We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely little place to stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sallerhof

Save Saved
You added Hotel Sallerhof to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Sallerhof
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Hauptstrasse 9, Grodig 5082, Austria   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Grodig B&B and Inns
Bahrain
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“A lovely little place to stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We spent 3 nights at the Hotel Sallerhof in August. We had rented a car and found the hotel very easy to find from the centre of Salzburg. The hotel was 10-15 minutes outside Salzburg in a lovely little village. We found the location a great base to explore around the region - we did day trips to the ice caves at Werfen, Lake Lonigsee, Hitler's Nest and Salzburg. It was really quick to get on the roads and motorways in the area.

The room was very well kept and in keeping with the nature of the hotel - it felt very rustic and welcoming. The shower in the bathroom was lovely. The balcony offered a great view over the lovely hotel gardens and in the distance Mount Untersberg. The only tiny issue we faced was, given the hot weather, there was no AC. At night we find it a little warm to sleep.

The breakfast at the hotel was incredible. Fresh breads, pastries, lots of organic cereals, yoghurts, eggs, meats, cheeses, fruit, fresh juice. Plenty to enjoy and we were lucky that the weather allowed us to enjoy breakfast on the patio in the garden. It was lovely and the staff were great.

Would we go back, it was a great base to be located in, and the whole region is just beautiful!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    181
    21
    2
    3
    1
See reviews for
61
90
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Bliss. The view from our hotel room was so beautiful that I made it my profile picture. (And this was after spending a week in France, Germany and Austria - I had a lot of photos to choose from.) When we arrived, the hotel owner greeted us warmly and gave us information about the surrounding area. He was very friendly. The room was cute and impeccable. The grounds were picture-perfect. The breakfast was very nice, with plenty of things to choose from. It's very easy to see why this place is getting so many 5 star reviews.

Room Tip: We had a mountain view with a balcony. If you can get this room, go for it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Having stayed in numerous hotels for business and pleasure worldwide, this was by a long way the best hotel stay I've had. Unlike other hotels, the Sallerhof really is as good as it looks in the photos (the first time I've ever experienced this!), with clean, spacious and well maintained rooms, in an excellent location quite literally at the foot of the Untersberg Mountain.

Fantastically warm welcome and great staff who were ever smiling and helpful, making this a really pleasureable stay for all the family, not just another faceless and soulless stay. Excellent breakfast, free internet, roomy bathroom and peace and quiet. All this in gorgeous surroundings and only 15 mins on the bus to the centre of Salzburg, or 15 mins walk to the cable car to the top of the mountain. Great base to explore the touristy sights of the Sound of Music, or just enjoy the local countryside.

We booked a family suite, which did not disappoint; the children loved the bunk beds and their own TV, which gave us some peace and quiet in our own spacious room.

Cannot recommend this hotel highly enough and it is well deserving of it's many TripAdvisor (and other) awards.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

My husband surprised me with our honeymoon to Salzburg, Austria, and it would not have been complete without our stay at the Hotel Sallerhof. The staff was friendly and incredibly helpful, especially as we do not speak a lick of German. They arranged for tickets for us so we did not have to hassle with it, and had all the amenities for proper tourism available right at the front desk. The breakfast each morning was fresh, with a wide variety. I have to say, that was probably our favorite part of the entire hotel experience!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Celebration, Florida
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Great hotel to stay outside the city. We wanted to experience the countryside more than the city so we decided to try Sallerhof. We planned on taking day trips to Salzburg, Ice caves, and Konigsee. Big rooms, very well updated. We had two rooms next to each other. Both had big balconies that overlooked the yard and off to the mountains. They even had a TV channel that played the Sound of Music nonstop. The front desk staff were very helpful and even walked us up to our rooms. Breakfast was great and wifi signal was strong in the rooms. Parking is no problem at all with their big private lot. We walked around the small town and even got Chinese food haha. They had small little trinkets to buy from local artists displayed in their hotel and we ended up getting several things.

Room Tip: I would imagine all rooms to be great. They had an elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
River Edge, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed for four nights at this hotel. The people who own and manage it are terrific, the breakfast food and service were great and the views of the mountains from our terrace were wonderful. It's away from the city but easily accessible by bus to Salzburg and the area around it. But because of that you have some wonderful quiet. I'd recommend this place to anyone.

Room Tip: The rooms in the back facing the mountains have the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

My family and I stayed at the Sallerhof for 4 nights. We loved it, it was clean, comfortable and the family who run and own the hotel were delightful. It was convenient to the city and the area had the old world charm that we were looking for. They answered all of our questions about the city and had great recommendations. Waking up to the beautiful European breakfast every morning was an added bonus. The staff is so kind and accommodating . The view from our balcony may be my favorite memory. Stay here and you will be in heaven. We plan to return as soon as we can.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Sallerhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sallerhof

Address: Hauptstrasse 9, Grodig 5082, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Grodig
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Grodig
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sallerhof 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the southern outskirts of the festival city Salzburg in Grödig the Hotel Sallerhof awaits you. Our family hotel is located in the nature at the foot of mount Untersberg, between Berchtesgaden, the lake Königsee and Salzburg. Ideal for enthusiast of culture and nature. Our hotel is especially popular with our regular guest for our individual atmosphere and our personal assistance. Visit original Sound of Music Scenery in Salzburg ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Sallerhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sallerhof Austria/Grodig - Salzburg Region

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sallerhof, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.