We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Country Pub” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Woodman Arms

The Woodman Arms
Hammerpot, Angmering, Littlehampton BN16 4EU, England
1903 871240
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 6 Restaurants in Angmering
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Description: The Woodman Arms is a beautiful example of the traditional, 'roses-round-the-door' country pub. Boasting a stunning thatched roof and surrounded by fine Sussex countryside, it's a blissful place to enjoy good food, company and liquid refreshment.
Fareham, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lovely Country Pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

Lovely stop off for a drink! Lovely Country pub! Didn't eat, but menu and food looked great! Can't go wrong with a Fullers pub!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    29
    9
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gerrards Cross, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“a must if you want a good meal with atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

We had an excellent meal at a reasonable price.
We had to book up as it was very busy - which I am not surprised since the restaurant was enjoyed by all ages
It is tucked out of the way but quality always gets noticed and recommended as we certainly do
If it helps the Telephone to book is 01903 871240

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eastbourne
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“just the place for lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

I would thoroughly recommend the woodman arms for its food, its position and its staff. My wife and I took a friend out for lunch here and all three of us said we must return again as the food and the staff were all first class.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Fantastic food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

We came here yesterday; somewhere to take Mum-in-law for lunch. What a find! As soon as we walked in through the door we were greeted with a 'Hello'. We were very quickly shown to a table although we hadn't booked, and drinks orders were taken whilst we were presented with the menus.
There's a great selection on the menu, everything from Scampi to steaks, chicken and fish, and everything in between!
My husband started with Whitebait, which was very nicely present in a tiny bucket! He followed that with the Fish Pie from the specials board. Meanwhile I chose the Lamb Shank and Mum ordered the Scampi. All very nicely presented and very well cooked. The vegetables which were served separately for my husband and I to share were cooked to perfection....just how we like them.
The staff were attentive, but not intrusive. We came away very satisfied, promising ourselves that we would come again.....but book a table in advance next time, as the place filled up very quickly once the lunch time service began. We'll be back!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

Just moved into the area and had some friends visit for the day went here for lunch food was very good and hot quite a wait but was told that when we walked in didn't mind as we could have a chat and don't like being rushed any way. Price is about average May be slightly a pound or two over priced but worth I as food is good would recommend booking if eating in the evening they had 5 tables already booked for the evening.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Woodman Arms also viewed

Angmering, Littlehampton
Angmering, Littlehampton
 
Worthing, West Sussex
Angmering, Littlehampton
 

Been to The Woodman Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Woodman Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.