We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Proper Pub with Proper People, Beer & Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Bear at Box - CLOSED

The Bear at Box
High Street, Box, Corsham SN13 8NJ, England
+44 1225 743622
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, English, Asian fusion, Bangladeshi
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Leicester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“Proper Pub with Proper People, Beer & Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Nothing fussy about his place but just good honest food and beer. Nice atmosphere when busy. Stopped for one night B&B...cheap cheerful and excellent breakfast...as long as you are very hungry !!

Don't expect anything fancy but great value and a fun pub.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    29
    9
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We stopped off on our way to Bath. It was a spare of the moment decision and it didn't disappoint. The staff were very friendly and attentive, they took our order quickly and the food arrived piping hot on nice hot plates. Well done The Bear, keep up the. Good work.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We saw this place as we drove past and decided to book the next evening.
The food is superb, and the service is fantastic.
The staff and the locals help make this one of the best places I have visited in a long time.
Would I make the trip to go back, Yes, already working on it!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Brilliant Bear!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Just called in during a long journey. Staff extremely friendly and helpful, great atmosphere, food fantastic! Had the carvery, great choice of succulent meats, and tasty varied veg choices. A great pub! Worth a visit back

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrakech, Morocco
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Very Friendly and good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

It was nice to see a place so busy, frequented by locals and yet making visitors feel wanted.
I would definitely go again

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bear at Box also viewed

 
Corsham, Wiltshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bear at Box, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.