaned’ by using a used serviette left by a vacating guest. There were no pleasantries exchanged by the waiting on staff. There was obviously an issue with replenishing the bread, egg etc. containers. People were left standing whilst it took unacceptable lengths of time to replenish them.

Bedroom very noisy - Constant loud revving noise day and night from unknown source – mentioned this at Reception and was told it could be an air conditioning unit from an adjacent room – no effort put into actually finding out what caused the noise – didn’t care at all attitude. I could not open the window during the night due to the high volume of noise from the heavy constant traffic.

Would never stay here again. There is a lovely Premier Inn over the road.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMKIA, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express, Ramsgate - Minster, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. we are currently phasing out all smoking rooms in the hotel.
David Otteson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Having children with us, we loved the 'magic' security chain you could put on the bedroom door.
The free ice machine in the lobby was a nice touch, and the scrambled eggs at breakfast were cooked to perfection. While they don't do a evening meal, there is a nice restaurant next door, and a McDonald's with children's play park opposite. The location was the only reason I didn't give an excellent score overall, but after saying that I would definitely stay here again if I was in this area and could get it at the same rate.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMKIA, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express, Ramsgate - Minster, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review
We will share this with all the team.
D Otteson GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed one night Friday 16 August 2013 to visit relatives in the area. Thought everything about the hotel was very pleasant. The inclusive 'continental breakfast' was brilliant. There was fruit, toast, lovely little danish pastries (and probably croissants - which I dislike), cereal, yogurts and scrambled egg, beans and sausages, as well as tea and coffee. We had two rooms which were close together and very quiet.

We normally stay at Premier Inns but will definitely consider Holiday Inn Express's in the future.

Room Tip: We were on the front near the road, but with the window shut and the air conditioning on, could not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMKIA, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express, Ramsgate - Minster, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review
We will share this with all the team.
D Otteson GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express, Ramsgate - Minster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express, Ramsgate - Minster

Address: Tothill Street, Minster, Ramsgate CT12 4AU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Isle of Thanet > Ramsgate > Minster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Minster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express, Ramsgate - Minster 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
East Kent's Award winning Hotel. Serving Thanet with 105 contemporary en-suite bedrooms, 3 conference suites and Bar and Restaurant. Located on the site of the Prospect Inn featured in many WWII films. The Place to "Meet, Eat and Sleep" in 2011. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, IHG, BookIt.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express, Ramsgate - Minster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express, Ramsgate - Minster Hotel Ramsgate
Holiday Inn Ramsgate
Ramsgate Holiday Inn Express

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express, Ramsgate - Minster, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.