We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish I hadn't gone back” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Ostrich Inn

The Ostrich Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Ostrich Inn to your Saves list
The Ostrich Inn
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   Stock Green, Castle Acre, King's Lynn PE32 2AE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 7 Castle Acre B&B and Inns
Banbury, Oxon
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Wish I hadn't gone back”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Having had a lovely stay in this hotel back in July, my husband and I returned for a meal at the end of October. It was a disaster. The restaurant was freezing cold, no heating and no fire lit. We had to ask for a new lightbulb to be fitted so we could read our menus. The specials board was not updated until after we had ordered. The food was edible at best (my husbands) , though mine was not - edible that is. What a disappointment !!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    19
    7
    15
    11
See reviews for
15
27
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
King's Lynn
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Called in here for lunch recently with my family at the start of a celebration weekend. We had a light lunch (sandwiches, antipasti and chips) but were very impressed with the service and the quality of the food served to us. Will return!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We stayed Sunday 26th August. After a disastrous stay at the Ffolkes Arms the previous night we booked two rooms and lunch for nine people at very short notice. The rooms were comfy, clean and cosy. Everone had a very good nights sleep. Just watch out for the low beams! It is an old building. We had the sunday lunch and it was excellent, good food and a good wine list. The Full English Breakfast was very good, but the service was a bit disorganised. Nothing to stop us recomending it very highly. Well done to all there.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincoln
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Although we enjoyed a good quality meal here we were really disappointed with the experience as a large table of diners arrived late and with too many for the table and were so very rude to other diners standing over the tables and complaining. The staff should really have moved them on but I expect the revenue from such a big booking stopped them from doing so.

Room Tip: only ate in restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich UK
Top Contributor
312 reviews 312 reviews
100 hotel reviews
Reviews in 224 cities Reviews in 224 cities
222 helpful votes 222 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Pleased to note the Ostrich has kept its character and feels friendly and welcoming - and offers a very decent menu catering for most tastes for lunch mid week - promptly served - and a good wine list and range of beers to choose from. If pressed to criticise, my pan-fried sea bass, though fresh, was a touch over done, and the accompanying crushed new potatoes with herbs and mint (?) pesto did make for a rather dry meal and some light lemony sauce or similar would have been a nice addition. I'd look forward to returning and trying out other dishes; they do have a large number of covers so I hope they can maintain the standards when it's a lot busier.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little snoring
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

We regularly drive 20 minutes to drink here, as it's one of the few proper pubs in the area.

The beer and wine are excellent, and they sell peanuts in a paper bag filled from a jar! Like being a child again (the nuts, not the beer.

We haven't eaten here, so I can't comment on the food, but the fish and chips I saw last night looked good.

Customers tend to be a mix of tourists and locals, and the pub seems well involved in local community activities.

Castle Acre is a beautiful village, perfect for a stroll before or after a couple of pints.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury, Oxon
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Charming staff, lovely food and a comfortable bed. Perfect ! The wallpaper in the bar is to die for, where did they get it !! We left fairly early as we had to pick up our car, but I would be delighted to stay there again

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ostrich Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ostrich Inn

Address: Stock Green, Castle Acre, King's Lynn PE32 2AE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > King's Lynn > Castle Acre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Castle Acre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ostrich Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere and Tingo so you can book your The Ostrich Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ostrich Hotel King`s Lynn
The Ostrich Inn Castle Acre, Norfolk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ostrich Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.