We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good choice for a night or two.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Oxfordshire Inn Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Oxfordshire Inn Hotel to your Saves list
The Oxfordshire Inn Hotel
Heathfield Village, Bletchingdon OX5 3DX, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bletchingdon
nottingham
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“A good choice for a night or two.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed here for one night while exploring the area and found that our needs were met quite nicely. The room was spacious, simply furnished but comfortable and the location was excellent being close to the A34 yet with no road noise whatsoever. The bar and dining areas could have been a bit brighter and there could have been more choice at breakfast but what was on offer was well presented and overalI we would recommend this hotel to others and return ourselves if we are in the area again.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms have a spa bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    56
    43
    28
    33
See reviews for
32
84
9
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We stayed here for one night while visiting some National Trust houses in Gloustershire and we found this hotel was away from any traffic noise and completly off the beaten track, in the middle of fields surrounded by wildlife which we found very nice and peacefull.fresh air is the word, no polution here
The room we found was very nice with towels, shower gel, soap, tea and coffee, nice en-suite and very clean comforable bed,and plenty of storage space and electric sockets no faults found here, the rooms are set out in a courtyard fashion so each room opens out into the courtyard which we found unusal but very pleasant
We cannot understand why Chocoholic2468 found this place undesireable, they have written that there is no choice of eggs at breakfast which is untrue you could have eggs cooked what ever way you wanted freshly cooked, we also found the staff in the restraurant very helpfull, we had a meal here which we found excellent value for money and very nice a good choice of food on the menu at a reasonable price as was drinks at the bar, the breakfast was a full english at £6 50 was good value .
We would recommend this hotel to others and we will be returning in the future, all in all a nice retreat close to Oxford.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Booked this hotel for the Battle of the Proms being held at Blenheim Sat.13 July. The cost was only £ 60 per couple per night and we stayed for two nights ( breakfast just £ 6. 50 extra per person ).The breakfast menu we had showed three style of eggs so do not know what chocoholic2468 was complaining about. The rooms were set away from the hotel, built in lovely white country brick. We had an upstairs room over looking a lovely courtyard on one side and on other a field with Horses and a Peacock graced us every so often. We were well looked after especially from the Manager Mario ( a Welsh Italian ) with a very good sense of humour. This is perfect for a get away weekend and ideal location to see Oxford without the expense that could entail. Would recommend this hotel any time and are going back shortly. well pleased Peter & Sue.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Had a one night stop over this week. Mixed reviews meant we were a little concerned, but when we arrived in our room we were pleasantly surprised with how clean and comfortable it was.

Good size room with spacious shower room. Tea making and plenty of storage space. Bathroom spotlessly clean. Nice towels and plenty of hot water. Good size television. Peaceful, with just a few birds chirping outside. Slept well, but heard people next door at one point, as walls are very thin.

Would suggest replacing the rather questionable blanket with a new one, or a duvet. Sheets and pillowcases were good quality. Also a blind over the roof window would help with being woken up too early by the sun.

Overall, good value for the late rooms price we paid. Would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

First the positives. Charlotte was very helpful offering good customer service with a smile. That's about it. Unfortunately all the other staff had the wrong attitude, everything was too much effort and they didn't want to be there. Breakfast was mediocre with no choice at all. Would have been nice to have a choice of egg cooked fresh to order. Bedrooms are poor quality - basic furniture, no hairdrier, bed uncomfortable so didn't sleep at all, stain on wall in bathroom, cracks in ceiling in bedroom and bathroom, no water glasses (not even plastic), previous occupant had left cotton wool pad in the toilet and it was still there so question thoroughness of housekeeping staff and light not working above sink - reported this but nothing done about it! Hotel cleanliness even lacking in public areas - toilet leaking so unable to use and grubby tables. The icing on the cake was returning from a meal out for a nightcap just after 11pm and finding the bar was closed and the barman even asked us to leave saying 'he had to be up at 5am!' Awful customer service and expensive shoddy surroundings/facilities. Such a shame as the Oxfordshire has the potential to be a fantastic hotel. Will not be returning in a hurry!

Room Tip: Look elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

we have just returned from a one night stay at the Oxfordshire. The room needed decorating and with dirty carpets and splahes on the walls! the bed was so uncomfortable I hardly slept a wink and the only blanket was insufficient even in June!!
The general cleanliness of the hotel was poor. The toilets in the bar area were worse than school toilets and the tables were sticky. As for the staff, I have never been a resident in a hotel and been told the bar was closed at 11.10 and worse, asked to leave the bar area so staff could leave for the night. such a shame the place has potential but as for being value for money..... I will pay more next time!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We recently had an overnight stop at the Oxfordshire Inn Hotel. and we must say that our room was of a good standard which opened up to the adjoining Countryside. The Breakfast was also great value for £6.50. We would certainly stop there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Oxfordshire Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oxfordshire Inn Hotel

Address: Heathfield Village, Bletchingdon OX5 3DX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Bletchingdon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bletchingdon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oxfordshire Inn Hotel, Oxford, England. A luxury 30 bed hotel and restaurant set in Oxfordshire's finest countryside. Four posters double jacuzzi suites, bridal & conferencing facilities. FREE PARKING - 4 Miles from city centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your The Oxfordshire Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oxfordshire Hotel Bletchingdon
The Hotel Oxfordshire
The Oxfordshire Inn Hotel Bletchingdon, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Oxfordshire Inn Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.