We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would recommend” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The George and Dragon

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dent
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The George and Dragon
Save
You added The George and Dragon to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Main Street, Dent LA10 5QL, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dent
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Would recommend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2011

We enjoyed our stay. The staff were friendly and the rooms were clean and comfortable. The bathrooms had both a bath and a shower which was great because we appreciate a hot bath at the end of a day's walking. Had an evening meal there which was pleasant but were unable to eat all of the breakfast - there was so much!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    54
    30
    12
    3
See reviews for
14
74
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
northamptonshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2011

The hotel has an excellent website but the reality is slightly differant, and we felt that the hotel lacked the friendliness and warmth we were led to expect.

The location is beautiful in a very small hamlet in Dent.
The hotel has been modernised and lacks any form of warmth in the guest lounge, i.e. there is a small fireslightly to small for purpuse or centre focal point,..and very brightly lit change the bulbs would be a great start

The restaurant has quite tightly packed tables,..but the tables tops are well laid out. . Can be chilly in this room - take a sweater with you!
Good choice on the menu and small but adequate range of wines available at very reasonable cost.
The rooms are fairly small but adequate, and again modern. . Plenty of hot water and perfectly adequate.

The rooms was possibly abit chilly too, although has a decent radiator which is useful to hang towels on to dry.

The bar
This is not a pub type bar,..and we did not use this. it trys to be , but needs more country clutter , to carry the image that it is trying to carry

Breakfast quite small in te morrning but has lovely free-range eggs. Generous supply of toast and marmalades.
Small pub about 40 mts (sun Inn) which is very good.

This is a good hotel for walking

About 35 minutes drive to the north is the Tan Hill Arms (well worth a visit) and is the hishest pub in England. Good beers and meals around an open (but small) peaty fire.

In conclusion,....we were disappointed that the owners were seldom to be seen but heard from most locals that if he was about he would be seen sitting at the end of the bar shouting orders to the staff and the hotel lacked any atmosphere. We suspect the owners were hard at work in the kitchen .

Regretfully although the hotel is excellent value.... especially one of the two/three day breaks,....we would not stay again. I think it could be pretty boring for a husband and wife alone. However,..the hotel was busy mainly with older couples,.. so something is right .

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2011

This is a cracking pub in the village of Dent, hosts are friendly and unfussy, real fires in the bar/lounge and the full complement of the local Dent brewery ales.

Child and dog friendly, this is an easy place to relax. We stayed one night this time, but wil be back for more in this charming village. The room we slept i was spotlessly clean, and the bed so comfortable that we both could not remember a better nights sleep.

Food is of good quality, though the lagre portions challenged my appetite and overpowered my wife's.

A great base for a walking holiday, petrol or cashpoint i the village so come prepared.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2010

There are not many opportunities that you get to stay in the "Brewery Tap" for a well respected and nationally reknowned brewery, the winner of several national as well as regional CAMRA Awards. However, if that is something that you aspire to, the George and Dragon is an ideal place to stay with seven of the Brewery's ales on sale over the course of the two days that we were there. Add to that friendly staff, a first class "Full English", clean and tidy rooms and very generous portions of well cooked food (all be it that the menu may be considered a little restricted by some), then the George and Dragon comes with the highest recommendation. The only health warning - if you are travelling by car and dont like narrow single track roads, consider walking the Dales Way instead!

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2010 via mobile

Stayed here walking the dales way, rooms were basic but clean. Service and charm made up for it with wonderful food and beer. Dog friendly as well.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheadle, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2010

The George and Dragon is a great inn to stay at. The rooms, though small, are spotless and well furnished. There is a bit of noise from the bar below but a couple of pints of Dent Aviator helps immensely! The food is very goood for this area though not exactly haute cuisine it certainly fills you up after a good days walking. Staff are very friendly as are the locals, we felt part of a golden wedding celebration that was going on and even got some of the cake!! There are a range of locally brewed beers on tap and I can think of no greater pleasure than working my way through them over an evening in the bar, all are fantastic. If you want to stay in a special inn in a special village in a special dale then this is the answer, you really will not be dissapointed.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2010

We booked 2 nights at the George & Dragon as a consolation for th e Horrific stay at the Bull in sedbergh two weeks before this trip (See review for The Bull Hotel Sedbergh)

What a difference--Clean Rooms, Good Food, Excellent Staff, The Beer--Perfect.

What more can I say? We will go again--and again!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The George and Dragon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George and Dragon

Address: Main Street, Dent LA10 5QL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Dent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The George and Dragon 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Also Known As:
The George And Dragon Hotel Dent
The George And Dragon Dent, United Kingdom

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The George and Dragon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.