We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch with Aunt” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Anchor Inn

Save Saved
You added The Anchor Inn to your Saves list
The Anchor Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Anchor Inn
280 Bridge Road | Sutton Bridge, Sutton Bridge PE129SH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Romford, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Lunch with Aunt”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Just had lunch on 26th Aug, with wife and Aunt, Good quality food and plenty of it... Liver and Bacon, Scampi and Gammon... all v hot, well cooked and nicely presented. Service was prompt and friendly and we had a very nice lunch. Good atmosphere and you can chat (The CD music is interesting... could do with some new CD's .. lol)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    14
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
3
15
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
notts
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We only went there for a meal, but we found the staff to be really friendly and helpful, the food was good and there was plenty of it, and it was all at a sensible price. I don't think i need to add any more!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spalding, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Went on a Wednesday to try out the carvery meal. It's very good and good value at £6.50. I opted for turkey and beef and there was a good choice of vegetables plus a Yorkshire pudding. I don't always go for a dessert after a carvery meal but was tempted by homemade chocolate cheesecake with two scoops of vanilla ice-cream. Mouthwatering and it did not disappoint. Good atmosphere and friendly staff made for an enjoyable time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

We didnt stay at the Anchor but having just been on a long dog walk whilst visiting the area we were thrilled with this pub. Good choice of food from light bites to pub classics. Sat in the garden with Mum and Dad and the dogs in the shade. Very welcomed and every ask was met politely.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We decided to stay here on route to Yarmouth,to give my husband a little break from driving.When we arrived the Inn looked nice,plenty of parking and a nice beer garden with new furniture.But when we told the owner/manager we had booked 1 night stay through booking.com,he said "oh sorry your room has been double booked" I could have cried.Then after looking again he said "sorry they have put the wrong person in your room,we will just move him"Well I felt terrible.He took us to our room,it was clean,nice towels,so we were happy.The manager bought us a drink to say sorry which was nice.We had read that some guests had missed breakfast so we decided to go down early at 8am to make sure we didn't miss breakfast,a very nice lady looked at us and said"oh I didn't know there was any one else for breakfast i thought every one had gone",it looks like this place is used by contractors who leave for work at 6.30am !She cooked us a huge breakfast which was very nice,but the mushrooms looked like they had been reheated from the day before,they were not fresh cooked,which kind of spoilt the rest,and I am sure the toast came off one of the tables that the contractors had been sitting at,as she cleared this table & then brought us toast that was stone cold & limp,i just thought well,lets go ! Sorry but if you are looking for a nice B&B I can not recommend this one.Just to add the bar is full of pool players coming & going all evening no where comfortable to sit & relax with a drink,in the end we took a drink to our room & watched tv !This is a pub with rooms simple as that !

Room Tip: We did ask for a room at the back which we did not get,but it is worth asking as the rooms on the fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Despite staying here before and not getting a breakfast ( wasnt told what time and missed it ) I thought the rooms etc were worth another stay as we have friends in the area. this time however we got the small room at the top of the stairs which was not have as nice as room number 2 but it was clean and comfortable . Having learnt our lesson we specifically asked what time for breakfast and was told no later than 9.00. we turned up at 8.45 and was told no breakfast as it was mothers day and they had to clear away early. they did do us a roll each but I couldnt believe it had happened again.So if you go here you will get a pretty decent room but make sure you are down for breakfast at 8.00 as they do not tell you what time and even then they get it wrong. Such a shame but i wont risk a third time !

Room Tip: ask for room number 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carnforth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Very clean, recently built accomodation to rear of Pub.
Friendly and helpful staff, evening food was excellent local produce, well cooked.
Good value breakfast with a good strong real coffee.
Would stay here again, excellent value.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Anchor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Anchor Inn

Address: 280 Bridge Road | Sutton Bridge, Sutton Bridge PE129SH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Sutton Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Sutton Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only just opened in May 2011. Beautifully refurbished bar, restaurant and accommodation. All rooms are done to a very high standard, all en-suite fitted with flat screen TVs also with tea/coffee making facilities, includes a full English breakfast. The restaurant and bar is open 7 days a week serving food from 12-2pm Wednesday to Sunday 6.30-9pm all week. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Booking.com so you can book your The Anchor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Anchor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.