We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Best Stay in England” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lorne House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Lorne House to your Saves list
Lorne House
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   London Road, Box, Corsham SN13 8NA, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Special Offer
Ranked #2 of 6 Box B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Folsom, CA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Our Best Stay in England”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

This was our second stop of our vacation staying 03/04/2012 to 05/04/2012. My sister-in-law found this fabulous place, which was truly our best stay in England. The room was exceptional for our family of four, beautiful, clean and very comfortable. The hosts were wonderful, friendly and helpful – and made a delightful breakfast.

The Lorne House was a short car trip to Bath, and a quick walk to the Bear at Box restaurant that we enjoyed so much.

I highly recommend the Lorne House, and without a doubt would return for another impeccable stay. Loved it!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    24
    4
    4
    0
See reviews for
40
58
5
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

The Lorne house is a very comfortable if not luxurious B&B about 5 miles outside of Bath in a small town called Box. The beds were most comfortable, and the hosts said they would even change pillows for ones which guests preferred. The bath facilities were very modern: the shower was one of the best we've seen yet in Britain, and there was a tub as well. Wifi was great, and the breakfasts were delicious and cooked to order. This was also the home of the Thomas the Tank Engine author Rev. Awdry, although the house has been much updated. There is a great deal to see in this area and there is a bus stop for Bath right across from the Lorne House. I definitely recommend the Lorne House.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

My wife, daughter and I stayed at the Lorne House for only one night, but were very pleased with the service from Jackie, the location (Box) which was near Bath and the room itself. We had a lower level unit, 3 beds, very clean and newly appointed with a bathroom that was recently renovated and very large with a unique shower. We had a car and parking was included. We strolled in to town for a drink at the local pub and watched a cricket game while sipping on our drinks
Great breakfast in the morning from Jackie and her helpers. We highly recommend this location.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

We asked for a certain room (king size bed due to my height). We got a bed that was two singles pushed together and my feet hung off the end leaving me with a very bad back the next day.

We couldnt open the window. At all. No fresh air whatsoever.

Excellent bathroom although there was a draft from the window.

Our room was directly underneath the breakfast room so even though we asked for breakfast at 9am, we had to listen to everyone else having theirs from 7am.

Nice enough decor and the room size is good but just be careful not to get the room we did.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on with either the first or second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Lorne House, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
We are sorry that this guest's visit was not wholly satisfactory and would like to put the record straight on a couple of points.

Our beds are Airsprung Contract quality, Hotel standard zipped & linked 3' beds, not just 2 singles pushed together, which when connected make a 6' wide x 6'6" long Super King size double which is larger than most 5 star Hotel's, so we are at a loss to explain the feet hanging off the end ! They also have "backcare" mattresses which are reccomended for bad backs , so we cannot explain the bad back either. We can only express our regret that it did not suit this particular guest and would point out that 99.99% of our guests comment on how comfortable they are, as witnessed by many of our reviews.

We apologise for the window problem. The window had recently been painted and unfortunately had not been eased by the decorator when he finished the job. However it would have been easily remedied had the guest informed us of the problem at the time rather than in a review .

The bedroom in question is below the Dining room and it is unfortunate that there were breakfasts being served at 7 am which is unusual and not normally the case. We apologise if noise from breakfast was intrusive but again most of our guests are very happy with that room, in fact many ask for it again if they return for another visit.

We are very concerned that our guests should have a pleasant stay with us and as this guest stayed for 2 nights it is unfortunate that any problems or shortcomings on our part were not pointed out at the time as we would have done everything possible to rectify them, but we cannot be expected to do this if nothing is said until a review is posted.

We try very hard to please everyone but inevitably there will be some that slip through the net, C'est la vie !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Gatos, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at Lorne House. We stayed a total of four nights using it as a base to visit Bath, Wells, and the Cotswolds. It is located in a nice village just minutes away from Bath. A lovely property with nice well furnished bedrooms and a great wet-room with a rain shower. Excellent breakfast every morning with plenty of choices of locally sourced fresh produce, loved the duck eggs. Mike and Fran are very friendly and extremely helpful. A pleasure to stay there and we will return again, next time we visit Bath. Highly recommend as the perfect place to stay. John & Lonnie

Room Tip: All the rooms looked very nice, but I would think the back rooms would be the quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

This is a terrific B&B, everything about it was first rate. Our hosts were gracious, the rooms perfectly appointed, and the breakfasts delicious.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

After a weekend with 4 other friends at Lorne House, we all agreed that we should go back in the area just to stay there again!
The rooms are beautiful (I saw showers like that only in 5-star hotels... and not even all of them!) and the beds are very comfortable. Breakfast was abundant and good, and the owner was extremely friendly and easygoing. It is also easy to reach by car... what else can you ask for? :)

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lorne House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lorne House

Address: London Road, Box, Corsham SN13 8NA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Corsham > Box
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Box
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lorne House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From our location in Wiltshire, Lorne House offers guests a smart, sophisticated place to stay. With recently refurbished interior Lorne House is a stylish, providing visitors with an elegant charm and friendly welcome.Lorne House was the childhood home of the Rev. W J Awdry, - Thomas the Tank Engine.We also provide a conference facility, suitable for seminars or training. Close to Bath, we are situated in a fantastic location to explore the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Lorne House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lorne House Hotel Box
Lorne House Box, United Kingdom

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lorne House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.