We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Northey Bar & Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Northey Bar & Restaurant
Bath Road, Box, Corsham SN13 8AE, England
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 5 Restaurants in Box
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Delicious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Yummy well prepared food. Good service and lovely surroundings. We had the mussels for starters with garlic bread, followed by Sea Bream for me and Steak for my husband. It was really delicious and would definitely come back.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    51
    21
    9
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melksham, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“A lovely dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014 via mobile

This was my first visit to The
Northey Arms, Box and it certainly won't be my last. The atmosphere was relaxed and the service was excellent. I ordered a steak and asked for it medium rare, sometimes this comes over cooked but it was perfect. The service wasn't rushed and my husband and I were left to enjoy our evening at a relaxing pace. Definitely worth more visits.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melksahm
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Celebrating 3 family members birthdays - DISAPOINTING”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Lovely setting, restaurant ambience and friendly staff.
A pity about the service. 25 minutes for the starters to arrive and not all together. Then another 30 minutes after plates cleared, for the main course to arrive, having had to chase it up. It was a Sunday and priority seemed to have been given to roast lunches. Customers who ordered 30 minutes after us had their main course before us and left. We had a mixture of Sunday lunches and off the main menu. We would have had puddings and coffees but did not want to be held up any longer. The roast lunches just seemed to have been thrown on the plate, no finesse of vegetables in dishes to help yourself. I have seen better presented in other local inns.
On phoning on the Monday to speak to the manager I was told he was not in until 12.30, Phoning at 12.30 I was told he was not in until 3pm. Phoning at 3.30pm I was told he was not in until Wednesday. At this point the person on the phone did have the sense to ask what I wanted, whereas the other two could not be bothered. On explaining I was informed they knew we had been delayed due to others arriving late, why not an apology on the day. Did they just hope we would accept it.
The manager eventually got in touch on the Wednesday and apologised, but all that was offered was a free starter and main course for my wife and me. On reflecting on this later I thought it unfair that the other 5 would not be recompensed. It should have been 7 free main courses in my opinion. We will not be returning to this establishment in the future. Three people’s birthday meals spoilt

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corsham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Average food...drafty and cold in the winter”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

We had a meal for two in the winter. We were put in a bay window table where the wind was whistling through gaps in the windows. We asked to be moved to another table but were told this was not possible despite other tables being free/ not laid out. We had to sit with our coats on for our entire meal. We were too cold to stay for more than 1 course.
The food was average despite the restaurant's foodie pretensions.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narberth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Simply Good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Plain fayre interestingly and imaginatively served. We liked the bar environment. Prompt attentive disservice, reasonably priced. Good ambience.Several visits, never disappointed.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Northey Bar & Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Northey Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Northey Bar & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.