We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd time here and still wow” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Waggon Inn - CLOSED

The Waggon Inn
Higham Dykes | Milbourne, Ponteland NE20 0DH, England
+44 1661 881872
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $9 - $28
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: A traditional old coaching inn with a restaurant, also serving meals in the bar. Home cooked, locally sourced food cooked fresh to order. Good choice of locally brewed real ales and cider on draft. Good wines, lovely setting, warm welcome. Ideal for small parties, functions. Located within 5 miles of Newcastle Airport. Special offer on real ales every Tuesday 6 - 8pm.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“2nd time here and still wow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

this was my second visit here this time with people from work. I recommended the black pudding and mash starter which we shared we also got bread and butter which was simple but the little touches made it lovely such as good quality butter and a stub for each slice which is a nice touch also the bread was warmed. our mains were steak pie, haddock and burger nice proper pub grub all very generous helpings and we asked to tweek a couple of the meals which they happily did. still havent managed to make it to a pudding but will soon. as we were leaving the mangeress spotted me and remembered me which was a nice touch and we had a nice chat which made me feel more welcome and it all adds up to a very pleasant visit

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWaggon, Manager at The Waggon Inn, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
It's always encouraging to welcome return visitors! Thanks once again for your positive comments - somehow they always hold a bit more credibility after more than one visit as it indicates consistency - which is always very gratifying to hear! I'm delighted you all enjoyed your lunch and look forward to seeing you again on your next visit. Once again, thanks for taking the time to write your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    24
    6
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A special celebratoin made very special”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

On Saturday the 15th September 60 of our family and friends met at thr Waggon Inn for a Golden Wedding celebration, this was made to be a very special day by the staff who were so helpful and polite, nothing was to much trouble for them, the splendid buffet lunch was very tasty and much more than we could eat. The older children in the party were provided with footballs in the picnic area and the young ones were given toys and books to keep them amused. John and Brenda Simm were so happy to make everything go smoothly, everyone remarked on how hard they worked. The service and food we received was excellent, provided in a warm and friendly atmosphere. Thankyou all for making our special day very special. Brian and Dorothy.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWaggon, Manager at The Waggon Inn, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you SO much for all your kind comments. We feel very privileged when people choose us as a venue for a special occasion, whether it's an anniversary, wedding, leaving party or funeral ! We treat each one individually and give them our full attention, so that we can get it exactly as the customer wants it to be, so it's very rewarding to hear we got it right. It was an absolute pleasure to host such a lovely occasion for such a lovely family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Reheated meat on Sunday roast”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Hugely disappointed with a Sunday lunch of roast lamb which, on complaining (a waiter asked if everything was okay so we said not), the manageress volunteered had been cooked the day before, sliced paper thin and reheated because 'the kitchen isn't big enough to cook all the roasts on the same day.' She was concerned to make recompense - different meat (no, thanks as it was prepared the same way), more veg etc - so we asked for a refund of one of the meals as we had eaten most of the Yorkies and veg which were properly cooked and enjoyable. I thought the tasteless gravy was made from a packet but was assured it was made that day from meat juices.

On a warm Sunday we'd expected the pub to be heaving with diners - now we know why.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWaggon, Manager at The Waggon Inn, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Hopefully readers will see that the content of this review is out of the ordinary for us. We have a 5 star rating on trip advisor which we didn't get from serving what the lady suggested was sub standard food. When I approached the table, the lady initially struggled to pinpoint what she was actually unhappy with, but then focussed on the lamb, which she said was sliced too thinly and it was tasteless (we sold out of lamb on Sunday by mid afternoon and we had no other complaints). I agreed that we were now slicing the meats slightly thinner (as some regular customers commented that they preferred it this way) and apologised if it wasn't to her liking. We are an old coaching inn with a very small kitchen, which has been adapted and altered over the years to try and accommodate a thriving food business, unfortunately we don't have the luxury of a large purpose built kitchen. Quite rightly there are very strict guidelines on 'holding food hot'. Unlike in a carvery, we have nowhere to put a 'hot holding area' - which is the only way to serve your meats cooked straight from the oven. We use the same methods of reheating as many other establishments do, it neither detracts from the taste nor the appearance. I can assure readers that our gravy is made carefully and from the meat juices. I offered the lady an alternative meal, which she declined, so I gave her a full refund. Her plate was empty except for a few bits of fat from the lamb when it was cleared. The reviewer sat in the bar area, which by the time she came in was a bit quieter, she was obviously unaware that the restaurant was full, we served over 100 meals last Sunday and I'm satisfied with the many compliments we received that the majority of customers, as always left completely satisfied. Whilst we strive to create an atmosphere where people feel comfortable to say if things are not 100% right, sadly the tone of this review reflects the attitude of this customer. On this occasion, I think it really wouldn't have mattered what I said, her mind was made up. They questioned the price of the food on arrival, adamant that we were advertising it at a lesser price - when in fact they were reading the baguette board. We always welcome objective comments as its the only way to improve our business, so I will discuss this review in full with the kitchen to ensure there is nothing we can do better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“fantastic food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Stopped here on our route to Belsay hall. Had a Fantastic Meal in a nice-homely atmosphere.
A great variety of choice on the menus can highly recommend the Pie of the day & the Chicken breast stuffed with haggis.We shall definitely will be back.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWaggon, Manager at The Waggon Inn, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
What better comment can we have than 'we will be back' ! That's exactly what we aim to achieve when every customer walks through our doors - we hope they leave feeling that they want to come back again, so many thanks for letting us know that we're getting things right - it's a great boost for staff morale. Thank you very much for posting your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Just what we were looking for”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

We were driving up to Northumberland and were starving. We randomly stopped off at this pub and they were doing a Sunday Lunch. We couldn't have asked for anything more.The staff were extremely friendly and after spotting from our accents that we weren't local, they were asking us about our trip and giving us advice. The food was nice and portions were large.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWaggon, Manager at The Waggon Inn, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Well we're very glad you did decide to stop and have a break with us - thank you very much for your positive comments and for taking the time to write a review. We hope you will call in again if you're passing our way - make sure you let us know you've returned again! Many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Waggon Inn also viewed

Ponteland, Northumberland
 
Belsay, Northumberland
Ponteland, Northumberland
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Waggon Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.