We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would recommend” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Waggon Inn - CLOSED

The Waggon Inn
Higham Dykes | Milbourne, Ponteland NE20 0DH, England
+44 1661 881872
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $9 - $28
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: A traditional old coaching inn with a restaurant, also serving meals in the bar. Home cooked, locally sourced food cooked fresh to order. Good choice of locally brewed real ales and cider on draft. Good wines, lovely setting, warm welcome. Ideal for small parties, functions. Located within 5 miles of Newcastle Airport. Special offer on real ales every Tuesday 6 - 8pm.
Blyth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Would recommend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

My husband and I had a lovely meal tonight at The Waggon Inn.
We both chose chicken dishes for our main course, one stuffed with black pudding and the other stuffed with stilton, both our meals were delicious.
We were greeted by a friendly Scottish guy behind the bar, who made us feel very welcome.
We will definitely go back, and would recommend it to others.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWaggon, Manager at The Waggon Inn, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Thank you so much for all your positive comments, they're much appreciated and help to boost staff morale. We hope to be able to welcome you both again in the future, perhaps next time you'll try our mouthwatering liver and bacon or lamb shank - there's plenty to choose from !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    24
    6
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Great food, great welcome and wonderful atmosphere.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

We went here after spending a very cold day at Wallington with family and relations visiting the area. We were cold and hungry when we arrived. This was the perfect place to lift your spirits. Unsure of what to order for a drink one of the party was offered a taster and made her choice. the menu was given on a clipboard, a good selection of tempting items but 3 plumped for the gammon and 3 the pork loin dish. These arrived promptly and were all deemed to be delicious. The chips were delicious and the selection of vegetables well cooked and very tasty. Service was very friendly. We did not have room for dessert but after a due interval with more drinks we opted for coffees all round, one with Bailey's. These were excellent and the barman who may be the owner I am not sure approached our table and asked if we would like to try a grey matter nudger! he received the reply from one of the group, 'Is it free?' We then engaged in several lateral thinking puzzles amidst much joking. Our relations wished they had a pub like this one where they live as they loved the food and the atmosphere. We visited on a Thursday at about 5.30 p.m. and some locals were enjoying drinks and a few folks were eating too. We were told when quiz night was and really made to feel welcome. We have eaten here before but plan on making more regular visits. There are books on the window ledges and I think some newspapers too. The toilet facilities were immaculate with even a little step for children to be able to reach the washbasin properly. We ate in the bar but the restaurant looked lovely. Do not pass this pub by, go in and enjoy all it has to offer.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWaggon, Manager at The Waggon Inn, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit and many thanks for all your positive comments - it was particularly nice to have our cleanliness mentioned as we work hard to keep the place clean and fresh at all times - which as you can imagine can be difficult at times. As you will have gathered this is very much a family run business so customer satisfaction is extremely important to us across the board. Thank you very much indeed for writing your very informative review and we very much hope to be able to welcome you again on a return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Dont drive past.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

You are assured of a warm and friendly welcome from the owners John and Brenda at this excellent country pub restaurant which has a great selection of well kept real ales. Superb food courtesy of Manuelo the chef is highly recommended, on one of my many visits he put on free bar grub which was sauted pigeon breast in green peppercorn sauce accompanied by chilli chips. A visit is highly recommended - one word of caution. Try to avoid getting involved in conversation with Jimmy behind the bar about his cat.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWaggon, Manager at The Waggon Inn, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you so much for all your positive comments. We are fortunate to have a core of regular customers, who help us to create the friendly atmosphere which we are regularly complimented on. We work hard to maintain standards not only on the quality of our food but also our beers, wines etc so it's very gratifying when people take the time out to write a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Scotland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Stopover Meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We called at the Waggon Inn on our way south to York as it was about midway on our journey and I am glad we did. The welcome was warm and the food was good. I had the special for lunch (mince and dumplings) was really good. We spoke with the owner who was really warm and welcoming along with a member of staff from Alloa. Reviews are personal issues and I know that a bad one can have more effect than 5 good ones but, I would always return to here because the standard was good and it's now a place I know. If I had one criticism it would be the signage in the road. I was almost upon it before I had any warning.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWaggon, Manager at The Waggon Inn, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind comments. Our main objective is to make people want to come back again - whatever it is they come for - be it a pint of real ale, a bite of lunch or a more special occasion, so it's great to know when we get it right, thank you. We agree with you about the signage, unfortunately our position just after a bend plus local bylaws with regard to signs on the roadside makes thisdifficult for us to manage, but we're currently looking at how we can alleviate the problem. Many thanks for taking the time to write your review and we look forward to welcoming you on your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very average - check the bill!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

Arrived at 12pm, were first seated and place was cold with no lights on, but I wasn't bothered. Meal and drinks orders were quick and food arrived within minutes. Seeing as we were the first customers I thought it would be hot and fresh, but most items on the plate were just about warm. Roast potatoes were soggy, gravy wasn't hot, but was all edible. Apple crumble was a disappointment, clearly microwaved and rather stodgy, crumble topping more of a fine, loose powder than a crunchy crumble. Custard was out of a can/bottle. Bill came, asked if we can pay by card and waitress dissapeared for 20 minutes so we went to the bar to pay, she was there having a drink and chatting to other staff. They made a mistake and charged a kids meal at full adults price, which they didn't apologise about but did amend it. This could be so much better if effort was put into the food and service!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWaggon, Manager at The Waggon Inn, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thank you for your comments. I'm sorry you didn't fully enjoy your visit. You certainly should have received an apology to say the least about your bill, we will certainly use your comments about the staff to remind them how important it is that they give customers their full attention! Unfortunately, the radiator beside your table had been switched off, though we did rectify this before seating you at the table and the room otherwise was very warm. Unfortunately, the weather was very changeable on Sunday - it had been bright and sunny and then got overcast, at which point I personally switched on be restaurant lights. I will certainly consult the kitchen re your comments about the crumble, but I can assure you the custard does not come from a can or bottle. Our chefs are in from 8am to prepare for Sunday service, everything is fresh and just waiting to go. It's a shame that you did not highlight the things you found unsatisfactory at the time when I asked you if everything was ok - which would have given us a chance to put things right so that you left satisfied. I do hope that you will visit us again and see that your bad experience was an exception to the excellent service we are usually praised for.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Waggon Inn also viewed

Ponteland, Northumberland
 
Belsay, Northumberland
Ponteland, Northumberland
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Waggon Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.