We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to relax” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hollies Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Hollies Hotel to your Saves list
The Hollies Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Bower Hinton | Nr Yeovil, Martock, Yeovil TA12 6LG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Martock
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great place to relax”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

The Hollies manages to perfectly combine the elegance and charm of a historic country hotel with the contemporary luxury one expects these days. Light and spacious rooms include all the mod cons, including large plasma (very rare!) and free wifi throughout with the total seclusion and unspoilt views over beautiful rolling countryside. The location is idyllic.

The bar is a real contrast, with flagsone floors, huge fireplace, sofa's and exceptional food. Exactly the right place to sit and relax. The restaurant offers a wide range of a la carte food that is hard to beat, even in top London restaurants - and I am always surprised what good value for money it is! Staff are charming and polite and only too willing to help make your stay a pleasure.

As a regular business traveler who spends too much time in chain hotels, I absolutely love the uniqueness of place.

I will definitely be returning in the near future!

Room Tip: Spoil yourself - book a luxury suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    42
    21
    5
    5
See reviews for
32
94
7
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Went to Yeovil on a sunny weekend in September with a friend as a getaway from London. My friend and I wanted a hotel that is as cosy as B&B but with good quality facilities and The Hollies Hotel was exactly what we wanted! I'm normally very picky with hygiene but I was really happy when I checked in - The room was very clean and spacious, and the bathroom looked like a brand-new! The staff was also super friendly and very helpful with local area information. We also had a dinner here rather than in town as it was highly recommended by our friend. The food was very traditionally British and sooo delicious, and the staff were very professional. Overall, I had such a relaxing and memorable stay. I will definitely come back for another weekend trip!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

I have booked this hotel a couple of times now for my family when they stay in this area. The hotel rooms are most certainly the best in the area, they are a superior quality and a reasonable price. My mum even commented that it was the best hotel bed she has ever slept in and as she's retired and always travelling that is saying something! The staff are excellent and even though we have only been a couple of times have recognition as soon as we arrive and always have a warm welcome. The food is excellent, I would recommend you don't eat all day so u can fully enjoy the meal as the portions are extremely generous. I cannot praise this hotel enough, amazing all around. (although the family do want to visit more often now!!). Thank you to all at the Hollies, we'll see you soon.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I really love this hotel - I have stayed here many times and have always had a fantastic experience here. The welcome feels like you are a part of the family!
The rooms are very spacious and comfortable and constantly being updated.
I always make sure I have space for dinner when I stay - the food is great quality and the portions are really generous.
I would highly recommend The Hollies to anyone who is visiting this area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

The website would have you believe you are staying in a country house hotel. It isn't - it is a motel with a nice front. However provided you are happy with that the rooms are well equipped with all mod cons. Ours had a splendid newly refurbished bathroom. The staff are excellent - welcoming, friendly and obliging. It is hard for us to comment about the food as the hotel was catering for a wedding party of 60 so the dining room was full. We ate modestly in the bar and the food we had was good and despite the large party eating about the same time arrived reasonably promptly.
Although rooms are non smoking the patio outside the rooms is not and with the only ventilation to the rooms from the sliding patio doors smoke drifts into rooms from other guests. Not pleasant at 7am!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

I was seduced by The Hollies website, it suggests it’s a luxury boutique hotel, but it’s not, hence its 3 stars from the AA.
On first impression, our room, number 15, seemed clean, and the bathroom was clean. The décor is not as the website suggests, it’s not luxurious. After an hour or so you notice there are blood stains on the bed sheets, the tea tray is dirty, the kettle and mini bar fridge aren’t clean, and the mirror stored in the wardrobe is covered in dust.
We stayed at The Hollies for two nights, a Friday and Saturday for a local wedding. We left our room for breakfast and a walk on Saturday for at least an hour and a half with the please make up room sign on the door. Our room was not made up, and neither were the rooms our friends were staying in. We got ready for the wedding, during which time we ran out of loo roll, we left our room at 2.30, and assumed our room would be made up and our loo roll would be replenished whilst we were out.
We got back to our room at 1am, it had not been made up, our wet towels were still in the bath, and we had no loo roll. My boyfriend went to Reception, which was unmanned but had a telephone, he rang requesting towels and more importantly the loo roll, and was told someone would come straight away, he waited 15 minutes, no one came, so he rang again. The man who answered the phone was very rude, complained he would have to get out of bed, said housekeeping left at 2pm which is why our room had not been made up, and questioned the need for loo roll. In my opinion loo roll is not a luxury item, it is an essential. He did bring us towels and loo roll, but he shoved them at me without saying a word, and was quite rude and aggressive.
We were going to complain when we checked out, but the man who delivered the towels and loo roll was manning reception, so we didn’t bother. Obviously, he didn’t ask us if we enjoyed our stay.
We paid £100 per night, which we would have been happy to pay if our room was made up and the staff had not been rude. We left feeling ripped off.
On a positive the waitresses in the restaurant are lovely, and the food was fine, although it claims to be ‘Michelin Recommended’, it is nice, but it’s not amazing. The Hollies management also boast of the £500,000 refurbishment, I have never been there before, but the work is not obvious at all.
If you’re passing and you’re hungry, go there for a meal, but definitely don’t stay there, the Premier Inn is preferable.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The-Hollies-Hotel, Manager at The Hollies Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
We are sorry that you were disappointed with your stay.
Your room was not serviced because you had a “Do Not Disturb” sign on your for most of the day. Housekeeping complied with your request, however, they checked on numerous occasions, including last thing before they finished.
Unfortunately, they are unable to wait indefinitely, but would advise guests of housekeeping times had the “Do Not Disturb” sign not been posted.
Many guests arriving on Saturday’s are also attending weddings and require an early check-in, and for this reason, it is not always possible to have your room cleaned during breakfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Stayed one night whilst attending my a wedding in Ash in one of the superior rooms with direct outside access.
The hotel were very accommodating in allowing us to occupy the room from 12 noon to enable us to change for the wedding at 2.00p.m. When we arrived at 11.15a.m. they were fine for us to occupy even at this time.
Our room was very spacious with all the necessaries - good tea making facilities and good quality shampoo, conditioner and soap in the bathroom. Only downside was the poor water pressure for showers, no fixed mirror or plug for a hairdryer at the dressing table and the poor air conditioning in the room.
Having said all that we cannot fault the welcome that we received from all of the staff in the hotel during the time we stayed including the for our daughter-in-law who needs gluten free food a service that I can only say was outstanding.

Room Tip: If you want proximity to the reception and the outside choose a superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The-Hollies-Hotel, General Manager at The Hollies Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Thank you for your review and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay.
We will be continuing with our constant up-grade programme and hope to exceed all future expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hollies Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hollies Hotel

Address: Bower Hinton | Nr Yeovil, Martock, Yeovil TA12 6LG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Yeovil > Martock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Martock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Hollies Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Michelin Recommended HotelGarden Rooms, Suites, CottagesServiced ApartmentsFurnished TerracesSilent Night Sleep Master BedsTea Coffee Mini Bars in all Rooms42" or 50" Plasma TV's in all roomsFree Sky Sports in all roomsFree Internet through hotelFree off road ParkingRoom ServiceBook Direct with the Hotel for Free Up-GradeQuote Information Visit Somerset at time of booking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, LateRooms, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Hollies Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hollies Hotel Yeovil
The Hollies Hotel Martock, Somerset, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hollies Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.