We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Pub” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Spotted Cow

The Spotted Cow
1 High Street, Angmering, Littlehampton BN16 4AW, England
01903 783919
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 6 Restaurants in Angmering
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Angmering, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Lovely Pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

As we live in the village this together with The Lamb is our local. As we are regular walkers to Highdown Hill and back we stop for lunch at Highdown Cafe and a pint at The Spotted Cow on the way back.
Good inside if the weather is bad and even better out if the weather is good with small play area for children.
Friendly staff and highly recommended. On the down side bar prices on the high side with a further rise planned, I understand later in March 2014.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    34
    21
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Angmering, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Spotted Cow for the win”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

The Spotted Cow is just a minute or two from my home and I love it. For a quick drink with friends or a get together with family, they cater for it all. Food is always hearty, not always the quickest, but then you know it is fresh! A lovely, cozy retreat in winter, blazing fireplace and friendly dog place, or a sunny outdoor place in Summer, either way, a win.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“lovely pub/restaurant especially in the summer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

good food lovely garden great atmosphere .lovely going up the pub on hot sunny days sitting i the garden and enjoying a meal

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middleton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Not great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

Used to use this pub a great deal many years ago. Nothing much has changed really but it's more restaurant than pub now. No pool table! Most recent visit for a sandwich lunch reminded me why we don't come here very often. The sandwiches are generous but highly overpriced. Sadly they are also very generous with the amount of soft spread....it sure isn't butter!.....they put on the bread...left a nasty taste in the mouth. Drinks pricey too...£4.60 for a half pint of cider and a green tea.
Table tops in bar area need sorting. Not pleasant.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Nice friendly pub/restaurant with great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

We visited The Spotted Cow after reading the trip advisor reviews as we were visitors to the area and had no idea where we could go for lunch.

We went in a group of six friends for a lunch time get together. None of us has been to the venue previously so we didn't quite know what to expect.

We were greeted by very friendly staff for whom nothing seemed too much trouble. The service was excellent as indeed was the food.

Our only sadness is that none of us will be able to make this a regular place to visit as none of us are "locals".

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Spotted Cow also viewed

Angmering, Littlehampton
Worthing, West Sussex
 
Angmering, Littlehampton
Angmering, Littlehampton
 

Been to The Spotted Cow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Spotted Cow, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.