We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Saved Save
You added The Granary to your Saves list.
Courtyard Entrance
Courtyard Entrance
Courtyard Entrance
Courtyard view
The Granary on left of courtyard
The Granary
The Granary
Shustoke
|
Rental Home – 
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
DevonFami...
North Molton
1 review
“Beautiful and interesting old courtyard cottage.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

We wanted a place to stay with our sons not too far from Coventry for the week-end,so as to visit family. This was perfect. The owner was friendly and welcoming and the Granary was delightful. Lots of oak beams, original flagstone floors and interesting furnishings and so lovely and warm. The beds are comfortable, with lovely bedding too.
There is a lack of cooking equipment if you want to fully self cater but this a minor point and we will definitely return.

4 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 3 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
4 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 3 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
4 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Character and comfort of the place.
Liked least: Lack of kitchen equipment.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Ruth C
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
“A beautiful period property in a peaceful location a real retreat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

As a family of five (2 adults 2 teenagers 1 toddler) we stayed at The Granary. I would highly recommend this cottage to any family. The cottage is spacious and well equipped - beautifully presented with fluffy towels and exceptionally comfortable beds we loved it!
A car is essential to get about - we used the cottage to visit Coventry cathedral, kenilworth (the castle and Abbey fields park in kenilworth were particularly good for all ages) We also visited Stratford upon Avon, Royal leamington spa and Warwick all with in easy driving distance. The is cottage is a welcome retreat after a busy day touring a great place to relax and unwind. Would Definitely visit again.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The courtyard garden
Liked least: The shower
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Todd G
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“Wonderful English Countryside Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Maybe I should start this review by stating that I'm an American, because there are things about this property that are quintessentially English and that just blew me away, that might not blow away someone from somewhere "older". This place was built in the 1530's...for someone from a country that didn't even exist until the late 1700's, the idea of 1530 is hard to get your head around. I visited local Warwick, Henly in Arden and Stratford while here and was a little jaded after staying at this property because few buildings were as fascinating as the place I was staying. I was exploring the history of this property, and it would seem that it was an outpost of local Maxstoke Castle and Maxtoke Priory. While here I went on several runs through the lanes where the hedges haven't changed for hundreds of years. The scenery is absolutely beautiful, quiet, restful...really an absolutely wonderful English Countryside experience, if that's what you're looking for. We had been staying in manic London and had to be in the Midlands for an engagement. I almost booked at the Forest of Arden Marriott which is about a mile away, but I am SO glad I went off the beaten path and tried this property out.

The property itself was so much more comfortable than I would have expected. Yes, the beams and walls are ancient and the cottage I was staying in was likely a barn 100 years ago, but everything about the comforts were thoroughly modern. I am a Platinum with Marriott and stay in a lot of them, but the beds in this place were more comfortable than the Marriott. The bathtub was a bit small (remember I'm a spoiled American used to HUGE bathtubs), but quite workable. Having a full kitchen was pretty wonderful...we were there for over a week and being able to run out to get groceries saved a lot over staying in the Marriott. Actually, this place was only 10 pounds a night more than the local Marriott, so I have no idea why I lucked out in being able to book here as it's a 3 bedroom house with space for 5. WAY more quiet than any Marriott could ever be...the quiet was blissful.

The owners of this property are wonderful. There was only one other person staying here while we were here; the owners were incredibly attentive and friendly.

One thing to point out: it would be nearly impossible to manage a stay here without a car I think. Unless your bicycling through the area. Also, it's pretty deep within the ancient lanes of the area with no major road coming near it, so without GPS you might be wandering the lanes for quite a while. It makes the location very quiet and quintessentially English in my opinion...an England that you would think would be disappearing. I’m very much looking forward to an excuse to get back to the midlands and back to this property.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Atmosphere...quiet, beautiful and restful
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$182
/
Night
Week
Book this property
Or, send the owner a message
Send Message
Owner
edward r
Speaks English, German
Listed since : Aug 2013
Response Rate: 100 %
Response Time: Within a few hours
Calendar Updated: 2 days ago
Peace of Mind Protection
You're automatically covered whenever you book a vacation rental on TripAdvisor!
Learn more
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing