We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a find!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Holcombe Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Holcombe Inn to your Saves list
The Holcombe Inn
5.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Stratton Road | Holcombe, Holcombe BA3 5EB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Holcombe B&B and Inns
Ewell, Surrey
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“What a find!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

Found this Inn on a website after looking for hours for somewhere to stay in Bath last minute. Its position is in a lovely quiet spot in the countryside with great views. My partner & I stayed for 2 nights - 1st night in the Champayne Room, 2nd nite in the Four Poster Bed room. The Champayne room is georgous with a fab bath & separate shower with all the little touches that you would expect from a good hotel. We had dinner in the Inn on both nights - the food (dinner & breakfast) was delicious and would definately give any top restaurant a run for their money (would be nice if cereal were available as well as a cooked breakfast as an option). All the staff were very friendly & helpful . We would prefer to stay here rather than in Bath when we visit again. This place is a real gem and the new owners have obviously put alot of effort/time/money into making it something special.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    34
    3
    2
    5
See reviews for
49
120
6
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

We found this Inn via a booking website and so glad we did, everything was amazing.
We booked for two nights but wished we could have stayed longer.
We arrived here around lunchtime so decided to have their tapas, beautiful, kept us going nicely til dinnertime.

We had one of the cheaper rooms which hasn't yet been renovated but nevertheless it was still a lovely room, very clean and a lovely large en-suite. Lovely view over to the church.

We were only going to have one meal here and eat somewhere else the next night but the food was just far too nice not to eat here again. I can highly recommend the seabass, flavours and presentation....beautiful. They were so accomodating for children too, my daughter (5 years) is a bit of a fussy eater but the chef cooked whatever she asked for, fishfinger (homemade) one night and pasta with sauce the next night, service you don't find very often.
Breakfast was of equally high standards

All the staff were lovely, very happy to help.
Jules and family....you should be very proud of yourselve for creating such a lovely place to stay. Lauren, my daughter said when we got home " I want to go back to that hotel to see Lauren again!!"

We shall definitely be returning here one day.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annandale, Virginia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

My wife and I stayed here two nights in mid-August 2011, having been unable to find accommodations in Bath. This charming British "Free House" was recently renovated (Feb 2011 we were informed) and the en-suite room was nice with a spacious bathroom and a most comfortable bed. The restaurant was a very pleasant surprise, kind of a combination pub/restaurant that had a mix of cozy, warm familiarity with the formality of great service and impeccable cuisine. The chef's dishes were top-notch and he could well compete with the "heavy hitters" from large cities. Having a fresh herb garden out front plus ample local sources for meat helps. The Inn is about a 30 minute drive from Bath and is situated in the quiet countryside where in the morning you'll literally hear the "clip clop" of a horse and rider walking down the narrow, stone wall/hedgerow lined road in front, and the cows grazing the field across the road.

If you need a nice quiet, but sumptuous getaway for a day or more, we would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandbach, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

We stayed 2 nights whilst visiting Longleat. Very helpful staff. We found that the room had plenty of space for a child bed and still have room to move around. It was good to have some toys in the bar area that meant we could enjoy a drink whilst our daughter played and made friends. Ate in the restaurant one night and the food was excellent, haven't tasted a better steak in ages. The hotel is very child friendly but found it strange that there was no child options except for smaller portions of the adult menu. Again breakfast cooked to order and wonderful choices on offer but would have been more child friendly if there was cereal and yogurts etc to choose. Would recommend hotel to any one who wants an small individual hotel at a reasonable cost. Hope to be back soon

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roskilde, Denmark
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

Holcombe Inn deserves every star. The food was excellent, the staff the most friendly ever meet, and the surroundings perfect - most to visit attractions such as Bath, and for a walk in the beautiful nature. We visited with our baby-girl, who got her first gourmet meal here and the owner of the house is friendly and warm. You definitely feel welcome.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

We stayed for one night in July when we couldn't get a reasonable room in Bath, and were really glad that we made the journey. The location is great as it's an easy 25-minute drive from the centre of town and puts you in a perfect position if you want to explore places south of Bath. The stay was absolutely perfect in every respect. The building has been beautifully and tastefully renovated, our room (The Oaks) was comfortable, spotless and quiet, the food (both at dinner and breakfast) was top class and reasonably priced, and all the staff were friendly, welcoming and efficient. The only point for improvement would be the music in the dining room - quite heavy on the "relaxation" muzak which got a bit grating after a while. We would definitely stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

We've just stayed at the Holcombe Inn for the first time since the current owners took it over earlier this year. We know the place of old as my mother lives in the village and it used to be a pretty awful 80s throwback, massively over priced, dim inside, lacking in atmosphere, with average food and service. Now it is just superb. The new owners have brought the rooms and public areas tastefully up-to-date with the all contemporary country style you'd get at Babington House up the road. The welcome is genuinely friendly too, the staff are all excellent and the feel of the place is wonderful. We only ate breakfast which was pretty good and I understand from my mother that lunch and dinner is to a very high standard too. I still struggle getting my head round £100 for b&b in a pub, but this is one of the very few that is worth that. All-in-all, a very pleasant stay indeed and the new owners deserve to do well. We'll be back for sure.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Holcombe Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Holcombe Inn

Address: Stratton Road | Holcombe, Holcombe BA3 5EB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Holcombe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Holcombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Holcombe Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your The Holcombe Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Holcombe Hotel Somerset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Holcombe Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.