We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“warm and welcoming” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Barnfields Cafe

Barnfields Cafe
Stocks Green, Castle Acre, King's Lynn, England
+44 1760 755577
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“warm and welcoming”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We stopped off on a longer trip to walk around the Castle and a little of the village. This cafe is on a beautiful little street above the castle gate. It has a small shop for local foods, and a welcoming cafe with pine furniture, yellow walls, and a real wood fire. We had sandwiches, soup and a cheese and leek tart, all homemade, reasonably priced and filling. We'll be back again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    11
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great little café!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We went for a walk around the castle, and ended up in the café for a quick cup of tea, and something to warm us up - We ordered the chips and a cup of 'Winter Tea' as well as scones. Firstly, the winter tea was delicious - it really warmed us up on an otherwise horrible day! The chips were the best chips I've ever had - crispy on the outside and soft on the inside - perfection. The scones were also delicious, served with butter and jam. The staff were very pleasant, and helpful. Overall, a lovely little village café - well worth a visit if you're going through!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Proper tea”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Good breakfast and a pot of proper tea (and hot water too - it's amazing the amount of places that won't do this anymore!). More toast than we could possibly eat and some amazing looking cakes (we didn't try these though). Staff very pleasant and very reasonable price.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent coffee and cake, service soso”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Castle Acre is one of our regular stops when out on Sundays and the coffee and cake at Barnfields Cafe is always very good.

However, this is somewhat let down by the service. Often on a Sunday morning we are told that they are way too busy with just a few people in the cafe. Yesterday we ordered take-away coffee instead and sat outside. Disappointingly, the staff said that we could only have pre-packed cake; I said we wanted to have their fresh cake and eventually got this although we could only choose from 2 (of their wide selection). The choc brownie we had was absolutely delicious but we clearly heard the manager moan about the amount of people in the shop (all 5 of us!).

With a 21st century service upgrade this would be a 5 star cafe.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

My partner and I on a visit to Castle Acre popped in here for a quick cuppa! What a nice experience! Very friendly and pleasant staff, lovely clean bright surroundings and lovely coffee and pastries!
Avery nice and inexpensive break!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barnfields Cafe also viewed

Castle Acre, King's Lynn
King's Lynn, Norfolk
 
Castle Acre, King's Lynn
King's Lynn, Norfolk
 

Been to Barnfields Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barnfields Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.