We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Taste of the Orient” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thirteen church street

Thirteen church street
13 Church Street, Storrington RH20 4LA, England
01903 746 964
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 11 Restaurants in Storrington
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Taste of the Orient”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

Four of us had lunch here today. The restaurant is modern, light and airy. The menu comprises a good choice of Thai dishes, but we all decided to go for the sharing plates. This consisted of four starters and four main dishes, all of which were superbly cooked, beautifully presented and absolutely delicious. We then finished with excellent desserts. The service was friendly and attentive. Overall, a great restaurant in the charming Sussex village of Storrington.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    13
    6
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Horsham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“This was good...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

This was our first visit to Thirteen Church Street and it didn't disappoint. We ordered a mixture of menu items and specials, and everything was exceptional. It is a bit more expensive than most places in the area, but it was worth it. Food excellent. Staff excellent. Very good.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Reliably good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

We have been visiting No 13 over 5 years and it has never disappointed. We find the food beautifully presented, well cooked and deliciously spicy. Service is thoughtful but not oppressive. There are enough 'specials' to enable one to choose new dishes even if the main menu does not change each day. Portion sizes are sensible - not gross.
As so often, the cost of the wine pushes the overall price up considerably - we often stick to beer which we find goes very well with Thai food.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Storrington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Consistency is the result of hard work.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Food was up to the normal excellant standard that this restaurant have produced over the last 5 years we have been going.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arundel, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“Nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

This restaurant had been booked for us to accommodate a party of 8 to celebrate a special birthday. On reading earlier reviews (the negatives) I was not sure what to expect. Granted the place is small compared to some I have been to and I would not have wanted a table in the main entrance section of the restaurant as too cramped and this is where customers congregate whilst waiting for their coats to be returned.

We were fortunate to have a large table through the archway to the right of the entrance which was away from the main activity.

Service was friendly and efficient, food was excellent and a good evening had by all. 2 course meal for 8 with drinks saw a bill of £270 without service charge.

I would have given 5 stars if it had not had been for the rather inflated pricing of the individual dishes, but what price do you put on an enjoyable evening.

When doing an overall evaluation of an establishment from TripAdvisor reviews, take into account the number of good feedback comments in relation to the negatives. In this instance on looking at the negatives I would not have attended and how wrong would I have been. VERY.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thirteen church street also viewed

Storrington, West Sussex
Storrington, West Sussex
 
Storrington, West Sussex
Storrington, West Sussex
 

Been to Thirteen church street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thirteen church street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.