We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very good pub with rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Riverside Bar and Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Riverside Bar and Restaurant to your Saves list
The Riverside Bar and Restaurant
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   16 Bridge Road, Sutton Bridge PE12 9UA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Durham
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A very good pub with rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I stayed at the Riverside for approximately 2 months while working in Sutton Bridge. Landlord and landlady, David and Jackie (also Rylton House) are very friendly and accomodating. More recently they have a new chef and the food quality has gone right up. Small bar snacks to large steak dinners are now available and very nice indeed. The manager in The Riverside is very friendly again, and nothing seems to be too much for her to do. As I had my small dog with me I was in rooms 5 & 6, that are Chalet type accomodation at the rear of the Bar. These rooms are quiet, almost self contained and reasonably priced. I would return when in the area again.

Room Tip: I prefer rooms 5 & 6, chalet type rooms at the rear
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    18
    4
    1
    4
See reviews for
11
14
4
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Herne Bay, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Apart from an unexpectedly indifferent breakfast, this place turned out to be a pleasant surprise. We arrived much too early to book in but decided to while away the waiting time by having a bar meal. Although under new management for less than a week, the staff and locals made us feel completely at home right from the off. We both had a tasty chilli con carne with a wonderful side dish of chips, cheese and bacon. It was delicious. Our room was more of a self-contained apartment than a hotel room (minus the cooking facilities) and we felt really relaxed in our well-appointed accommodation. Given it's location, we feared that parking might be an issue, but we needn't have worried; we were told to park in a street to the rear of the property and found that we could access our room through a passage between the building there. Having been so impressed by everything else associated with our stay, the aforementioned disappointing breakfast was the only blot on the landscape.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

What can I say, from the minute I got there was looked after. The staff very friendly and welcoming. The rooms modern and well maintained. Had a great night with the locals and even got up to sing on the karaoke!!!! In the morning had a great breakfast and nice chat with the owners. Overall amazing value for money.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HULL
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We only had one drink in here but prices were good, They did serve food but we did not eat there, We did look at the menu and prices seemed very reasonable.

The owners of the Rylton House Bed and Breakfast also own this place

It was really clean and very frindly

Good atmosphere here as well

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westbury, null, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

We were looking forward to bringing my mother-in-law for a birthday treat, and to be fair, the food was excellent and the service prompt and friendly. What let it down for us was the atmosphere, which was much more "pub" than restaurant, and fairly rowdy pub at that. The drunk staggering about outside bellowing obscenities down his phone may have been merely coincidental, but the loud music, the big telly showing sports and the fairly loud and predominantly male clientele in quite a small room did detract from our enjoyment a bit.

A very good place to eat...as long as you know what to expect.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Stayed for the one night on a Monday.The bar was busy on arrival but warmly greeted by the bar maid who was expecting us .The room was a family room above the bar so some noise was evident and very warm but had good opening windows.Room very clean some thought had been put into the decor as was modern and comfortable.
We ate out so cannot comment on the bar meals but seemed to have a good selection advertised above the bar.
Had a very entertaining evening drinking in the bar with the locals made to feel very welcome a very friendly place.
Breakfast was fab! very large portion cooked to order with the table set with cereals and yogurt and plenty of coffee.
Overall a very pleasant stay nothing seemed to be any trouble .Was given some advice on the surrounding area which was helpful and we did drive down to the bombing ranges thanks to all involved keep up the good work!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorks, UK
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Excellent value for money at £55 per room including breakfast, the owners have clearly taken a great deal of care in decorating and dressing the guest rooms. Ours was on the ground floor in an extension to the rear of the pub, and was perfectly comfortable, if a little cold and damp when we arrived. However, once we had mastered the boiler, it soon warmed up.

Breakfast is excellent, served in a cellar restaurant. This is a very old building and there appear to be stairs and doors everywhere so our choice of the ground floor bedroom was sensible. The small pub bar seems underused, but there is a bar menu which we did not try as we were eating with friends.

At this price, this is a good place to stay, and we would do so again when in the area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Riverside Bar and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Riverside Bar and Restaurant

Address: 16 Bridge Road, Sutton Bridge PE12 9UA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Sutton Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Sutton Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Riverside Bar and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Riverside Bar and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Riverside Bar And Restaurant Hotel Sutton Bridge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Riverside Bar and Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.