We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Terrible” 1 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Appleby Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Appleby Park Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Appleby Park Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   M42/Junction 11 - A444, Atherstone Road, Appleby Magna DE12 7AP, England (Formerly Aspect Hotel Tamworth)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 50% off stays!
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Appleby Magna
Skegness, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Absolutely Terrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

We stayed here on a return journey and everything was too much trouble, from getting checked in to getting a drink in the bar.
The hallway carpet to the room was horrible, it looked like it had black tar marks on it.
The room was small, the carpet was horrible, it was covered in white stains (I dread to think) and red stains (again I dread to think), the bed was so soft it had severe 'roll together'.
The bathroom had holes in the door frame.

The only reason we stayed was because we were so tired after a late flight, we would have been far better coming home, it was money wasted.
The only reason I have given it 1 star is because I am not allowed to give it less!!

Room Tip: Is there such a thing as a good room in the 'hotel'
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Applebypark, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Appleby Park Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Thank you for taking time to write a review about our hotel. It is with deep regret to receive your comments regarding your recent stay. I am surprised about your comments regarding our team members as the feedback we always get is how accommodating they usually are. We are planning for the corridors to have new carpets fitted sometime this year as some of these are marked in some areas due to footfall and wear and tear but these are regularly cleaned along with our bedroom carpets. Unfortunately I am not able to comment about the holes in woodwork or markings in your bedroom carpet as there is no record of this and all our rooms are inspected after any departure by a dedicated team. We do encourage all our guests to report any issues to our Duty Manager during their stay so we are able resolve these in an instant, unfortunately I presume you did not do this as there is no record of this on site. I am sorry that you felt the hotel was not to the standards we aspire too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    93
    65
    19
    14
See reviews for
61
61
16
53
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Fleet, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

We chose this hotel based on the location (close to relatives) and earlier reviews. We were not disappointed.

The room was clean, the bed comfortable and despite being close to the M42, it was not noisy. We slept well.

This is a 3 star hotel so the selection of toiletries and the breakfast buffet was adequate rather than luxurious. That said, everything we needed was provided and the service was superb. The cooked breakfast was ample and delicious and when I mentioned that the coffee wasn't very warm, I was immediately offered and brought a delicious fresh cup.

I will definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deborah M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Appleby Park Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thank you for your kind comments and wonderful review. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay here at BEST WESTERN Appleby Park Hotel. We do pride ourselves with our cleanliness standards and our experienced team members are an asset to the hotel. We are always striving to achieve the highest customer satisfaction. We do hope to welcome you back to the hotel when you are next in the area visiting friends and family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwent
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

Wanted somewhere to stay overnight whilst visiting friends it was either this one or Travelodge on junction 10, so glad we picked this one. Paid £47.50 bed & breakfast bargain. Check-in was quick and efficient, ate in the restaurant immediately as they were stop serving, whilst waiting for food to arrive took cases to room but of a walk to say the least room of a good standard clean, tidy and good amenities bathroom consisted of wash basin toilet and shower, tea/coffee facilities available, flat screen tv and free WiFi the only thing that let this hotel down was the bed and pillows it was more comfortable sleeping with feet towards headboard. Anyway back to the restaurant ordered starter (sharing platter), I had the pork, blacklisting with mash potatoes with peppercorn sauce (quite hot), wife had beef in red wine it came like two pieces of steak and they exchanged the mash for chips food dwell presented fresh looking and tasted superb and really good value all this food and two drinks for less than £40 unbelievable. Breakfast up to the standard of the previous evenings meal choice of juices, cereals, toast and cooked breakfast. Staff friendly, polite all areas of hotel spotless and clean, will definitely stay in this hotel again when in the area, you would have got 5* apart from the bed. Excellent location right on junction 11 of M42.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Abbot UK
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile

Booked through Expedia for a reasonable rate. No way of requesting an accessible room and emailed hotel twice to request one but got no reply so rang up in the end. Well appointed room with good facilities and walk in shower. Had a meal in reception area cum restaurant,reasonable meal with staff coping well with the drunk at the bar. Quiet night's sleep considering it is close to the main road. Breakfast was ok. Quite a good choice but asked for fresh eggs as those on the hot plate were a bit tired. No problem. Mandarin oranges and prunes as fruit choices were a bit odd. Choice of 6 pre packed cereals .....good times....... 4 of the 6 choices out of date on the packs ......bad times. Anyway apart from that it was good value and would stay again.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Appleby Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Appleby Park Hotel

Address: M42/Junction 11 - A444, Atherstone Road, Appleby Magna DE12 7AP, England (Formerly Aspect Hotel Tamworth)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Appleby Magna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Appleby Magna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Appleby Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Appleby Park Hotel, just off Junction 11 of the M42 is perfectly located on the outskirts of Tamworth, midway between Birmingham and Nottingham, and 10 miles/14km from Drayton Manor. The NEC is just 14 miles away.Do business with a choice of 5 flexible meeting rooms with all the latest equipment and complimentary wireless internet access and free parking.The Appleby Park Hotel is located amongst some of the best fun filled attractions in the country including Drayton Manor Theme Park, Twycross Zoo and Conkers. Family and interconnecting rooms are available making us the ideal choice for your family break.Relaxed and informal, The Park Restaurant offers tempting dishes cooked to perfection with light meals and snacks served in the lounge bar throughout the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Appleby Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Tamworth
Tamworth Ramada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Appleby Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.