We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Lamb at Angmering

The Lamb at Angmering
The Square, Angmering, Littlehampton BN164EQ, England
+44 1903 774300
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 6 Restaurants in Angmering
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $11 - $51
Cuisines: British, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The Lamb at Angmering, is a grade II listed Coaching Inn dating back to 1775. It was closed in September 2011 and relaunched in April 2012. Purchased from Punch Taverns by the Newbon Family, The Lamb is back in private hands for the first time in 125 years. The Lamb at Angmering has been reborn, its renovation has provided 6 beautifully decorated ensuite bedrooms with wifi, a wonderful bar with a Charles II fireplace and an excellent restaurant using locally sourced ingredients under the control of Executive Chef Richard Cook. The Lamb at Angmering lies 2 miles from the sea in West Sussex, it is the ideal place to stay for Goodwood and Chichester 12 miles, Rustington 2 miles, Arundel 4 miles, Littlehampton 4 miles, Worthing 6 miles and Brighton 18 miles. We are just a mile away from the beautiful Ham Manor Golf Course and can arrange to combine a stay with golf. Our restaurant is closed on Sunday evenings.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

Visited here for lunch not long ago, ate from the two course menu which was very reasonable for only £12, good size portions! Good service also, will be back again soon!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    225
    68
    18
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
london
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Fine dining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

Eaten there a week ago for dinner really very good and excellent service very helpful and cheerful bunch! Had the steak very enjoyable will go again. Bar area very busy for pre dinner drinks

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice but pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

Had a beer and some crisps. Thought about having dinner but prices quite steep, so can't give opinion on quality of food. Beer and crisps were good.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee N, Owner at The Lamb at Angmering, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Thanks to the reviewer for the kind compliments on our establishment.
We are confident our pricing is similar and competitive with the other two excellent pub/hotels in Angmering village and other similar establishments in the surrounding area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littlehampton
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Light lunch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Sandwich lunch , bread slightly stale cream cheese smoked salmon poor filling. They have kept price at £7 per sandwich but have compromised on quality, this is the second time I have been disappointed

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee N, Owner at The Lamb at Angmering, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
We do not have a smoked salmon and cream cheese sandwich on our menu. This reviewer has not posted a review on a UK restaurant for 7 months, then he reviews 5 restaurants in a day! Perhaps he is confused.
We do not and will never compromise on quality. Our standards remain the same since the day we opened 2 years ago. They will continue to be maintained whilst The Lamb is in our tenure.
All of our suppliers are local and our ingredients used are of excellent quality. A list of our suppliers is always available to anybody who asks.
We have never been accused before of a 'poor filling'. On the contrary, we have been accused of serving too much smoked salmon (see a previous review and response).
If the reviewer wished to discuss this response with us we will be very happy to do so. Please just pop in and ask for our General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west sussex
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“enjoyable.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

if you like quick fast hot food the sizzling grill is the place for you, not over priced, good clean dining, nice gardens for the kids.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lamb at Angmering also viewed

Angmering, Littlehampton
Angmering, Littlehampton
 
Littlehampton, West Sussex
Angmering, Littlehampton
 

Been to The Lamb at Angmering? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lamb at Angmering, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.