We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sallerhof

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Sallerhof to your Saves list
Hotel Sallerhof
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hauptstrasse 9, Grodig 5082, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Grodig
Bellevue, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Our group of 8 adults (4 rooms) stayed for 2 nights, it was a great experience! Very clean, well-appointed modern facility, great breakfast and staff that was very accommodating. Very convenient to Salzburg, and many other sights and tours in the surrounding area. Extremely friendly front desk and a good value. Some covered parking spaces. Nearby restaurants were fabulous! Highly recommend this hotel. Would stay again & recommend to family and friends.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    21
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
66
99
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Byron Center, Michigan
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

This family run hotel has class written all over it! The rooms were beautifully furnished , with pale yellow damask linens over down comforters. The breakfast room was elegantly furnished as well. Breakfast was excellent with a large selection of food, including homemade jams. Grodig is very close to Salzburg; number 25 bus takes you from Salzburg. If you take a tour, you will be picked up at the hotel. The staff was very accommodating, providing information of nearby attracitions and restaurants. Our daughter stayed here 4 years ago, and recommended it to us. We were not disappointed!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

Would highly recommend Hotel Sallerhof ~ 6 adults (3 couples) stayed for 4 nights ~ best hotel of our trip ~ amazingly clean, great breakfast & wonderful staff ~ very convenient to Salzburg & surrounding areas ~ perfect choice!!! Lovely town ~ will help you organize tours too!!!

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

We were considering this hotel 5-6 years ago when planned to drive through Austria, but it didn't come to be then. This time, we specifically wanted to explore Salzburg and Vienna, and looked up Hotel Sallerhof again. Luckily the prices didn't change, and they had rooms available for the exact dates we needed.
We rented a 2-bedroom suite directly via the hotel Sallerhof website. When you do so, they don't charge full cost ahead (like a lot of hotels do), and charged only a small deposit, which went towards our stay.
The hotel is located in a quaint, pretty small town adjacent to Salzburg, and it's easy to get into centre of Salzburg by taking a bus.
Everything they tell you and show on the pictures is absolutely true - in a great way! The hotel is cozy, beautiful, welcoming and spotless. It has this fresh pine Christmas-y smell, which I personally found very pleasant and homey.
I'm not easily impressed, and I was very impressed by the tastefully decorated, spacious rooms, crisp bedsheets, huge bathroom (toilet is a separate room), and the balcony big enough to hold a party. The view from the balcony was amazing. Everything made sense, and while there's a certain rustic feel to both exterior and interior of the hotel, everything's equipped to be in step with modern times and is well-taken care of, creating a perfect atmosphere!
Breakfast was excellent (included in the price), great variety of fruit, cheese, meat, and served efficiently and with a smile. They didn't offer fried eggs/omelettes, but there was enough yummy food to be satisfied.
The kids loved the bunk bed in the second bedroom, and were happy with the fast wifi.
It doesn't feel like a hotel - more like being home. I especially fell in love with the corner sofa where I cozied up with my laptop at the end of the day and planned my next day.
I can't say enough about this hotel and would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRANBERRY TWP
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Clean, great location, great staff could not ask for a better lodging option in the area.
Close to Salzburg, the Alps and the Eagles Nest.
Breakfast is excellent too.
A real gem.
The Staff is helpful, accommodating and friendly.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana Rose
Top Contributor
524 reviews 524 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 137 cities Reviews in 137 cities
269 helpful votes 269 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We enjoyed our 3 nights here. The staff were very nice. They have lots of pamphlets and maps of things to see and do in the area. The place is actually quite big - it's more of an inn than a B&B. There are plenty of parking places. The rooms are clean and large and the bed is really comfortable. Breakfast was fine with plenty of choices and they started serving around 7am.

The hotel is in a quiet, rural little town which has a few restaurants, and grocery stores if you want to get a bite to eat. It has very good access to the highway and it is close to some of the best attractions around Salzburg (especially Mt Untersburg). This is a perfect base if you want to do day trips to the lake region or Berchtesgaden. If you plan to spend most of your time in the city, I would chose somewhere closer. We took the bus into the city once (takes about 30 minutes) - which is actually faster than driving, trying to find parking and than walking. We drove in the other time (for visits to attractions not downtown).

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Me and 5 buddies (all guys) try to meet every few years someplace different to hang out. This time it was Munich-Salzburg corridor with a lot of beer, schnitzels, and German soccer. We stayed at the Sallerhof for 5 nights. It was a PERFECT choice. The ambiance, the hospitality, the local experience, the views, the jogging around the village, the proximity to Salzburg, the excellent WiFi and free parking... Klaus will go out of his way to assist with all you need. He is a super nice and laid-back guy and we enjoyed his company. Few tips: there is a bar in Grodig with great atmosphere and a HUGE TV screen for watching soccer games. Ask Klaus. To all chocolate lovers: the Mozart Chocolate Factory outlet store is a 1 minute walt from the inn. Great prices and an easy way to make all your friends (and kids) back home happy. Breakfasts are fantastic and have all you can dream of. Sabina took great care of us, and made the occasional omelet upon request. All in all a great experience and hope to be back with my wife soon.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Sallerhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sallerhof

Address: Hauptstrasse 9, Grodig 5082, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Grodig
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Grodig
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sallerhof 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the southern outskirts of the festival city Salzburg in Grödig the Hotel Sallerhof awaits you. Our family hotel is located in the nature at the foot of mount Untersberg, between Berchtesgaden, the lake Königsee and Salzburg. Ideal for enthusiast of culture and nature. Our hotel is especially popular with our regular guest for our individual atmosphere and our personal assistance. Visit original Sound of Music Scenery in Salzburg ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Sallerhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sallerhof Austria/Grodig, Salzburg Region

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sallerhof, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.