We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel with good breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express, Ramsgate - Minster

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express, Ramsgate - Minster to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express, Ramsgate - Minster
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Tothill Street, Minster, Ramsgate CT12 4AU, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Minster
Redruth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Very good hotel with good breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Stayed here for 6 nights and of all the Holiday Inn (1) and Expresses (4) we stayed in on our holiday, this was the best one. We had a nice large quiet room, plenty of shelving and they had a really useful luggage trolley so we could bring in all our luggage at one go which was a really good start. The hotel must be complimented on their breakfast which we found out is sourced locally and with pride and care. Good chef as the cooked breakfast was excellent as was the toast and this definitely exceeded the others, or any other, we have stayed in, so well done. You can tell that the manager/duty manager runs a good team well...it shows. Staff very friendly and helpful, especially Laura the receptionist.Also, on the day of the air show there, with all roads blocked for miles around she walked 8 miles from home to get to work....that's dedication!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMKIA, Manager at Holiday Inn Express, Ramsgate - Minster, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thank you for your feed back. I will share this with all the team.
David Otteson
Gen Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    138
    65
    17
    18
See reviews for
83
138
16
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
watford
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

The holiday inn express is not a hotel but a first class motel which is ideal for an overnight stop. What more can you want? Secure parking, clean room, friendly and helpful staff, and all this for £40. Unexpectedly we had a very pleasant buffet breakfast with fresh produce included in the price. We will certainly use them again for an overnight stop.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMKIA, Manager at Holiday Inn Express, Ramsgate - Minster, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave feed back.
We look forward to seeing you again.
David Otteson
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

For £52 a night for a family room with breakfast, in a modern and very clean room! We have stayed here now about 6 times and all in all for the price we could not do better in this area!

The place inside is more appealing than the outside, but if they spent a bit of time and effort on external appearances it would be time well spent! Limited car parking to the front mainly due to the poor parking of other guests, who seem to want to take up two spaces; in addition there is plenty of blue badge parking which are widely used by guests with no blue badges! Larger car park to the rear which is in danger of being overrun by the bushes and trees.....bit of grounds maintenance needed please!

Breakfast was adequate as there was issues do the local water main breaking, resulting in the waterboard switching the supply off in the early morning, resulting in no water in the morning to wash etc.....not the end of the world, though annoying we asked directions to a local sports centre where we were able to shower etc. On return to the Hotel later, there were two particular very unhappy couples berating the reception staff over the lack of water and blaming them for all the ill's in the World! Though the lack of water was totally out of the control of the Hotel, these people would not leave it and why they think that they can talk to people like that is beyond me......it was embarrassing; I would have liked to have seen them react in a proper emergency!

Having stayed here a few times the rooms to the rear are quieter and avoid the rooms near the entrance. Other than that for the money you should have a good stay here!

Room Tip: Not near the main entrance way
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMKIA, Manager at Holiday Inn Express, Ramsgate - Minster, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give feed back. This has been shared with all the team who appreciate your comments.
D Otteson Gen Mgr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 1 night before we got our ferry the next day
Clean and tidy place ,room was clean and bed was comfy
Staff were very attentive and guided us to the town centre
Didn't stay for breakfast as we had to leave early so we went to McDonald's

Shopping centre not far away with a variety of shops to cater for all needs and restraunts and fast food eateries

Recomend the spitfire museum a short drive away

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMKIA, Manager at Holiday Inn Express, Ramsgate - Minster, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give feed back. We appreciate your comments and look forward to seeing you again.
D Otteson Gen Mgr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Busier than we expected on a Sunday night the room was standard "...Lodge" type layout with few bonuses save for the choice of firm or soft pillow, as there were two of us we had to decide who had which.
Bathroom clean and adequate with plenty of towels but only a shower (no tub). I like the clever door design which separates the WC from the rest of the bathroom.
Breakfast plentiful and fresh with good selection toast, pastries, cereals, fruit, jams, sausages and scrambled eggs, tea/coffee, juices etc all from machine but all perfectly as b/fast is described as 'complimentary' and certainly better than you get at other motel-type establishments of similar price.
Handy for Manston airport - you can see the planes land as you take breakfast - Canterbury, Sandwich and the Thanet seaside - overall very pleased at £49 for two!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMKIA, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express, Ramsgate - Minster, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night on a Saturday for a family wedding. Can not fault our stay, friendly welcome clean rooms with hair & shower jel in bathroom as well as tea & coffee . Paid £5 for a top film & paid on check out. Complimentary breakfast is a perfect & a good choice of sausages beans scrambled eggs, fruit, toast , warm crossiants , yogurts , & cereals all you need to set you up for the day ahead. What's great about this place is we are allowed to bring our small dog for £15 .

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMKIA, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express, Ramsgate - Minster, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
We look forward to seeing you again. Thank you very much for taking the time to leave feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel several times on business and although it looks a bit shabby on the outside it is clean and tidy on the inside and the staff are friendly and helpful. If you book a few weeks in advance the price is usually good value but it is used by coach tours so does get booked up. The location is good for visiting the area around Kent. I have only had breakfast at the hotel which is the usual HI Express affair but there is a Table Table across the road which is OK. Overall this is a pretty typical HI Express clean, tidy and reasonably good value for money and really deserves 7/10.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMKIA, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express, Ramsgate - Minster, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express, Ramsgate - Minster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express, Ramsgate - Minster

Address: Tothill Street, Minster, Ramsgate CT12 4AU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Isle of Thanet > Ramsgate > Minster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Minster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express, Ramsgate - Minster 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
East Kent's Award winning Hotel. Serving Thanet with 105 contemporary en-suite bedrooms, 3 conference suites and Bar and Restaurant. Located on the site of the Prospect Inn featured in many WWII films. The Place to "Meet, Eat and Sleep" in 2011. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, IHG, BookIt.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express, Ramsgate - Minster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express, Ramsgate - Minster Hotel Ramsgate
Holiday Inn Ramsgate
Ramsgate Holiday Inn Express

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express, Ramsgate - Minster, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.